Landscaping, DIY and natural building in Roxboro, North Carolina, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado  

15 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I suppose the first thing to discuss is COVID information. My mother is elderly. She and I have both had vaccines and boosters; however, I feel strongly that anyone staying here must also be vaccinated and take reasonable precautions when in public. Person County is not well-vaccinated or well-masked, so I do curbside pick-up when I can, mask up when I have to go inside a business, patronize restaurants with outdoor seating, and that sort of thing. If you are not vaccinated and/or not comfortable with this level of caution, a Workaway stay here won't be a good fit.

    I have a lot going on and need some landscaping, DIY, and natural building help. In exchange, I will provide you a room and bathroom of your own, good food, and a relaxed, fun, accepting atmosphere. Oh, and the frequent entertainment of my very silly dog, Rocky, a Bug (Boston Terrier-Pug mix).

    From 2022 to 2024, I am building a natural home on a wooded 20-acre site in Person County, North Carolina, USA (approximately 45 minutes north of the Research Triangle - Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill). Winter and spring of 2022, I am working on gathering large rocks for the foundation and constructing a shed to dry timbers (recently cut by beavers) which will be used in the build. I expect to have my design complete by summer of 2022. My build project includes a two-part straw bale home, a workshop/studio for metal and wood art, a small goat barn, animal fencing, and some large art installations. Most of the build will take place in late 2022, 2023, and possibly extend into 2024 for final finishes and plastering. Much of it will occur as natural building workshops led by architect Sigi Koko.

    From now until summer 2022, I am transitioning from living alone in a small home nearby to sharing a bit larger place with my 85-year old mother, also very near my build site. I have multiple DIY projects and need some landscaping help at both places.

    I love meeting new people, so much so, that I traveled full-time in an RV for five years doing volunteer work across the US. I have visited all but three states in the US. My long-range goal is to live a natural life in a non-toxic home with dogs, goats, chickens, guineas, and rabbits. Maybe even a donkey. My short-term goal is to get my 85-year-old mother settled in a shared space with me so I can ensure her safety and well-being.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    1. Learn about natural building and DIY projects: I have completed two courses in natural building and I am working with a natural building architect with more than 20 years experience and a natural builder/instructor who also has significant experience. I also have a collection of books on natural building. I am an avid Do-It-Yourself-er -- I love power tools, and I know how to use them. 2. Learn to cook: I enjoy cooking food as much as eating it, and I am happy to share the kitchen with you. 3. Learn about nonprofit management and nonprofit organizational grant-seeking: I have a master's degree in Nonprofit Management (with honors) and certificates in Management and Leadership, as well as more than twenty years experience as a nonprofit executive and highly-successful grant-writer. I would love to share my knowledge and help you hone your skills. 4. Learn/refine your English language and writing skills: I am an experienced writer and editor. 5. Learn/practice/co-create art: I am an artist who enjoys many different mediums. I create animal portraits in watercolor and acrylic; I make found object art; I carve; I weave; I make jewelry; I knit; I build; and I would be delighted to teach you anything I know while encouraging your creative expression! 6. Have fun! I'm a happy, laid-back, peace-loving hippie-type who loves to laugh, learn, and create. I want positive energy in my life and in this project. Let's have some fun together! 7. I am a native of North Carolina, and I would LOVE to share the history, beauty, and culture of our state. I can be your NC tour guide.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    DIY & Landscaping Project help: interior painting, removing wallpaper, removing overgrown bushes, planting, assembling a gazebo, installing stair railings, repairing a front stoop (concrete mosaic or brick), creating a paver pathway, cutting up and removing some downed tree limbs, building (or assembling/installing) a chicken coop and run, and other projects.

    Natural Building Project help: Building techniques will include straw bale, cob, and light clay straw (aka slip straw), with some scavenged/salvaged/reclaimed items along the way. Depending on the stage of the construction during your stay, workaway travelers may be gathering rocks/small boulders for the foundation, digging or sifting sand and clay, making and building with cob (a mixture of clay, sand, straw, and water), stacking straw bales, setting wooden posts, clay plastering walls, building a natural roof, laying an earthen floor, skinning logs, helping install fencing or shelters for goats, chickens, guineas, and rabbits, or anything else that needs to be done to complete the build.

    Winter 2022, as I transition from one existing house to another, I may need help packing and unpacking (I'll hire professional movers). You will have your choice of which house to live in until I sell or rent out my current house.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    As a professional writer, I can help you refine your English skills, and I would love to work on my Spanish. I know a few words and phrases in Spanish, but I want to practice and get better. I took two semesters of German in college, and might be able to recall a little, but would need a patient teacher.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    As of late January 2022, I currently live in a 2 bed/1 bath house about 3 miles from the build site, but I am transitioning to the 4 bed/3 bath house I will share with my mom. I can accommodate one to three people. If you prefer to tent camp or have a small, self-contained RV, you are welcome to enjoy the quiet solitude of the wooded 20-acre build site. I will provide all food and would appreciate your input on the menu and welcome your participation in meal preparation. I have a washer and dryer you may use and a fire pit. There is also internet, tv, and cell service.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you are a smoker, do not apply. While you are here, feel free to enjoy hiking, camping, and fishing at the build site. There are also several beautiful lakes nearby. The town of Roxboro, three miles away, is small, but quaint and has an active historic uptown area including theatre, art, breweries, restaurants, bakeries, shopping, food trucks, and two farmers markets. The Research Triangle (Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill) is 45 minutes to an hour and 15 minutes away and has nearly anything you could want - art, culture, food, shopping, museums, historic sites, and a dozen colleges and universities (including NC State University, the University of North Carolina, and Duke University, all R-1 research universities). You are within four hours of beautiful beaches to the east and the Blue Ridge mountains to the west. If you don't have your own transportation, I am happy to take you to bus or train stations or RDU International Airport. For local trips, I am happy to drive you. I am accepting of all lifestyle choices and encourage you to be yourself in all your beautiful glory. I love music and laughter. I don't mind drinking, but I don't like drunks. I won't tolerate illegal drugs or mean/unhappy people.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have reliable, unlimited internet access at my home, but not at the build site. Cell phone reception is excellent in this area.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    If you have a self-contained RV, you can stay at the build site, although the driveway is long, winding, and hilly. I would not recommend a large RV there. If you need electricity and water, I can provide that and a level gravel site at my current house. There is a sewer dump station within twenty miles.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Maybe. Friendly, house-trained dogs are a possibility, but only if I don't currently have a foster dog in addition to my dog Rocky. Let's discuss it.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, but I also like to have fun.


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 517794428644