Help with garden maintenance and DIY near Serpins Lousa, Portugal

Country

Portugal

43 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    14  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    18/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a mature, active couple from Britain and came to live in Portugal about eleven years ago. We are generally busy most days with garden maintenance and the usual household tasks. We have two smallish, friendly dogs.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This area is extremely peaceful but offers the opportunity to explore Portugal and learn about its people, their customs and history! The population is mixed and local towns have plenty of bars, restaurants and other attractions.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Large garden set in 2 - 3 acres (1+ hectare) at the edge of woodland/forest combination of edible crops and decorative areas. A few years ago we started converting two old stone houses into a modern dwelling suitable for our own living accommodation and offering as a venue for small retreats and sometimes B and B. We try to manage the gardens and house as ecologically as possible with solar power and wood -burning'recuperador' for hot water and using the minimum of sprays/pesticides in the gardens (working on eliminating them altogether eventually!) There is a continual need for basic garden maintenance, the dreaded weeding, strimming, pruning, planting and so on! Skills with and knowledge of light garden machinery use and maintenance would be an asset for us! There may be other DIY, light building jobs needed from time to time as well!

    Obviously the type of work and intensity varies according to the time of year and the weather patterns, but generally speaking there is always basic gardening to do, so good to be strong enough and willing to dig tree/shrub planting holes, pull weeds out by the roots thoroughly as well as knowing the difference between weeds and cultivated plants in addition to any other gardening skills you may have would be desirable.

    Sometimes Isabel would appreciate a break from the everyday routines of keeping house and putting good wholesome food on the table, so help in these areas would also go down well with us!

    We are the first house in a small village of about 40 families surrounded by rolling hills and close to beautiful countryside, great area for walking, cycling, fishing, river swimming and generally exploring. The nearest town is just 4kms from us with transport links (local buses) to larger towns and cities like Coimbra, Lisbon and Porto.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio
    Portugués: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We offer a twin-bedded room and the use of your own bathroom. There is normally good internet service as we now have fibre-optic connections to the house. Hot-water supply is from solar panels during the Summer months and gas or wood -fire at other times. Our drinking water is from our bore-hole and is generally excellent. Unless you want to 'do your own thing', generally you would eat with us as a'family member'.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The University City of Coimbra is about 40 minutes drive away (a little longer by bus) and is an excellent kicking-off point for getting to know what Portugal is all about. There are good tourist information centres in the City and you will have no problem finding places to visit in the area!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 939673124642