Help us create a self-sustainable paradise in a little town near Beziers, France

  • Francia
  • 245 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 29 nov 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    Hi there!

    We are Daan and Rosa, 45 and 41 years old, originally Dutch, and in 2018 we have bought a beautiful ancient wine domaine, built in 1850, in the middle of the vineyards, with a great view. The place is situated in a stunningly beautiful area next to the river Orb. There are 2 buildings and approx. 1,1 hectare of land. There is a lot of work to do in all fields such as gardening, building, painting, cooking, etc.

    Before buying this place we've always lived in trucks and traveled around a lot. Because of an unexpected event we were able to buy this place, and the idea was partly to share it with the many friends we've met on the road. Therefore there are often some friends over, staying in their trucks or in the house. We are still living mostly in our trucks aswell.
    We are completely independent, we have energy from solar panels and water from a source. No sewage but a small septic tank next to the house.
    As we've always lived very DIY we have general knowledge in many different fields such as building, woodwork, electricity, plumming, mecanics, etc., some things more then others but we are happy to share :-)

    We've finally restarted the veggie-garden, whilst doing an online eco-gardening course, and finally have the idea (a bit) that I know what I'm doing! But many new ideas pop up whilst doing it, and we can definately use a lot of help.

    Besides pomme granades, apples and other trees there are prunes and when they will be ripe we would like to try to make grappa!

    We have a lot of idea's but not really a clear futureplan; I think the mainline is that we would like to develop this place into a self-sustainable paradise that we can share with people we feel good with.

    The terrain is big and much to maintain, (but since I have my tractor easier and more fun), there is a lot to clip, trim, mow and strim, all the clippings being used for permacultural purposes.
    At the same time we are slowly building up the old winecave (barn) into a house. (from which the most important part obviously is the ground floor; the workshop ;-) )
    Oh yeah we have 2 big dogs ;-)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I don't know what to say, it's just a great place to be, with a special vibe, friends come and go, often in their own trucks and we are always busy doing jobs together on the terrain, in the house, renovating the barn into a house, and enjoying life. Living, cooking, working and having good times together with many different people is in our vains, since that's what we've always done and makes us happy. And we definately love a good rave from time to time ;-)
    We are happy to welcome you into that lifestyle :-)
    We are still learning everyday about building, gardening and maintaining this property and have so many ideas about the possibilities on the terrain. We would like you to join us in this learning proces!

  • Ayuda


    People who like to build things with recycled materials are always welcome and also people who like ecological gardening, both preferably with some experience.

    But don't worry we also have a big list of jobs that dont require specific skills ;-) Helping around the house and in the garden, painting, etc. , as long as you're not afraid to get your hands dirty!!

    It would be handy though if you know how to handle machines such as a battery screwing drill or a lawnmower.

    At the moment we have a project that's almost finished but I can't seem to manage the finishing touch.. To make some money on the land we want to rent out a caravan to holidayguests, and want it to look the least like a caravan as possible and make it attractive for any kind of person. I keep getting stuck in this, if there's anybody out there who thinks they can help me with it.. PLEASE!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Our French is getting better but we'd love to perfectionize. Anyway I'd love to speak any language in the world ;-)

  • Alojamiento


    There is a chalet on the terrain, which is a bit primitive but very comfortable and it's nice you can have your own space. There is a tap with a jerrycan and a little cooker and a composttoilet outside. There are also other options part of the house.
    When the caravan isn't rented out people can stay in the caravan
    Campers are obviously also welcome, no limit in size ;-)
    About food, we can provide food for sure but we cant promise to cook everyday. If we do ofcourse you're welcome to join. Daan is a very passionate and creative chef who makes lovely food, for example traditional Italian meals. Rosa is more into experimenting with lots of vegetables and preferably vegetarian/organic food. If you like cooking that's also very welcome. Giving us a list of what you'd like us to buy and then sorting yourself out can also be an option sometimes. I think we can figure it out together :-)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live on a beautiful terrain in the middle of the vineyards, with a great view, on the foot of the Haute Languedoc on the side of the Mediterranean Sea, nearest beach about 25 km. The river is not even 10min. walk. It's a great area where you can swim, climb, hike, kayak, cycle, horseride, etc. You feel like you are in the middle of nowhere but the village is 7 min cycle and has a variety of boulangeries, restaurants and a small supermarket. The nearest city is Beziers, which is about 25km.

    Note: although it can be very sociable and lively here, sometimes we can be boring and just doing the couchpotatoe in front of the tv.. ;-) Therefore it's well appreciated if guests are independent and happy to enjoy themselves sometimes outside working times!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Obviously we have space for campers, size doesn't matter ;-)

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Love all animals as long as the owner takes responsabiltiy <3

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 357541455338

Comentarios (9)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Come and help me in the house and garden in Grenade-sur-Garonne, south-west France
Ayúdanos en un viñedo orgánico cerca del pueblo de Puy l'Evêque, en Francia