Conservation and permaculture help for our non-profit project with beavers near Machynlleth, Wales

Country

Gran Bretaña

215 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    13  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    31/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    76.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Stunning and remote 75 acre permaculture site in Wales with Beavers (!!) and bees. 2.5 acre Forest garden and have reforested upland pasture with 33,000 native broadleaf trees so far :) (about 1/3 are edible species) We have supplied a local CoOperative box scheme weekly with veg and fruit for many years (so the gardens are very productive!) but have taken a break from this all for to focus on finishing some building projects and rest a bit ;0) (More veg for us all to eat ;0)

    This not for profit project hosts 3 self-contained Cottages through an online rental website (so I spend a lot of time cleaning and doing laundry) and all proceeds from this fund the forest planting (33,000 native trees so far!), food growing, bees, keeping the beavers, volunteers and running expenses. We have not been paid in 11 years... but are passionate about what we do! We are developing our upland growing areas with a 'field scale' crop and more perennial edibles and the potential for a 'tiny house' or two. Some saplings are 10 years old now and the forest is really coming along with so much wildlife returning to this little 'Oasis' in an otherwise ecological desert! x We have peregrine falcons, pine martens, bats, owls, great crested newts, spotted flycatchers and so many other endangered species living here ... a bit of an 'oasis' in an otherwise ecological 'desert'!

    Help is needed with weeding and developing the gardens and 2.5 acre forest garden, sowing seeds, planting and harvesting, jam and winemaking, processing the honey and fruit, helping out in the house and communal areas, some ecological building, looking after the birds, animals and polytunnel, checking the beaver enclosure for any repairs needed, being lovely to visitors and pretty much everything in between ;) Carpenters, Sparkies, Straw bale enthusiasts, green fingered sorts, decorators, plumbers, and folk with brilliant ideas and good hearts. Anyone with an abiding love of nature and wildlife would love it here! x

    We are volunteer hosts from waay back and have welcomed over 280 residential volunteers over the past 11 years. Please note: from November until March the gardens and bees are sleeping..... and we need help from rugged sorts with building, fencing, digging and tree planting skills who don't mind being out in soggy Welsh Winters and helping with our housework now and again! :) Thank you! xxx

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Otra
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda de caridad
    Ayuda informática / Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    It is extraordinarily beautiful here!!! We are creating an edible forest, growing lots of chemical free veg and teaching groups, families (and whoever will listen! ;) about other models of producing food and land husbandry. In particular, we are passionate about Agroforestry systems and food production to stimulate the local economy, community participation and to help address rural poverty. You would have an opportunity to immerse yourself in seeing a (more or less!) successful alternative approach to farming and food ..... regenerating land and biodiversity in the process! We do some work with local Universities on the impact of beavers in ecosystems and are involved in new initiatives to create local food hubs, internships for folk wanting to learn about food growing, and are looking into a variety of perennial crops for stable future upland farming as we expand the food production here. I will do my best to share information with volunteers, but please bear in mind that there is much to learn (I am still learning every day and am nearly 50!) and am pretty busy holding it all together. Hopefully we can all have a giggle at the same time as getting stuff done :) There are sometimes evenings around a fire and BBQ's to relax and chat.... and spontaneous singing and guitar playing!... easy-going and positive folk are very welcome - no stress please xxx we need your help and experience and are very open to creative ideas x

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The daily running of our Conservation site is varied and never dull! We have need for most skills - builders and trades folk in Winter with some Summer building projects too .... and in Summer, experience helping with plants - weeding, harvesting, sowing seed, planting and grounds maintenance is especially needed :) Folk who are relaxed and easy going with our guests is always welcome. Help around the house is much appreciated as I am very busy maintaining the cottages. . Also, our building projects would benefit from anyone skilled with experience and imagination! Hours are flexible, but we do expect around 30 hours help per week in exchange for food, lodging and teaching :0)
    Please note that we do not accept travellers with children or pets, but would be happy to welcome couples or good friends sharing a room.
    We are inundated with offers of help in July and August (as everyone wants a lovely summer break!) but need most of our help from March to June getting the gardens ready for the new season. Summer help will be mainly strimming, weeding, and looking after the veggie gardens and animals with some housework too. Winter volunteers (October to March) would benefit from being rugged sorts who can handle getting wet and fancy planting some trees ;) but are also all-rounders as there will be building maintainance and decorating at these times.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our fully equipped 2 bedroom Volunteer house is up and running! Cosy and with all mod cons - a well equipped kitchen with freezer and washing machine, bathroom with a shower (but no bath tub), open plan lounge/diner with TV, DVD player and centally heated and double glazed. We ask that volunteers keep the space clean and well maintained.

    Winter volunteers may have their own room, but may be shared in Summer. There are also options in Summer to camp and share the bathroom and kitchen in the volunteer house - there is a composting toilet in the Forest Garden where you would be camping and a plunge pool and small waterfall for al-fresco dips if you would rather not shower in a bathroom!
    We now have a great carpenter who is helping us sort out 2 more rooms in the 16th century part of the main house so that more folk can stay long term on site. There is good WiFi in the Breakfast Room - please bring your own laptop.

    We do a weekly shop and volunteers can decide for themselves what they would like to eat ( within a reasonable budget ;0) Volunteers cook together (or seperately!) Vegan diets may be a bit of a stretch.... as when the cooking is communal folk use eggs and dairy unless you are prepared to be flexible. If the other volunteers are vegan too- then it should be no problem. Please be very honest when making contact if you have any specific dietary needs or other restrictions as it will impact the group.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are pretty remote here - about an hours walk to the nearest 'main' road and bus route, so this place would suit folk with a genuine passion for nature and outdoor life. Free time could be joyfully spent walking, climbing, wild swimming, practicing archery, yoga or Tai Chi.... also renowned for Mountain Biking trails here! Machynlleth is a cultural hub (the Historic Capital of Wales) and is bursting at the seams with Arts, Comedy, Music and Community events. Local shops and pubs are pretty far - so come with a vehicle if that is what you are looking for. Dyfi Osprey Project, National library of Wales, Cinemas and amazing Beaches less than 30 mins away by car.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 377525317926