Volunteer for English language exchange and learn about ethnic culture in Temanggung, Indonesia

Country

Indonesia

5 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/02/2022

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, my name is Boby and I am 40 years old. I live in Temanggung, Central Java with my 15 year old son. Temanggung is a beautiful city in Central Java with many beautiful mountains, rivers, and waterfalls. This city relies on its agricultural production and produces the majority of the coffee, tea, and tobacco in Indonesia. We are 35km from Yogyakarta, the cultural center of Indonesia known for its temples (including Bobobudur and Prambanan temples), the Sultan's palace, and the black sand beaches. Yogyakarta is a major Indonesian city that is known as a "college town" where many young people live. It is also where the airport is located, so people use it as a launching point for visiting other islands in Indonesia.

    I am an English teacher. I teach in a private vocational high school. Beside that I recently opened a coffee shop in the city center of Temanggung with the intention of bringing the local community together at this meeting place. We are located in the heart of the city and serve various coffees and Indonesian foods. The coffee shop includes a lively karaoke bar that people enjoy and sing at until late at night.

    Of course, Many of my friends are local english teachers, and we always looking to improve our english. We enjoy playing badminton, singing, and traveling. We love meeting people from all over the world and learning about different cultures!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Hostelería/turismo
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will learn about Indonesian and Javanese culture. I can teach you about the language, our customs, and Indonesian food. You will truly become immersed in local culture, as there are not many foreigners visiting this area and not much foreign influence.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    My main goal is to find volunteers to engage in a cultural exchange with and to improve my english through conversation. The exchange is flexible and can be tailored to your interests. We can discuss what you prefer to help with.

    Some possible tasks include:
    - helping in my school to share the experience using English
    - helping my local english teacher friends teach english at their high schools
    - teaching english to children in nearby villages
    - sharing their experience use English in English community

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You can stay in your own bedroom in my house, or if you wish, there are sleeping spaces at the coffee shop you could sleep in. My house is very close to the coffee shop and my mother and son also live there. The shower in my house is a traditional javanese shower.

    I'm offering food as long the volunter in here

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are a lot of shops and restaurants nearby, as well as many nature activities to choose from. In your free time, you can spend time with my friends, family, and me or go hiking and swimming at any of the many mountains and creeks nearby. We like to go play badminton after work, so you are always welcome to come with us!
    You can take a day trip to Yogyakarta and visit the temples and beaches there. I am looking for a cultural exchange and am looking to improve my english and would love to host and meet volunteers from all over the world.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Flexible


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 368192818122