Come and help in my village house with a view of Serra de Estrella. Portugal

  • 544 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 9 feb 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello I'm Rachel,

    I'm lucky enough to live in a beautiful location on the edge of a village and near to the small town of Seia (5 minutes by car). I enjoy receiving visitors so if you are keen to help me make a difference each day to my garden and / or house you too can enjoy the beauty of the area and appreciate the view from each aspect of house and garden.

    As I'm working solo here I need helping hands to keep on top of things as I also have to work a small number of hours most days online. Perhaps you want to learn something new, add your own touch, apply your skills or all, or any of these things. In which case please get in touch.

    So in exchange for 4 hours work,5 days a week, I would provide a room and the necessary facilities as well as the ingredients for you / us to prepare and enjoy meals. This can bee discussed before arrival so we can find an arrangement that works for us .both / all.

    Please continue reading before messaging, if you think you might like to do an exchange.
    ____________

    General information

    I have a garden, NOT lots of land but do have several olive and fruit trees and grow as many vegetables as I can make space for. My house needs some attention to upkeep and make small improvements and my garden is always needing care and attention. I enjoy having visitors and so do my dog Bety and cat, Bubu who are both friendly and chilled.

    My daughter and my grandson live nearby and visit most weeks. There are local roads and track for taking walks locally and there are often events going on which we can enjoy.

    I aim to live in harmony with nature as much as possible. This includes growing fresh, pesticide free produce. I'm mindful about consumption and hope my guests are too.

    In terms of working I require visitors to work of 4 hours 5 days a week (excluding breaks). So the average day is 2 or 3 hours of work in the morning with a short snack break in between. After lunch a further 2 or 3 hours. I am open to some flexibility and for those that prefer to work fewer hours, then we can discuss an arrangement whereby I provide a proportion of the meals.

    The accommodation is either in a wood cabin that can sleep 2 with shower, toilet, small kitchen area with camping stove and sitting area with a large window that has a view of the mountains. Many visitors comment on the number of spiders so if you are afraid of them it wouldn't be the place for you. There are also a couple of rooms downstairs for visitors too.

    I'd love to hear from you if you think we are a good match.

    Best wishes,

    Rachel

    P.S.
    Things I appreciate: sense of humour, communication, mutual respect, good work ethic, philosophical conversation.

    Sorry but have to add a small number of things I don't appreciate at my place.... over consumption of alcohol, smoking weed all day and people who simply want to take advantage of the situation in one way or another.

    Thank you so much for reading!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Visitors would be living in a Portuguese village so they would be experiencing the culture of this part of Portugal. It is a good opportunity to learn some Portuguese too. You could learn with me about gardening and fruit and vegetable preserving. Also how to cook tasty, healthy, nutritious and wholesome meals, cakes and snacks.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I would like help with gardening and house improvements. My garden has a variety of shrubs and flower beds plus fruit and nut trees, including olives and vegetables. When the fruit and vegetables are ready then I might need help with preserving. Some animal care might be needed.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I can offer workawayers a cabin that is separate from the main house. It can sleep a single person or a couple. It is a small open plan living space with its own bathroom area, including a shower. In front of the cabin there is a small patio facing the mountains. The garden can be enjoyed by workawayers. There is room for flexibility with food which might be eating together, sharing the cooking or if you prefer it you can cater for yourself with the food that is provided. (Alcohol is not generally provided so please expect to purchase your own if desired).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The main attraction here is the national par which is great for hiking as well as swimming in the refreshing and stunning river beaches. Some historical sights like Roman ruins. Mountain towns and villages. Seia is very close. I would happily negotiate transportation to places.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 862586112441

Comentarios (8)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (5.0)











300 year old farmhouse in the mountains where the Algarve borders the Alentejo, Portugal
House-sitting my off-grid place near Loule, Portugal