Help around our hobby farm near Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

95 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My husband and I are a professional couple in our early 50's and we own a small hobby farm (2 acres) in a suburb of Vancouver BC.

    It is a private homestead.

    We live in a beautiful area, close to trails for hiking, biking, rivers, etc.

    We have a small barn, with 5 stalls and attached paddocks and currently have 4 well behaved geldings living with us.

    We are both entrepreneurs and both work from home primarily online via Zoom so will be around a lot but many times tucked away in our home offices.

    We also have one small pug. We have no 2 legged children. We primarily welcome help with farm, animal, property care for both the equine area and residence, and seasonal projects. Some tasks will be consistent for each placement and others will depend on the season and what we need help with.

    Please read the description of our workaway before you apply, as it does include Saturday and Sundays I like to be transparent as possible. But since the help varies I’m happy to answer any questions you may have in advance :).

    While you don’t need to be a horse expert, you MUST have some previous horse experience that includes basic handling (catching, haltering, leading, etc) to volunteer as there is a lot of tasks to be done in and around them and your safety is paramount. 3 of my horses are retired from riding, and one is in rehab/restart, so there is no riding offered in this placement.

    We are both fully vaccinated & boosted and as you will be living in our home we also require you to be fully vaccinated.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The Vancouver area is absolutely stunning with many outdoor and cultural activities. Not to mention the mountains, ocean and beaches

    Where we live specifically we are near mountains close to rivers, lakes, hiking trails, bicycle riding trails etc. It's a great opportunity to improve your English skills, and we also love to learn other languages and if you feel like sharing some of your traditions with us - from meals to rituals, we'd LOVE to learn.

    For those who would like a bit of company or guided tour we will be happy to take you to some of our favorite spots when we aren’t working.

    While it’s not part of the weekly tasks, that we need help with, if you want to spend some of your free time, instead of exploring the area to have hands on time with the horses - theres opportunity, also if you're new to positive reinforcement or ground work / Liberty I'm happy to teach you how we work with the herd here. My pony is my next project he’s slightly feral but adorable and very willing, but as we rescued him in his 20’s there’s a lot he doesn’t know how to do.

    How I work with my horses is relationship first, training second. I do not use aversives, and take a whole horse approach, that includes considering all aspects of their well-being in their training. Spiritual. Emotional. Energetic. And Physical. If you're not familiar with conscious methods of horse training, positive reinforcement, or even liberty or groundwork, or holistic care, you'll have an opportunity to learn and put them into practice, and deepen your horsemanship skills, as well as spend time with an amazing herd of horses.

    PS ….non aversive does not mean permissive. I take safety VERY seriously for both horse and human do expect you to adhere to our guidelines. :).

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    This placement will require help on Saturdays and Sunday mornings, and then the other 3 days are up to you what days you want to help. The placement is a combination of property/facility, horse care and seasonal projects, most of it outside.

    Saturday and Sundays will always include (but not limited to) the care of the horses and barn chores,. Weekdays they are usually already covered, Depending on how fast you work it takes between 90 minutes to 2 hours for all of them, leaving time for the other projects.

    The rest of the time will be on the ad-hoc projects(prep/painting - fences, barn maintenance, helping with repairs, gardening, planting, raking, ) which one(s) you'd be doing depends on when you're here with us. This spring painting - fences/decks/barns are the priority weather permitting.

    We are super flexible on how you want to work your time - ie -if you prefer to do longer days to have more full days off, etc as long as the animals are taken care of on the days they need, and the rest of the tasks get done. We don't expect or want you to work more than the 25 hours a week, we want you to enjoy your time in our lovely city too!. We just ask for good communication, and since painting etc is weather dependent that you take that into account too when scheduling.

    Because we both work from home, occasionally there may be business activities or client events here at the farm. However none of the tasks we need help with in this listing are related to either business.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have a private bedroom in our house that's on the complete opposite side of the house from our bedrooms there's a full bathroom with a deep bathtub& shower right across from it, so you have privacy.

    We usually cook dinner every night, which you are welcome to join us for, and for breakfast and lunch we tend to just grab and go and you'd be able to simply help yourself from the fridge to whatever you want.

    We have 2 living rooms, that both have sliding doors to close them off if you need a private space that’s not a bedroom to decompress

    We have a beautiful swim pond, an onsite gym with cardio equipment, free weights, a weight rack, TRX and other sundry equipment that you are free to use, we also an in-home theatre where we do like to watch movies.

    We don’t expect you to prepare meals for us or do general housework, but we do ask you to clean up after yourself in the kitchen, bathroom and other common areas that you use.

    If you would like to share your cuisine by cooking a meal, we certainly won’t say no. We are very adventurous and love to try new foods and will happily shop for the ingredients you need

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have bicycles that you are welcome to borrow if you want to hit the trails. We are very close to a series of dykes that you can bicycle or walk with breathtaking views of the mountains and other horse farms.

    We are a short car ride away from parks, rivers, hiking trails and lakes

    We unfortunately are not on a public transit route. Uber is available. The main transit hub stations are a short UBER ride away connecting you to shopping, restaurants, the beach, ocean and more are both short Uber rides away.

    In the summer we love to hit the lake on our boat and if you're here during that time you'll be welcome to join us.

    Also as mentioned there is no horse riding available here in my farm, but if you do want to spend some time in the saddle there are a few excellent riding centers in the area all within walking or biking distance.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a fully functioning high speed internet. There’s even a hub out in the barn.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 349137853393