Strawbale eco home construction on 80 acre bush setting in Central Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

19 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    13/11/2020

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of five (three boys aged 7, 4 & 2 yo) living off grid on an 80 acre property in Central Victoria, half way between Castlemaine and Daylesford. We're into beekeeping, growing food and planting trees with a regenerative land managament philosophy.

    Currently we're 8 months into our biggest project of owner-building a strawbale house, which is fully off-grid also. The site is situated in a bush setting with vistas spanning across undulating paddocks. The property incorporates a well-considered design of contoured driveways and drains, keyline ploughing, dams and tree plantings to maximise the efficiency of water naturally flowing across the landscape.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    For this project, participants can gain insights into general strawbale constructon as they will have the opportunity to lay some bales and see the bracing system before the render covers it. Rendering and cobbing skills will also be learnt. In addition, we can pass on our knowledge about off-grid living having lived off grid for close to a decade. General and specific guidance into topics like infrastructure setup, costs, capacities, fuel options, electrical, plumbing, composting systems, etc can be viewed, explained and experienced during the stay.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for interested folks to help us with preparations for rendering the strawbale walls. So far, the frame, roof and most of the strawbale walls have been done. The pressure is now on to get the rendering done before the autumn break sets in. Although the summers here can be harsh, the well insulated roof and the strawbale walls make conditions quite comfortable. Plus there's three dams to go for a swim in if you need to cool off. The work will be focused on the building site but there could be general duties around gardening, tree work and beekeeping.

    This project would suit individuals / couples / families with a keen interest in low-impact living, the outdoors and regenerative / organic farming practices. Experience in building, rendering or landscaping would be ideal, however not necessary. Essential is a positive attitude, ability to 'get your hands dirty' and an open mind.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante
    Japonés: Principiante
    Chinese (Cantonese): Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Several types of accomodation options can be arranged, depending on your preferences / circumstances. Of course, all accomodation options will be provided free of charge in exchange for assistance.

    Camping (Glamping!) or Caravanning on our property will immerse you in our lifestyle and give you the opportunity to see the beautiful sunrises, sunsets and stars. Bedding provided. We use composting toilets and have (short) hot showers on site. Cooking in summer is mainly done by solar electricity or BBQ (gas bottle).

    Food will be provided for all workawayers. We usually eat together as a family so any workawayers will be treated as part of our own family. Our meals tend to be on the early side, due to young children.

    If you prefer more creature comforts, we can arrange for accomodation at our local fave BnB which will have all the mod-cons.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We're so lucky to live in an area so rich and diverse in cultural activities and natural wonders, that's sure to appeal to many types of people. Local swimming holes, lakes and walking tracks are highly sought after in this region. There are also many interesting farms / farmlets to visit, local food producers, markets, restaurants and cafes around. Music and the arts is also a big thing here and with loads of events being hosted year round, there's always something to do. Lots of kid-friendly activities, events and natural environments for them to explore. Gold fossicking, horseriding, dancing,...you name it, there's something for everyone here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week but flexible - happy to negotiate to whatever works


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 551317637825