Building (demolition through to painting) and gardening at my peaceful home in Greyton, South Africa

Country

Sudáfrica

60 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello I’m Lisa and welcome. I have a fix-er-upper 7 plus bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms house in a rural village called Greyton of about a thousand people. Hiking or walking mountain biking in Greyton is an absolute must! There are many paths, some of them in the nature reserve, others along the rivers and no least, the historic walk in the village which was founded in the tail end of the 1800's. On a hot day you can plunge into one of the mountain pools- seeing as the pool at my place is empty awaiting repairs .

    Greyton is flanked by two rivers, one of which originates in the mountain resulting in ice cold, crystal clear water that is irresistible on a hot summer's day. Although the village is quaint and natural (they pride themselves on horses and donkeys walking along the streets bordered by Victorian houses) the infrastructure is sophisticated with excellent food shops, a pharmacy, doctor, vets, art galleries and more than 7 restaurants. Here you can buy the best quality meat, freshly grown produce, freshly baked bread and anything you need to have a wonderful stay in the village.

    Its a place that became accessible to me end February.....still working out the plan but in the interim its dated rooms, bathrooms and a big lawn and a dry pool. 2000 square metres of which to let imagination run riot...and I do love that aspect.

    So there is always plenty of stuff to do. And what gets done largely depends on skills. At this early stage, people with building/ construction/plumbing/prep for painting/ tiling skills needed. There is also room for 1 person who likes gardens and 1 person who likes cooking/cleaning- would be great if both these two people liked doing some painting/diy or learning from the building experts as there isn't that much gardening/cleaning until I have time to sit and design it-but I’ve already decided to build the chicken and duck coop.

    The work is huge- its completely un modernised. But you do get your own standalone room with ensuite on most of them. The beds are single (2 to a room so if you are travelling with a friend and we are short of space you may have to share) and there are four rooms with outside facilities).

    There is however one thing that is for sure- there is a kitchen with stove, microwave and fridge and freezer!! oh and wifi.

    I have a very relaxed lifestyle, my house is your home. I tend to run on a "sort yourself out no need to ask for permission" basis. I will ensure that the fridge is full and you can make meals or have snacks at your leisure. Alcohol on your own account- will provide labels so you can get what you want and then everyone knows.

    . The village is very friendly so even if I'm popping down to Capetown for tile shopping you will make friends easy.

    I'm a raging extrovert and accumulate contacts quickly....so be prepared for impromptu bbqs at the pad as I expand my network in the town

    Ps this may sound glamorous...but march/April pls know those months will be about cleaning/ clearing/ painting prep.

    I, as I'm sure you would like to, would love to be installing wood fired bbq (gas at the moment), hot tub, outdoor bbq area, natural swimming pool...but this wont be what is happening Feb- May!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I’d love to improve my french- I speak like a 12 year old. I’d also like to learn to be more handy so will help alongside you if you let me !

    I have lots of friends here and throw regular bbqs. Do the markets & visit the nearby winelands.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    DIY - house hasn't been modernised in more than 2 decades. all the bathrooms need gutting
    All the house needs painting
    Setting up accounts system for the soon to be launched guesthouse
    Carpentry to put in trellises and pergolas
    Garden design

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I have a French tutor as have a place in france

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private room with ensuite (4)
    3 bedrooms with outside toilets and we will be marching ahead in march to put in showers alongside the toilet rooms for those 3 rooms...I the interim you can use anyone else's with permission or mine anytime....I think I might put an outside shower in as that will be cool .

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Horseriding, hiking, swimming, saturday market, eating.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is good wifi. Note most of the work we are doing in the house requires daylight.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    you can park outside the house

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Putting in Free ranging chickens ducks

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 492368829792