Experience life on a farm only fifteen minutes from the city of Calgary, Canada

Country

Canadá

291 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    40  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    123

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Must love dogs! I have 2 big dogs and 4 little dogs (yup 6 dogs). They are all super friendly and love attention. Mostly rescues and also 2 friendly farm cats. They will follow you all day long and love to help with garden chores. Dont worry though - your private space is pet free. Hard and fast rule - no pets in the trailer and no cats in the house.

    May- We will prep and plant two vegetable gardens. One has raised beds and the open garden has perennials and lots of room for cold crops. I have 3 large composts. We will set up water collection systems, soaker hoses, timers and gravity feeds in the garden. Mostly just watering and weeding after that. Hot tub was just emptied and cleaned - perfect for soaking before bed.

    June- Seedlings started indoors under lights go out into the garden in June. That mostly includes tomatoes and peppers. And a few flowers. Come learn everything you need to know about putting in a family farm garden. Composting, mulching, water management, no dig, organic methods, permaculture practices. In June we will set up the swimming pool. Great to keep cool after a hot day in the garden.

    I prefer to work mornings so you can take the sunny afternoons off to go hiking or sightseeing in the mountains. Plus its a bit cooler. However, we are very flexible if you want to arrange hiking and camping trips.

    ==============================================================================================

    THE BASICS

    I usually prefer to host couples or friends traveling together. There is lots to do on the farm and gardening is always more fun with friends. Preference will be given to those with a genuine interest in gardening. We are flexible in terms of work hours and time off if you want to plan trips to the mountains or the city.

    We acquired a pretty new, very clean, travel trailer for helpers to stay in. It is your own private space with a view of the valley, mountains and stars at night. It does have power and your own small fridge. We put in a full bathroom close by but the trailer has a toilet if you need in the night.

    We provide milk, fruit, cereal etc for breakfast in the trailer or if you want coffee and hot breakfast you are welcome in the house. Meals are in the house or on the deck every day and volunteers are invited to help with meal planning, prep and cleanup.

    We are close to DeWinton, Okotoks, Millarville, Black Diamond / Turner Valley, Priddis, Bragg Creek etc.

    ==========================================================================================

    GENERAL INFO

    The farm is located less than 15 minutes from Calgary and the LRT Train station. We live on a small (20 acre) family farm just south of Calgary. We have vegetable and herb gardens, 2 cats, a large but friendly Marremma (like a GP), a rough coat collie and 4 little house dogs. No animals in the trailer - ever - for those with allergies.

    I like to host couples / friends traveling together. We have more fun working together as a team. I am happy to work with foreign guests looking to improve their English skills.

    We are a very small family farm. Work will consist mostly of tending to the vegetable and herb gardens. You can also ride the mower, weed the gardens, work the compost bins, and tend to fences. I appreciate help preparing meals and cleaning up as necessary. Expect to spend the majority of your days outside. Afternoons are spent in the pool (June July August) and you are welcome to start or end your day in the hot tub.

    We are a happily married couple, 30+ years with no children. Lance is in IT and Kathleen is retired from a career in sales. After a sunny day in the garden we spend our evenings in the pool and relaxing by the fire. It is a very private and quiet rural setting.

    Day trips to Banff/Canmore/Bragg Creek/Black Diamond/Okotoks can be arranged for volunteers staying longer. Calgary and the the LRT station are only 15 minutes away.

    I have asthma and am very sensitive to perfume and scents. Please refrain from using strong perfume, aftershave or cologne and even some scented shampoo and conditioners or body wash products (I'll let you know.)

    We have excellent wifi in our home.

    ============================================================================

    BY THE WAY . . .

    My guests have told me to add a note to say that the food here is very good.
    Apparently that isn't always case . . . I do like to cook.
    I shop for fresh, organic food from the farmers market every week.
    You are welcome to join me so that we make things we will all enjoy.
    We always have lots of fresh fruit and homemade treats (cookies/brownies/muffins) around.

    If you like fresh, healthy, homemade meals, fresh air, gardening, and sunshine - you will be happy here.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am happy to introduce you to the farmers and friends that live nearby and show you their yards and gardens. We can visit the bison farm in the area and a friend who has chickens, goats, rabbits and a fabulous 100 year old garden. My neighbours have cattle and horses and we are close to the mountains and hiking trails. The farmers market in Millarville is our weekly shopping stop and has been in operation for over 100 years.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Most help required will consist of general gardening, planting, and weeding in the family garden. The gardens need spring prep, the yard will need cleanup, mowing and seeding. I start seedlings under lights and they need babying until they are planted out in June. Breakfast is at 8:00 each day and we start from 9:00 until noon. I have a long list of tasks and we pick out a few to work on each day. There are lots of little projects to complete so it is never boring.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is plenty of space if you prefer to set up a tent and sleep outside. We just acquired a travel trailer and it is all set up for helpers. Privacy, a mountain view, and stars! Warm nights we spend around a fire and cool nights in the hot tub.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are located 15 minutes south of the Somerset Bridlewood LRT station in Calgary. I am happy to pick you up there or provide directions if you have your own transportation.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We just upgraded our internet service and it is very reliable, unlimited 50/10 often 60/14. The wifi doesnt quite reach as far as the trailer but there is good cell service here.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have twenty acres so there is plenty of space to park a camper or trailer or even pitch a tent if you want.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    As long as they won't chase my farm cats and get along with my dogs all are welcome.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    usually 3 hours per day - occassionally 4

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)



























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 414359891596