Help teaching English, with recycling project to build a school house and more in Samarinda Seberang, indonesia



166 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

  • Descripción


    My name is Dennis, I am from East Kalimantan. I was born in a village near the Mahakam river in the Dayak Tribe. For the last 20 years I have been living in Samarinda with my family. I am passionate about education and invest my time to share my knowledge in English language in my school and also teach about recycling to make Kalimantan a clean island again.

    I am looking for volunteers to work with me on 2 different projects:

    1) Teaching English in my school English Learning Center in Samarinda.
    The school has about 20 students from grade 1 to 6. We meet every day and it is open to all kids and young adults from the villages around Samarinda. For this, I need help from volunteers (also non-native speakers) to run the classes and inspire the children to learn English so they'll be able to communicate with people all over the world.

    2) Recycling project
    In the beginning of 2017, I have started to run a recycling project. We have used plastic bottles to build a house which serves as our school facilities. This has been such a success that the community has shown increasing interest in building more bottle houses. In Tering Lama, a small Dayak tribe village up the Mahakam, we are planning to build the next bottle house. If you are up for a real adventure, living with the locals in a remote area and helping them to learn about recycling and upcycling, then this is your project!

    Working together with international volunteers has been a great experience for me and I am grateful for all the interesting, inspiring and motivated people I could meet. I truly believe that together, we can make change happen.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am a true Kalimantan person from the Dayak tribe. Not only do I know East Kalimantan in and out, but I have also extensive experience as a tour guide in the region. I will be able to share my knowledge about our culture with you, host you in my lovely family house and introduce you to daily life in Kalimantan. If you are interested in traveling around, I will also be more than happy to help you with the organisation of the trip or even do a trip with you.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    I am looking for volunteers to help me with teaching English and continuing my recycling project in Samarinda. We have already built a school house out of recycled bottles and are constantly making it a bit nicer and thinking about ways to improve.

    As explained above, we are planning to build a new bottle house / forest school in Tering Langa, along the Mahakam River. I am looking for people to help me with the design, building, education of the villagers, and ideally giving it the same use as for the bottle house in Samarinda: install an English school in the bottle house. My friends in Tering Langa are highly motivated. They belong to the Dayak tribe and are still very active in living their culture. They are little exposed to tourism or English language, so staying with them for a while will definitely allow you to get to know Indonesia from a whole new face and get a real understanding of Dayak culture in Kalimantan.

    Besides this, I have ideas about building an eco tourism lodge on Mahakam River and I will surely need some help with my online presence. You will see there is always something to do :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Indonesian: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    I live in a nice village nearby Samarinda, only 30 min from the city center. The village is also easily accessible from Balikpapan. I live with my wife and 5 kids and we share the bathroom and common areas. You will stay in the newly built bamboo house next to my house where you have private sleeping space and showers. We have built this with the help of a workawayer, it is very exciting :)

    You can eat with us 3 times per day, there are shops around the corner where you can get some extra treats. I will ask you for a contribution of 30.000 Rp per day for the food.

    In Tering Lama, the accomodation will be in a family home with a private room and shared facilities, same conditions as in my family house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Samarinda is a great starting point to discover the region around Mahakam village and get to know the Dayak culture. You can organise day trips from here or even leave for several days to travel around the region. If possible, I might be able to join you! On a regular day, you can use your free time to stroll around Samarinda, rent a motorbike, or just enjoy the village life. People here are still not very used to seeing foreigners and will be very excited to invite you for coffee at their homes!
    Please note that I will ask you for a contribution of 30.000 Rp per day for the food. Thank you.

    For the travel to Tering Lama, I will ask you to contribute to the transportation costs. The trip from my home to there is about 6 hours on motorbike.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

  • ...

    Este anfitrión cobra una tarífa

    leer más
    30.000 Rp per day for food ($2)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 426235814943