Help maintain a tropical wetland, fruit and flower garden, help in the home, and have fun in Kailua, Hawaii USA



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    We only host couples or two friends who don't mind sharing a room with one queen-size bed. We also do not take people with children of any age.

    - - -

    Welcome to our home on a lake and wetland in Kailua, Hawaii. We live just 30 minutes drive from Honolulu and 5 minutes drive from Kailua town center. Our family consists of a son living in Kentucky, a daughter living in England and my husband and me – both graphic designers and photographers.

    Our home is on a large piece of land and we take care of the wetland in our “front yard.” The wetland is home to some of Hawaii’s most endangered waterbirds. We have 3 acres of non-wetland property, where we are growing bananas, mangoes, papayas, lemons, some veggies and lots of flowers! Unfortunately, the weeds grow three times as fast as the good plants so we are always trying to tame the jungle! (And you will be too if you volunteer with us!)

    We are a non-smoking household and guests must be non-smoking too. We have one large active dog and several hens.

    We prefer stays that are between 10 to 14 days. If you are looking for a place to stay longer than 2 weeks, do not contact us.

    We like to host people who are happy, enthusiastic, and fun-loving. The weeding and gardening work can be hard, and depending on the time of year, it can be hot and steamy here... but you'll enjoy tasty meals with us, and have lots of opportunities for exploring and enjoying the beautiful beaches, mountains, and culture of Hawaii.


    IMPORTANT -- When you apply make sure you include the date range you are interested in staying, and you must include information about your Covid vaccination (type and date).

    Do not apply to us if you are looking to stay for longer than 2 weeks.

    Do not apply to us if you are a smoker... we do not allow smoking anywhere in the house or the grounds. Also, absolutely no marijuana or drugs allowed.

    Do not apply if you are not a dog lover. You must be comfortable around dogs and enjoy petting them and playing with them.

    Do apply if you are a happy, adventurous, and energetic couple or two friends - who wants to experience life in Hawaii!

    Before you contact us, you must have a proper profile filled out for yourself. Your profile and your first email are the only way we have of making an initial selection when we consider inviting you into our home and lives. Be sure to have several photos of yourself on your profile page... pictures that give us an idea of your personality and what you like to do. If you are applying as a couple, we need information and photos for both of you.


  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our home is less than 2 miles from Kailua Town and a bit more than 2 miles to Kailua beach. We have two beach bikes, a canoe and kayaks available for you to use. Kailua is a charming beach town with lots of fun shops and restaurants.

    Things to do in and around Kailua -- some you can get to by walking/biking, others by car or the city bus system:

    Beachwalking, swimming, and kayaking at Kailua and Lanikai Beach. Lots of hikes nearby including the Pillbox, Maunawili Falls and Makapuu Lighthouse. Good museums include Bishop Museum and the Pearl Harbor WWII museums. Waikiki -- with lots of shops, tourist attractions and a pretty beach where you can take surfing lessons. North Shore surfing beaches and Haleiwa town. Hanauma Bay -- an underwater nature preserve that is fantastic for snorkeling.

  • Ayuda


    We would love to have visitors with gardening experience (mainly weeding and removing invasive plants from the yard, wetland and stream bank) and who enjoys “spring cleaning” type of housecleaning. Please expect to do a lot of weeding. Ideal is someone who enjoys working hard and then having fun exploring or relaxing in our wonderful area.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    You will have your own large bedroom with one queen-size bed. It has a lovely view of the mountains. There is a bathroom with a shower down the hall. There is good internet access. You are welcome to spend time in the house with us and there is plenty of space for private time too.

    We will provide you with meals when you are around the house… we are mainly vegetarian with some meat served from time-to-time for the non-vegetarian members of the family. WE CANNOT ACCOMMODATE VEGAN DIETS. We love eating dinner out on our open air lanai overlooking the lake. We sometimes build a fire down by the lake and enjoy dessert or drinks down there. I’m sure you will enjoy it too!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The public transport system (TheBus) is good if you are not in a hurry. A city bus comes near our home every hour, and the bus from Kailua town into Honolulu and Waikiki runs more frequently. It is just a 25 minute walk into Kailua town, and about a 35 minute walk to Kailua Beach. We can lend you bicycles and then it's just 10 minutes to town or the beach.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours, 5 days per week -- you decide the schedule.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 517161711138

Comentarios (35)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help at a llama and alpaca ranch in Anchor Point, Alaska
Explore a small college town in Western Massachusetts- join our family, USA