actualizado  

Volunteer in an old farmhouse near centre of Pau, France

  • 763 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 26 feb 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I'm Jacqueline and I live in a former farm-house (17th century) in the countryside but 10 minutes from the centre of Pau, 45 from the Pyrenees and an hour and a half from Biarritz. Our sons and daughter are here now and then, and our Labrador, cat, mare and donkey are here full time! There is the house and two barns - one a Gite and the other stables downstairs and a beautiful large yoga/meditation space above (see below). Our work (not yours) involves teaching English, servicing the gite and its guests, sometimes welcoming a guest in the house to learn English (usually one week's immersion) and also running an association teaching meditation and yoga in our large Dharma room. We have a number of fruit trees - figs, apples, kiwis and pears in season - and favour an organic plant-based/vegan diet.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Based in a very peaceful and healthy location, close to the town with the university, possible language or cultural study (English or French) and the possibility of starting or developing meditation and yoga, Workawayers can also explore the south-west of France or parts of Spain while based with us. Please note that this is an English-speaking household in France (even the dog, horse and donkey speak English!). We can help direct you to French study opportunities, and provide materials for you to work with, and you are surrounded by France and the French, but Jacqueline is British. Eating vegan is another area which can be shared (although we are happy to provide non-vegan foods as well).

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The property is fairly large (4 hectares, largely wooded) with a garden and terraced lawns around the house and the gite, an orchard, a field for the horse and donkey, and extensive woodland from which logs need to be brought up for our two woodburning stoves (the donkey needs to be trained to carry logs too!). General gardening, pruning and tidying are ongoing, lots of painting generally needs doing, grooming, haying up and mucking out the stables are ongoing tasks, collecting fruit and juicing in season, helping in and around the house would be welcome, carpentry, electrics, housework and cleaning - depending on what skills you bring. Experience with horses very helpful (although of course we can train and help you if you are willing) and knowledge and experience of using a chainsaw/axe always a plus!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Italiano: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    One of our sons' bedrooms on the top floor (with a view over the valley and a small bit of mountains) with own shower room on the floor below. Alternatively (depending on other guests we have), the single room next to the Dharma Room which also has its own small bathroom (compost loo) and kitchenette.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Plenty of walking and running - or exercising the mare - among the surrounding Jurancon vineyards, and cycling - though it is hilly round here (that's why the Tour de France comes though Pau most years), good trains to Bordeaux and Toulouse, not far from Lourdes. Pau is only 10 minutes by bus and is a lovely French town with a chateau. Spain is an hour away. There's a piano you're welcome to play; our dog Cosmo would love you to take him for a walk. Mountains and skiing not far. Lourdes is an easy day-trip and the Atlantic coast around Biarritz is within easy reach. Pau has a lot to offer in terms of sports and activities - an excellent indoor and outdoor pool complex, an olympic kayaking stadium, climbing, great golf courses and more.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Optical fibre internet connection is a recent addition.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Smallish vans only

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 522772691846

Comentarios (21)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)

































Welcome to our family home in the beautiful Lauragais hills in a peaceful rural setting, Mézerville, France
Help around my cottage with a charming garden in Bourville, France