Help us with farm, garden, forest and building projects in Western North Carolina, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

136 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 8 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    UPDATE: we are unavailable to host until Spring 2022, however we welcome anyone to come out and visit the space for a day! Please message me if you are interested!

    Hi everyone! My name is Bri and I am very excited about all things local- local food, local clothes, local energy, local economy, local community. 2 years ago, my mother and I bought 54 acres of luscious Appalachian mountain land an hour outside of Asheville that had previously been farmed for 3 generations since the early 1900’s with cattle, tomatoes, corn, tobacco and hay. Most of the open cropland has now been newly reforested, yet some old barns, outhouses and a farmhouse still remain tucked between the trees. There are multiple streams originating on the property and a larger river running across the bottom border. There are many old interconnecting logging roads around the property.

    I now live with my partner, Alex, our border collie sheepdog, Beau, and mousing cat, Maisie. My mother lives in town and plans to build her own home on this land in the near future.

    My homesteading goal is to provide the majority of our food, medicine and energy/fuel within the next 10 years. We are in the beginning stages of installing native orchards as well as a silvopasture system with more traditional fruits and nuts alongside sheep, pigs, bees and chickens.

    My mom and I spent most of the first year here converting the old 1930’s farmhouse into a livable space, where we installed 3 different wood stoves (one to heat the house, one to heat water and one to cook on), plumbed our house with gravity-fed spring water, and created a composting toilet system. Last year, we built a dignified chicken coop for our 18 layers (we sell eggs to neighbors, friends and a local restaurant), started our flock of wool and dairy sheep (4 are pregnant this winter!), expanded our garden, and began to prep the pasture for both annual and perennial crops.

    2022’s to-do list includes keeping up the garden, tending to our flock of sheep (which I will be milking), clearing and managing our forest, installing a hydroelectric energy system, and improving on our larger crops of grains, corn, beans and squash. I should note that there are a million and one other tasks and fun projects in between all of that!

    Endless opportunity to learn and discover!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We can share our homesteading and farming knowledge as well as expose workawayers to the Appalachian folk culture that surrounds us. Bluegrass music is huge here, especially in our small town of Marshall (35 minutes away) where, under normal circumstances, there is live music 3 times a week. Our neighbor is also an old time farmer, born and raised on our road, and is always eager to have someone to listen to his stories of the old days- it’s one of our forms of free entertainment here. There is also the progressive culture of Asheville not too far away, and always unique and interesting things to explore in the city.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have construction, animal husbandry, gardening and food processing projects which are ongoing through the warm season. Trail clearing of overgrown flora and stray trash is helpful year round! Firewood processing also takes up a large part of spring taste. We will have more projects and maintenance tasks accumulate as the farm expands!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We are currently renovating one of our barns into a 3 season workaway space with potable spring water, a composting toilet, and a wood-heated shower (the shower is attached to our house with a separate entry way). There will be no heating system in the barn. There will be a cozy bed and kitchenette for your own meal preparation, and we will provide food for 2 meals a day (usually rice and beans, pasta, or some grain, occasionally meat, always with a vegetable or two) one the days you work. We both enjoy cooking and sharing recipes!

    It’s cozy but rustic!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Exploring the forests behind the house is a treasure we greatly appreciate and try to utilize as often as possible. The Pisgah National Forests surrounds us with trails, lookouts and scenic drives. The town of Hot Springs, which the Appalachian Trail passes through, is 30 minutes drive away. Our town of Marshall hosts music weekly, an outside farmers market and small tourist shops. The French Broad River is 15 minutes away with one of the most popular launches for whitewater rafting. The city of Asheville is an hour away and always has events and shows. Having transportation is required to get around, since we are at the end of a 7 mile road, in rural countryside. We also currently have limited WiFi, but fiber optic is on its way!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours per week, 2 days off

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 557629797616