Help with maintenance and gardening at a cottage near the historical town of Cashel in County Tipperary, Ireland



35 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Descripción


    We are a young family Sinead and Jason (both of us 29 years old) with a beautiful 5 month old baby boy called Aaron who was born in the south of Spain (homebirth).
    We are Irish and have just returned to Ireland after a year in Europe with our campervan and 3 dogs! Our friend has asked us to be caretakers to her parents house which she has inherited as she is living in the UK.
    It is a small Irish cottage with an extension set on 3 acres near the historical town of Cashel in County Tipperary.
    Her mother was a very keen gardener and spent many years planting trees and plants around the house, which have become a bit of a jungle in the last few years!
    At the moment we have been painting inside the house, Jason has built a kitchen and been plumbing so it is now nice and cosy inside but still there is a lot of painting to do!
    With work obligations and a small baby who requires lots of care, love and attention we are struggling to complete work on the house so we can move outside and start on the garden.
    We would like to return the garden to its former glory which would involve clearing flower beds, weeding, cutting back trees and shrubs and general tidy up.
    The work is quite rewarding to see the transformation as we go! It is best suited to people who like to be outdoors (even in our lovely Irish climate!) and who like gardening and dont mind a bit of a challenge!
    We are pretty laid back open minded people, with what is considered as having alternative ideas and lifestyle.
    We do eat meat but Sinead has been a vegetarian/vegan cook selling food on markets prior to having a baby so we do eat lots of veggie foods and can accommodate any diet. We like to eat organic as much as possible, getting fresh veg from Sineads dad who is an organic market gardener.
    Jason is a mechanic, so anyone with knowledge or an interest in vehicles to share a good conversation is always welcome! Sinead has been travelling for almost 6 years before we met so has lots of travel experiences and stories to share. The travel bug has now been passed onto Jason and we are planning to move permanently to France, Spain or Portugal in the near future. So if you are from there better again!
    Having people come to stay with us now will not only give us the help we need but is a way for us to meet new people, make new friends and keep the feeling of our travel trip alive! We also are eager to do some sightseeing in our own country so its a good excuse if we have people to show the sites to also!
    We have three friendly dogs so it helps if you like dogs too.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Experience life of an alternative young Irish family. Share travel stories and advice. Practice English. See the beautiful Irish countryside and sights.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Painting rooms, doors and windows inside and out. Softly attacking the jungle of a garden, clearing the beds and pruning, pruning, pruning. Making the place pretty!
    We also have a project of building a catering trailer which Jason will start soon so he will need hep with that too.
    Occasional holding of baby can be helpful but not required!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Options of:
    Staying in our campervan (with heating) and having your own space plus a small cooker to make tea/coffee etc
    Spare room in the house
    Ample space outside for tents (manybe not for winter!) or to park own van

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are in the countryside but can collect/drop people off from any nearby towns where you can get bus or train connectons.
    We would like people to stay 2 or 3 nights with us and at the very least will bring you to see the touristic rock of Cashel but often something else also or instead.
    We live a quite life in the countryside (without tv) so it will be good if you like nature and maybe to read in the evenings.
    Help is around 5 hours a day with lunch and dinner provided, please bring your own breakfast.
    Bring rain gear (jacket, coat, pants), wellingtons also known as gum boots or suitable footwear for gardening in potentially wet weather and work gloves if you have them.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 533515155644