Explore the beautiful Bohemian countryside, discover castles and historical places near Prague, Czech Republic

  • República Checa
  • 1433 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 17 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Stay in our beautiful farmhouse with its extensive gardens, experience traditional Czech life, learn about the culture, food and ways, visit many historical places, castles and medieval towns all close by, plus we are just 45km from Prague with excellent public transport available direct from our village. We are just fifteen minutes from one of the biggest recreational lakes in CZ which has sandy and grass beaches, water sports and clean water swimming, as well as bars, cafes and restaurants - in nice weather we go there a few times each week and can take volunteers in our car.

    The main help we are looking for is tidying up the very large gardens and some interior decorating.

    In May/June 2024 we will do some weekend yoga workshops and volunteers can participate if there is space.

    PLEASE NOTE: July and August we travel and are not at home to support and interact with volunteers. We can accept 2 volunteers who can use a new apartment we made last year, help would consist of taking care of the garden, cleaning, maybe a bit of maintenance and we would provide most of the food ingredients for you to make meals. Ideal for a couple looking for a relaxing break!

    We are a British-Czech couple with a 15 year old daughter and our home is a very big renovated 180 year old traditional stone built farmhouse set in a lovely, mature large garden situated in a tiny village set amongst beautiful rural countryside of rolling hills, forests, farmland. We all speak English and this is the main language we use in our home.

    Apart from our own living space, we have created three stylish apartments in the house which we rent to holidaymakers during the summer season and volunteers are accommodated in these at other times of the year - volunteer couples will have their own bedroom and others will share a same sex sleeping space in single beds/bunks if separate bedrooms are not available. The apartment have kitchen corner, lounge area, dining table, toilet and shower room.

    Close by are other traditional villages and a small town and we are ideally located to visit many fascinating historical ancient towns and cities as well as castles, popular recreational venues and Prague of course. There is public bus transport from our village linking all areas or to the nearest main railway station 10km away in the town. We have archery equipment for use at our house, behind it is newly made tennis court and childrens play area, close by is a rope park, golf course, horse riding, river kayaking/rafting, water sports on the lake such as wind surfing, paddle boarding, canoeing, boating, etc. Thirty minutes away is the biggest Water Park in the Czech Republic - check out our photos!

    STAY IN OUR OTHER HOME IN THE UK - there is the opportunity for volunteers at our Czech home to also go stay at our home in the UK, situated in the beautiful county of Yorkshire, close to the historical Viking city of York, the UNESCO Lake District, Yorkshire Moors and Dales, Pennine Mountains, fabulous coastline with Victorian seaside resorts and fishing harbours, the vibrant city of Leeds a few minutes away and much more. The house is ten minutes from Leeds Bradford airport [usually 40GBP direct flights from Prague] and volunteers can go there when we are not using it and have it to themselves.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are always happy to meet fellow travellers and share experiences - we ourselves travelled extensively throughout South East Asia, the Middle East, North Africa, sub-Saharan Africa, Europe and various other places - and we love to learn about places we have not been to.

    Likewise we love to chat about our passion for producing travel videos and vlogging - we have filmed and produced travel shows for national TV, many destination guides on Youtube and hundreds of videos for the travel industry.

    Our daughter loves board games!

    Foodies - we are very interested in world cuisines, are experts at Moroccan cooking (where we spent two years) and Thai food, from where we recently returned. We love to learn new recipes and techniques and look forward to volunteers sharing their knowledge of food and experiences.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for volunteers to help with one or more of the following tasks:

    a) tidying up and improving the gardens, helping with the vegetable garden, etc.

    b) interior decorating (painting) walls, ceilings and window frames, etc.

    c) light renovation/construction work

    d) housework and preparing meals

    e) introducing us to new world cuisines

    f) making a website

    g] suggest what you can do!

    We do not require volunteers to have particular skills as nothing is too difficult and we are here to advise, demonstrate and help.

    The minimum period we host volunteers is 7 days not including the day of arrival and departure.

    We expect volunteers to help 4 hours per day for demanding tasks or 5 hours per day for light tasks excluding meal times and breaks x 5 days a week and then take 2 days off - but we can pre-agree on terms depending on what skills are provided or level of physical work. PLEASE NOTE: unless you are working in a team, we are happy for you to set your own 'start' and 'finish' times each day and you can vary these to suit yourself as long as in any 7 days you complete your 4/5 hours x 5 days in total. - we dont care if you start work at 5am or 11am or in the afternoon, its up to you! Also, volunteers can do longer hours per days if they want to have more than two days off in a week.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Czech: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    As already mentioned, volunteers stay in the new self contained apartments if these are not rented out as a holiday lets.

    FOOD: Volunteers are provided with three meals a day - we are not vegetarian but we do follow a healthy diet with lots of vegetables, grains, pulses, etc., and eat meat around 3 times a week, although this tends to be more often when we host meat eaters! We like to prepare varied and very tasty food, recreating dishes from around the world as well as letting volunteers experience tradition czech food. We provide ingredients for volunteers to make their own breakfast in the apartments, this light breakfast usually consisting of a choice of cereal such as cornflakes, muesli, oats, which you can add milk or have fresh or toasted bread with butter and jam together with tea or coffee. Lunch is around mid-day and the main meal is dinner early evening. Weather permitting, we like to eat outdoors in the garden, do the occasional BBQ and also make a wood fire to roast sausages on sticks! We have hosted vegetarians and vegans and they seemed to have been very happy with the meals we prepared for them - and we were happy to experience the meals they prepared. Regarding drinks, our tap water is very good and not treated with chemicals, we provide normal tea and instant coffee as well as herbal and fruit mixes for making hot drinks - volunteers can help themselves to drinks throughout the day. Volunteers can buy any special food or drink items, beer/wine, etc., they need for their own consumption from the nearby village - or can join us on shopping trips.
    PLEASE NOTE: If you are used to and expect fried bacon, sausages, eggs, etc., for breakfast, beef steaks or salmon for dinner, then you are going to be disappointed here!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our extensive gardens are very peaceful to relax in and we are surrounded by beautiful countryside with a network of marked walking trails. A small bar/restaurant recently opened in our village, although opening times are restricted and few kilometes away is a nice village with bars/restaurants, shops, supermarket, etc. We may be able to provide transport to visit local attractions, etc., helpers can accompany us sometimes on shopping trips to villages/towns and join us for recreational things like walking in the adjoining forests, light treks and visiting Slapy leisure lake where there are water sports available, restaurants, bars, disco´s and good clean swimming conditions.

    For anyone new to CZ, beer and wine are probably the cheapest in Europe! We can also help with organising public transport for trips a helper might want to make on their own. Various activities are available locally, including golf, river canooing/rafting, tennis, indoor pools, gym, rope park, horse riding (can accompany our daughter), etc., etc.

    Exact terms of the stay can be agreed.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 439226764719

Comentarios (66)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.9)

Live with our family in this beautiful, off-grid, self-sustainable, natural place in South Bohemia, Czech Republic
We are looking for superb volunteers to stay with our family in Tĕšíkov, Czech Republic