Learn about self-sufficiency on my farm in Calabria, Italy

Country

Italia

actualizado  

256 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    10  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/05/2022

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    UPDATE
    Especially in autumn, winter and spring time - I am looking for people who are experienced in natural building to help recontructing part of an old stone house. We are working towards redoing the walls and would like to use only natural materials.

    Hi everyone, I am Rossella.
    I lived a happy life in self-sufficiency during 35 years with my husband in Calabria.
    Nowadays, I am alone and really need help to continue this simple and healthy but hard life.
    I live in an old small village and many different things have to be done.

    Here are some examples of things you can help me with:
    In the countryside I have 18 goats. Therefore I have to milk them every day, to make my own cheese (ricotta and tome) in an artisanal and typical way.
    I have two big gardens where I cultivate all the vegetables which can grow here. After pruning, I make many things with them: pesto, differents sauces, vegetables conservated in oil, dry tomatoes, and many more.
    Additionally I pick up wild plants to make medicine or aromatics. However I also dry them to use it later for cooking or preparations with oil.
    I weekly bake bread in my stone oven.
    Furthermore I make many different preparations of dried meat, with typical italians recipies: pancetta, ham, dry sausage etc.

    Since a few years I also have an bnb above my own flat, where I also prepare meals for tourists and visitors. Help in the kitchen and at the tablet is certainly welcome.

    This is only a little inside view of my daily life to show why I need people and to offer: acquiring some of my knowledge, eating my home-made food and experiencing pure italian life.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    What I really enjoy is welcoming people in my house, sharing tasty meals with you, showing you how I live, discovering your travelling stories and your way of living.
    You will have the opportunity to learn how to cook good italian food, to see how to make bread, goat cheese and many other preparations. In addition I can show you how to cultivate a garden, how to care for animals and so much more!
    You will discover an old, typical Calabrese life, in which we do all by ourselves and where we don't need supermarkets.
    In my house, we will live happy together!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I work for an idea of self-sufficiency, I don't have a real commercial activity so what I am looking for is a non-monetary exchange.

    You can help me in all the different parts of my life:

    - Especially in autumn, winter and spring time, people experienced in natural building can help in recontructing part of an old stone house. We are working towards redoing the walls and would like to use only natural materials.

    - You can meet the goats, discover how to do cheese and bread, but I will mostly need help in the garden and in my daily life.
    - Taking care of the garden: planting, ripping weeds, pruning fruits and vegetables and global maintenance of the cultures.
    - Helping with our project of rehabilitating an old, lovely and typical calabrese village.
    - You can also do different daily or weekly tasks like cutting wood for the stone oven (for making bread, cheese or pizza), cleaning the house, taking care of the animals, ...

    I need people who really want to help me and be part of my life. However you will always have free time when you want to rest or discover the wonderful region of Calabria.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    For your work, I will offer you what I can:
    You will have a room or a place to put your tent if you want, and all the accomodations of a house.
    You will taste all my healthy and home-made products (I enjoy cooking but you will also be able to cook for your own, if you want to).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You will be able to visit the nice area of Calabria, very near from Sicilia (there will be a nice view of the Etna volcano if the weather is good!). Many hiking loops are nice to see, you can rest on the beach, and mostly be immerged in the Calabrese lifestyle. You will meet very nice, interesting and shining people!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    About 5 hours per day, 1 weekly free day

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.7)













Número de referencia de anfitrión: 398767724916