Come and speak English to me in beautiful Guadalajara, Mexico

Country

México

89 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, I'm Mary, a retired English teacher. I live in a lovely house in Guadalajara, Mexico. My husband passed away in 2020 and now I'm in need of caregivers. I have multiple sclerosis which means I am confined to a wheel chair and bed as I have no movement in my body. I am mentally extremely active and I enjoy playing and creating board games, conversations in English, listening to audio books and watching movies. Spanish is my first language and I am fluent in English, but I would like to continue practicing and improving with a good English speaker. Our home is situated near the Colomos park area of Guadalajara, the most beautiful park in the city. We are a 10 min walk from the nearest shopping mall, which has a number of stores, supermarkets and a cinema. You will have a large private room and your own bathroom, with windows to the garden. You can have access to the fully equipped kitchen and to a washing machine and drier. We live in a safe, residential area easily served by many bus routes with a bus stop two blocks from the house. There are two metro stations just a ten minute walk from the house which will take you to the centre of Guadalajara. There are plenty of little independent stores and places to eat within a 3 minute walk of the house, places to get fresh fruit juices, vegan and vegetarian food and of course delicious tacos.
    If you want to come and experience one of the most beautiful and traditional cities in Mexico, practice and develop your Spanish and be welcomed into a warm friendly home then this is for you!
    I would prefer a female volunteer who speaks at least intermediate Spanish so that they can communicate with my Mexican caregivers.
    (I cannot always answer messages straight away, because I need help using the computer)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Compañía para ancianos
    Jardinería
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will be living with a Mexican family. We speak spanish and English, and will help you learn the language if you want. Our city is one of the richest Mexican cities in culture. There is always lots to learn and experience. In the house there are many books about art, history and Mexican and world culture.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I am looking for someone to keep me company when I'm alone some afternoons, to help me practise my English, read my phone messages and assist me with small tasks. Also be available in the house at 8pm to open the door for the carer.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Hablo el idioma Español, por si quieres practicarlo

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A large private room and private bathroom within the house. Use of the kitchen, lounge and garden.
    Meals are not provided but volunteers can use the kitchen which has cooking basics like oils, spices etc

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a bus stop with routes all over the city 2 blocks from the house. The metro is a 10 minute walk away. We are located in a beautiful area near shopping malls, parks, restaurants and bars. The city center is about 10 minutes away on the metro

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Tenemos buena conección a internet y un lugar de trabajo que podría servirte para poner tu lap y tener privacidad.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 15 hours a week - 3 hours, 5 days

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.3)

Intercambio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicación: (4.8)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 464857418359