Outdoor help and DIY in beautiful Olinda, Victoria, Australia




138 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

  • Descripción


    Hello and welcome to my beautiful property in Olinda.

    ***Currently seeking a Helper who can assist with ornamental, deciduous and fruit tree pruning from ground level.

    I have accommodation available for a couple or two or more travelling friends or single male or female Workawayers and you are welcome to stay as long or as short as you like.

    There is also separate home accommodation a short walk away from hosts home with unlimited wifi but you will need to walk down for all meals.

    There is outdoor power and water available and plenty of room with easy parking access for Workawayers with their own caravan, campervan or for campers to set up their tent and camp out.

    Accommodation and all meals are provided in exchange for five (5) hours of help per person, per day for five days per week, followed by two days off. Full and free laundry service provided during days off.

    Note: There are several DIY projects on the go and it is not expected that one person can do all of this. I look forward to hearing from any experienced Workawayer candidates that can help develop a website or have a passion for gardening and laying pathways.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Workawayer Travellers have the opportunity to learn new hands on skills and about the local history, explore the local area, visit Yarra Valley wineries and improve their English language skills and integrate socially.

  • Ayuda


    Most of the help is outside and currently I am seeking strong volunteers help out in the garden. Usually I also help alongside with you for training purposes.

    1. The help will be to maintain and beautify the garden. Garden maintenance includes but not limited to: use a whipper snipper to tidy garden edges, drive a ride on mower to cut grass, use a leaf blower to clean paths, use an electric hedge trimmer to trim hedges. Rake leaves, hand weed garden beds, prune roses, shrubs and small trees. Collect fallen bark, branches and sticks off the ground. Gather fire wood from inside or outside property. Remove holly, blackberries, ivy, silver plant, jasmine and weeds and burn garden waste. Plant new or potted plants, spread mulch on garden beds. Soil preparation and water vegetable beds and establishing new vegetable beds. External house clean. On rainy days, we do tasks indoors painting or splitting firewood with a hydraulic wood splitter and stacking firewood under cover.

    2. Workawayer to assist build/ lay a rock path and outdoor steps.

    3. Workawayer with painting experience. They will help paint the house indoor and outdoor. All paints and painting consumables are supplied. Indoor painting reseserved for rainy days.

    4. Also seeking an AutoCad designer or web developer to develop a website, I will write the online content and provide photos. The purpose of the website is to inform prospective Workaway helpers about the kind of general gardening, maintenance and DIY projects on the go.

    After you have completed your 25 hours of help per week, you have two free days so that you can enjoy sightseeing around the local area, or travel into Melbourne city or enjoy the time off in whatever way you choose. There are a couple of bikes for your use. Or join me to explore the wine region in the Yarra Valley or visit visit Melbourne’s gallaries and museums.


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️For International Travelers: At the airport buy a Telstra SIM card, Telstra has the best network coverage around Australia and it is the only SIM card that works in Olinda. The Telstra store at Melbourne Airport is located at shop 1.15 at the Qantas Domestic Airport Departure Level 1 First Floor, make sure the Telstra salesperson helps you to get the SIM card connected and working on the Telstra network and your mobile phone.

    Note: For Workawayer helpers planning to stay two weeks or longer you are welcome to use my address to request a Tax File Number (TFN) online from the Australian Tax Office plus set up your bank account with your preferred bank. Most volunteers use Commonwealth Bank. (I am very happy to help you with these tasks provided that you arrive at Monbulk during weekdays and before the bank closes at 4.00pm).

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Option 1: From Melbourne/Tullamarine Airport take the Skybus cost $18.00 to Southern Cross (Spencer Street) Station and buy a Myki card to travel on Melbourne’s public transport.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️The MYKI card costs $6.00 to purchase and the local train and bus fares cost $4.40 for 2 hours travel. (Approximately total travel costs: $28.40).

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️From Southern Cross Station take the train to Belgrave Station, at Belgrave take the number 663 bus to Lilydale and make sure you get off at Main Road Monbulk opposite Woolworths and Aldi and wait for me to pick you up at the bus stop. (Make sure you ask the bus driver to let you off at Main Road Monbulk).

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Option 2: A much cheaper alternative but longer travel time and more scenic (Approximately total travel costs: $10.40 is to take the 901 Bus from the airport to Ringwood Station and then take train to Belgrave Station followed by the 663 bus to Monbulk and make sure you get off at Main Road Monbulk opposite Woolworths and Aldi and I will collect you from the bus stop. (Make sure you ask the bus driver to let you off at Main Road Monbulk). Route 901 is a Myki ticketed service. Myki card costs $6.00 plus travel costs from Airport to Ringwood and Monbulk is $4.40.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Please text me on my mobile when you get on the 663 bus to Main Road Monbulk so that I can meet you at the bus stop in front of Woolworths and Aldi stores.

    Thank you and happy travels.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    Accommodation is available in the house or in a newly built American Barn.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Highlights of the local area: Olinda is located in the heart of the picturesque Dandenong Ranges where there are lots of beautiful nature/bush walks. The property is surrounded by cool climate Mountain Ash forest and many European deciduous trees. There is plentiful wildlife, including, wombats, wallabies, lyrebirds, Crimson Rosellas, Eastern Yellow Robins, Eastern Whipbirds, White-naped Honeyeaters, White-throated Treecreepers, Australian King-Parrots, Laughing Kookaburras and in the evening, you can enjoy a clear starlit sky. I am approximately 4.2 KMS from Monbulk and Olinda village where there are cafes, shops, local buses and just one hour away from Melbourne Central.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 362676314831