Help with fundraising for my project on women and children in Siwa, Egypt



338 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

  • Descripción


    I am looking for someone who can assist me in the process of fundraising for my project here in Siwa oasis.

    Accommodation is provided and a small monthly allowance for food.

    For any questions please contact me further.

    I am Yuridia Montoya. I am Dutch - Colombian from origin and I have been around in Egypt for almost 7 years. After finishing my masters in Holland, I moved to Siwa oasis, five years ago. Being a believer in civil society and bottom up development, in 2015 I opened my own training center. My center was the first of its kind here, and the aim was to offer education on different fields for the local people so they have better chances in their working and career life. For the past years, I have been financing everything from my own pocket and my resources have come to an end. Especially with the vision I have in mind of creating a synergy between two projects (1 focused on women and the other on childrens education) I am looking for funds to make my dream come true.

    I have already written a full proposal on my project but I am really looking for someone with more expertise in the field to concretely assist me in the needed fine tuning of my proposal and the applications and communication with different donors.

    My project is Siwa’s first all-women’s project and cooperates with Siwa’s first and only all-women’s association. It envisions bringing social and economic advantages to the women and children of Siwa oasis through a sustainable framework. As one of Egypt’s most remote and conservative societies, women have remained unrepresented, while rural underdevelopment deprives children of proper education.
    Specifically, the project aims to empower women through the implementation of vocational trainings on the fields of education -as qualified teachers- and heritage revitalization -as skilled artisans-, enabling them to generate sustainable incomes. Traditional roles and restrictions regarding gender segregation still form the largest obstacle for women to take part in society; therefore this project enables and facilitates participation by being an all-women’s project and by alleviating women’s family obligations offering quality education to their children. While women learn and work, children enjoy educational programs encouraging the development of their potentials and skills.
    More info you can find on

    As currently I am doing all the work with a very small team, I am really looking for an adventurous and flexible someone to help me out and to share this great adventure with.

    A small oasis of around 35.000 people in the absolute Western Desert of Egypt. It's very isolated, so it's a long way to get here from Cairo. As much as this might be a hassle, it makes this oasis super unique. Siwa is the only place in Egypt were there is a Berber population, and the people here have their own culture and language (Tamazight). Siwa is a conservative place but at the same time because of its uniqueness it has been widely visited by foreigners for the last 40 years, so outsiders are most welcomed. The beautiful thing of this oasis (for me at least) is that it is a place where life is still simple. Where you have the most beautiful landscapes and were it's a bit like time has stood still.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Siwa is a very unique and not so modernized place. You will be very much in touch with the local people who have a special set of norms and values. It will give you the opportunity to have a peek into another different environment and gain working experience under very different conditions. Besides that, the place is absolutely beatiful in nature and history so there is a lot to do.

  • Ayuda


    From volunteers is required that they are a bit of an all rounder and flexible to live in a different culture.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Árabe: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    - You will have your own apartment / room and you have a bathroom and kitchen. The location is in the city center, so it is easy to get around.

    - You will have a basic monthly allowance for food.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    - Outside of the working hours and in weekends you will have plenty of time to discover this oasis and meeting the new culture with its wonderful friendly people.

    Something about Siwa:

    Siwa is the place where desert daydreams and adventures come true as this oasis still represents a quite-paced desert life. Covered with thousands of green palm- and olive trees, and holding many pharaonic fresh water springs, it's a magical place waiting to be discovered. Due to its geographical isolation, the oasis of Siwa is probably one of the most unique destinations in Egypt. For centuries the place had only contact with the view camel caravans that crossed, preserving its North-African Berber culture and Amazigh language, which are still very much alive today. Highlights are making a trips into the Saharan desert, which with its soft sand dunes and hidden fresh water lakes, is a magical experience.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 499398963271