Help our project of regenerative farming and community building in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canadá

98 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    02/10/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Covid Guidelines: There has been no policy notice from Workaway so we are writing to any prospective. Please use your common. If you are sick, don't come! If you become sick during your stay, you will be asked to isolate yourself. Please make sure that you have health coverage when travelling. Preference will be given to those wishing to stay for longer periods of time (minimum one month).

    Welcome! Our 200-acre biodynamic, family farm. Kathryn (mother) is owner and administrator. Aric (son) is the farmer. Tabitha (daughter) works off-farm and lives here with her two daughters.

    We have a small herd of purebred Scottish Highland Cattle, chickens, pigs, dogs, cats, greenhouse, orchard, raspberry patch and a large garden which supplies our CSA program.

    We have a First Nations heritage and work with the Indian Agriculture Program of Ontario working with traditional plantings of corn, beans, and squash, as well as seed saving.

    Half of our farm is a mixed deciduous forest which we manage under the guidelines of the Ontario Forestry Stewardship.
    We are a living and working school of life skills. Here, we are all teachers and students simultaneously. Our goal is to have a positive and influential impact on the environment by practicing restorative agriculture, through biodynamic and other methods that contribute to soil vitality.

    We believe that regenerative farming and community building is the best way to live with a net positive contribution to the planet. In our ever-evolving journey in self sufficiency, What we do today is the footprint we leave for tomorrow.
    Our weeds are tall, our roots are deep, our cattle are hairy, and our hearts are big. Come experience this rough and resourceful kind of life with us! It's an exciting time in history to be alive and living on a farm.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    During your stay it is very likely you will meet other farm helpers from around the world. Although we only speak English ourselves, we are happy to help you learn English while you are here. We love meeting new people and learning about the places from which they come!

    Kathryn is co-editor of the Celestial Planting Calendar and offers hands on instruction on how to use a planting calendar. She also facilitates our Learning Centre and on-line bookstore.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Day to day the help changes in accordance with the season. Helping on our farm gives everyone the opportunity to learn the basics principles of biodynamic and restorative agriculture. The longer the stay the more you will learn and experience. Looking for people that want to stay for a minimum of one month.

    Daily chores can mean many things, some of them including:
    - caring for chickens, dogs, cats, and cattle if you are up to it
    - greenhouse (April-June) planting seeds, tending seedlings, transplanting
    - greenhouse maintenance (April-November) – watering, weeding, seeding, harvesting
    - spring (April-May) & fall (October-November) cleaning of garden plots
    - CSA Program (June-October) help
    - composting
    - building and maintaining fence lines
    - rock picking, staking plants, pruning and thinning, composting
    - irrigation systems – spring (May-June) and fall (October-November)
    - garden planting, weeding and harvesting
    - putting up hay (August-September)
    - garlic harvest (August) and planting (October)
    - helping out in the kitchen making preserves (August-October)
    - assisting with chopping wood, chipping brush and stacking wood

    During the season we will also be working closely with another farm where we grow our three sisters garden with corn, beans and squash. Aric also takes the hay off their fields. One of our helpers lives on this farm with her mother. In 2019 she set up a Slovenian-style AZ beehive house, which you are welcome to visit during your stay with us.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We offer two 40’ camper trailers which can each sleep 2-4 people, plus one room in the farmhouse. You will make your own breakfast and assist with lunch and dinner preparations. We offer you internet and wifi along with a substantial library of books, education DVD’s and movies for your entertainment.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your free time, we encourage you to enjoy the nearby river and conservation areas, the interesting hamlets, artisan galleries, theatre and other cultural attractions in the area. Having your own vehicle to go exploring will make your stay more worthwhile, as there is no public transit. We go to town occasionally, but not for the purpose of site-seeing. We occasionally have potlucks by the river and bonfires with friends. We live in a beautiful area with ample opportunity for time alone, or with friends, in the great outdoors.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have highspeed broadband internet service available in the farmhouse only. Service is not available outdoors or in the two trailers.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can supply you with electric service. Water and toilet hook up not available. You will have to use facilities in the farmhouse or the outhouse.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 511139392484