Learn about permaculture, green building and community engagement in Douglas, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

72 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    90.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    (Note: We are not a business entity and do not operate for profit.)

    Hi, my name is Christian, I'm the owner and steward of this place, a 120-acre property which is on it's way to becoming a sustainable community.

    We’re interested in permaculture, green building, cultural connections, community engagement, solarpunk futures, and beautiful life experiences.

    Part of the ethos is that life shouldn’t be a mostly top-down experience of power hierarchies and enforced norms. We want this place to be influenced by all who pass through her as much as it influences those who pass through.

    I’ve been an artist and world-traveler for most of my life, having worked on organic farms in Ecuador, work-shopped alternative architecture approaches at Arcosanti, worked abroad in Panama and Puerto Rico, and back-packed through Croatia, India, Japan, Korea, and Costa Rica.

    I grew up in Virginia and my life as an artist has led me to reside in Austin, NYC, Chicago, and Los Angeles over the years. But I’ve always been happier while out in nature, away from the bustle and bustle. I came out to Cochise County to live on my friend’s land at a cheap price so that I could focus on some of my creative projects.
 However, upon arriving here I quickly realized that this property was it’s own creative project, and I dedicated my time and energy to fixing the place up as best I could.

    After 9 months of dedicated work, the owner decided to hand the place over to me because she believed that I could help steward this place toward a more beautiful vision.

    I’ve been a student of sustainability, regenerative agriculture, systems thinking, complexity theory, solar punk, arcology and archeology, wisdom traditions, alternative government systems, sense-making, and healthy human communication. Besides making music and sculpture, I’ve also been a telecommunications engineer, meditation teacher, and indoor/outdoor plant specialist.

    I’m very fortunate to have found mentors, collaborators and friends from many organizations and specializations. I strongly feel that collaboration is the way forward for the evolution of culture -- working to bring people, ideas, and energy together in an organic way.

    Currently we have 3 residential buildings that can host 2-3 people each. We also have stand-alone living quarters for those who need more privacy.
 There are two full kitchens on the property and three bathrooms. Personal space and access to utilities is in abundance here.

    We have amazing well water which has been positively tested for purity and is said to be artisanal. We have 10mbps satellite internet, shady spots with hammocks, a 1/4-mile paved loop for scenic walks and jogs, a cat named Quint and dog named Triple.
    (Update: There is now a second dog named Baji).

    Our neighbor grazes his 12 friendly cows on the rest of our acreage and you may run into them while walking the paved loop. Other critters you might spot include jack rabbits, cottontails, deer, javelina, quail, and a variety of birds.

    The greenhouse produces oranges, lemons, limes, grapefruit, hibiscus flowers, herbs, and Surinam cherries. Around the property we have tons of lemonade berries, some mulberries, pecans, prickly pears, and aromatic creosote. We're also kickstarting a culinary mushroom cultivation project and planting native heirloom crops, such as tepary beans.

    The main focus of our efforts is to maintain a beautiful property, grow food for community members and workawayers, and provide educational resources for visitors and the local community.

    We'd love to host you, offer a meaningful and memorable experience, and allow you to be a part of this great experiment in shaping the future.

    Thanks and good luck on your journeys,

    Christian


  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Here’s a list of experiences, skills, and feelings that we hope you’ll be able to take away with you:

    - Gardening/farming basics
    - Advanced horticulture modalities such as Biodynamic Agriculture and Korean Natural Farming
    - Carpentry
    - Natural Landscaping
    - Sonoran Ethnobotany and Zoology
    - Wildcrafting
    - Communication skills such as Circling, Collective Presencing, and Nonviolent Communication
    - Advanced sense-making skills such as Socratic Questioning and Cynefin
    - Qi Gong and Bio-energetic basics
    - Advanced somatic frameworks such as Somatic Experiencing and vagus nerve literacy
    - A deep feeling of groundedness and connection to the natural environment
    - A stronger alignment with one’s own purpose in life
    - A really good recipe for salsa that I’ve perfect over the years


    This property had previously hosted 15-30 volunteer organic farmers at time and had a 5-star rated profile. We would feel more comfortable with 4-6 volunteers at a time and hope that everyone who stays has a beautiful experience and makes some meaningful connections with the land, the hosts, and the other workawayers.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Current help options at here include:


    - Landscaping and Beautification
    - Carpentry and Painting
    - Gardening and Farming
    - Cooking and Cleaning
    - Local and Online Outreach
    - Small-scale Build Projects
    - Consultation and Planning
    - Greenhouse Care
    - Oyster Mushroom Cultivation

    We offer the standard 20-hour week opportunity.
    The schedule is mostly flexible in service of accommodating
    each guest's personal needs or limitations.
    If you'd like to get all of your hours done in a few days so that you spend the rest of the week
    exploring the Chiricahuas or road-tripping to the hot springs, that's fine by us.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I love to learn and love to teach.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The landing zone for each new Workawayer is the greenhouse-adjacent bedroom/bath with a beautiful panoramic view of the valley (a favorite of guests). After that, you can choose one of the private bedrooms on the property for the duration of your stay.

    The guest kitchen has a refrigerator, oven, stove, and pantry.

    There's an outdoor tub for cold soaks on hot days and hammocks for relaxing during breaks or after the workday.

    There are multiple fire pits for evening hangouts and a communal patio space.

    We offer three meals per day which include staples and anything growing here at the property.

    If guests need to purchase additional groceries and supplies but don't have transportation, we can pick them up during our regular supply runs (bi-weekly).

    When a guest has finished their stay we can provide transportation to Douglas, Bisbee, Sierra Vista, or Tuscon.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    A recent negative Covid test is mandatory.

    If traveling abroad, pick-up from Tuscon is available.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Digital nomads are welcome. We have 10mbps download speed, 3mbps upload speed, and a mesh wifi network on the property.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have space for campers and RVs with water, electrical, and sewage hookups.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    If you have dogs, we have a large walled-in area where they can roam freely. They must be socialized as we already have a dog here (and we're looking to get a second one).

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 388264685887