Help us build our self sustainable farm retreat center in Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

258 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    33  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    31/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, we are Ugo (Italian) and MaryAnn (1/2 american and 1/2 italian brought up in Madrid) who moved to Portugal after 10 years living in Hong Kong.

    Ugo, an italian food connoisseur and entrepreneur, MaryAnn, a mindfulness, compassion, Mindfulness Yoga teacher and executive coach entrepreneur.

    We are the guardians of 74 acres of magical land in Serpa, Alentejo, with the dream of creating a land and people regeneration center, a natural refuge where nature and people can work together in harmony.

    When we open the retreat in 2021, it will be based on the Love Thy Nature concept; reconnecting and taking care of ourselves as integral parts of nature via mindfulness and compassion practices, yoga, healthy eating from veggie garden and soaking in the natural peace of Alentejo, and reconnecting with nature through sustainable agricultural methods (permaculture).

    Right now we are getting the land ready for it as we wait for renovation which will happen in 2020.

    We moved into the property in January 2019 and with already the help of many volunteers, summer veggie garden has been giving us wonderful food, and now time to prepare and plant a new veggie garden for summer veggies.

    We have 2 horses, 10 chickens, 1 mother pig with daughter, 2 dogs, 2 cats and we are in the midst of developing and planting the food forest.

    We really need help to get the land ready to be part of a movement that takes care of our Earth through sustainable food production starting with veggie garden and moving on with Permaculture and Syntropy.

    Let us know if you want to be part of this project by joining us to work on the veggie garden, food forest planting and upkeep, natural building, land clearing and animal care.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ugo is Italian and MaryAnn is half Italian, half American, but grown up in Spain. We have lived for the last 10 years in Hong Kong, so we have quite an international background. Ugo is a food lover, worked in food for the last 7 years, MaryAnn is a Mindfulness (MBSR), Mindfulness Based Compassionate Living (MBCL) and Mindfulness Yoga certified teacher, executive coach and passionate about trying out new vegetarian recipes. Ugo has attended a PDC course and a natural building course so he can build our house.

    We are happy people and very keen to arrive to almost a 0 trash impact on this world with our project. We love animals, and somehow they love us and the many volunteers back :-)

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We welcome people who are proactive and will be happy to work in the land, (clearing land, cutting, veggie garden maintenance, pruning, etc.) with a positive attitude and who will contribute in the planting of the food forest, natural house building project and manage and take care of animals as well as live towards a zero waste (minimising plastic use) and sustainable living - this is really important for us.

    Happy to welcome people who love to cook and want to try out new vegetarian recipes.

    Cheers
    Ugo and MaryAnn

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    Italian, English, Spanish,a bit of japanese, French and Portuguese

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We offer a room with single beds for our volunteers and ensuite bathroom with a small kitchen for keeping snacks.

    We have a common kitchen used to cook main meals, and a common living/dining area with a fire place. All the rooms are heated during the cold nights but please bring your own sleeping bag for extra heat and towel.
    Food wise we provide 3 vegetarian meals a day.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The work required is 5 hours per day for 5 days a week plus community work (house cleaning, cooking and washing up in turns).
    During your free time you can enjoy the property or the close by little city, Serpa, where there are restaurants, bars and all the commodities that a small town can provide. Nearby there is also a river and a water fall and natural park.

    Regarding transportation, we will pick you up in Serpa. You can go via Beja (bus or train from Lisbon) and from there catch a bus to SERPA, which is 10km far from the property.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week plus community cleaning of the house and cooking and washing up

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)




















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 921349294163