Help in the garden and around the house and learn about rural life in New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

Última hora

15 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a country couple in our mid 60's. Our farm is currently leased out, to a dairy farmer, however we would like some help splitting firewood and general help in our large garden. We have hosted many Woofers over the last two years and have had excellent feedback.

    Geraldine is a beautiful small town on the way to Tekapo and Queenstown areas.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are friendly and flexible. We can show you how we farm sheep, beef, dairy and forestry. Marie is a keen gardener and cook. We have a number of farming animals which we still manage ourselves. These consist of beef cattle. They range in age from 6 months to 2 year old animals. We are daily shifting electric fences, feeding silage. These have been hand reared so a quiet animals, easy to handle. During the season we also make silage, feed for the animals in the winter months. We have a small number of sheep, sometimes helpers are here when David shears them. They are interested in all these things and they don't have to pay for the experience. Marie has a vege garden, which provides many home grown veges for our visitors .

    All home made compost for the garden plots. Some visitors have never had the advantage of having fresh vegetables . We have chickens to provide fresh eggs for the household also. All our visitors get to meet our friends, and familiy , in the district if we have a social gathering. We also take them to experience other farming activities in the area which may be happening on other farms,whilst they are with us. These may include to see dairy cows being milked, calves being feed on the feeders from a very young age, milking goats are also in the district. We as a whole are a farming community who know each other well and are happy to support each other when farming life gets busy. We have forestry blocks on the farm, which David and our children planted, up to 20 years ago, David and the boys have done most of the pruning and thinning on these blocks. Whilst visitors have been in our home , Marie has taught them some skills with home baking, and cooking meals . We have a very varied lifestyle in the farming seen. We love where we live and have a brilliant view from our front terrace of the mountains in our area , where, weather permitting we spend a lot of time relaxing .

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for help splitting firewood, gardening, general help around the house and farm.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Queen Bed and Ensuite or Singles. We have 3 spare bedrooms.

    We will provide you with home cooked meals for your stay

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our farm is close to a rural town of Geraldine, South Canterbury, also 2kms from State Highway One at Orari. This is also a tourist town on the main route to Mt Cook and Queenstown. Public transport is available, both in Geraldine and Orari. Timaru is also nearby, 30 kms away. Caroline Bay is a relaxing place to spend time walking the boardwalk.
    Peel Forest has several walking tracks, including Little Mount Peel, which is and enjoyable outing with panoramic views of the Canterbury Plains. Many of our previous woofers have visited this area and walked the mountain. Geraldine also has walking tracks on The Downs, also a picturesque river walk. There is a mountain bike track, which is close to our farm, that follows the Orari River .

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, Flexible

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 432859959939