Help us build a cob house and learn about traditional techniques in Piatra, Romania

  • 30 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 30 jun 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    We are Oana and Adrian and are currently building a cob house in a village in southern Romania called Piatra, in the county of Teleorman, where Adrian's mother is currently living. It is a small family house (2 rooms and one large kitchen/living space, plus bathroom).

    Earth used to be the main material for building in the area, but nowadays almost no one is doing it, and even repairs at old earth houses are done with cement - earth is viewed as an inferior material, and the knowledge and craft of building with it are gone.

    We love it though and remember the marvelous smell of the old house of our childhood and want to build a house that takes advantage of the many exquisite qualities of the material. We will use the cob technique for the walls, to be plastered with lime, sitting on a concrete foundation and a wooden structure (chosen for permit purposes, as well as a lack of stone supply and craftsmen in our area).

    We have built the foundation and the wooden structure, as well as the tiled roof, and started building the cob walls in 2022, and are continuing in 2023 and plan to finalise the walls this year.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Interacting with people who have chosen to downscale and build a healthy house(hold) from natural materials and learning by applying traditional techniques is the main benefit of this exchange (mainly building the cob walls and lime plastering).

    This is very much a family project and hope you will feel among family. You will interact on a daily basis with us (working on the building), as well as with Adrian's mother (who is preparing the meals), and Adrian's brother and his family (living in the house nearby the accommodation). We are also living on the construction site.

    We also want to learn from those which have done similar projects with natural materials and traditional building techniques. We have been involved in other volunteer initiatives in Romania aiming for heritage preservation and a return to traditional materials and techniques and aim for this house project to be the starting point of a deeper involvement in this field in our region in southern Romania, which has seen fewer such initiatives.

    You can also see first hand how current way of life is changing the rural landscape in Southern Romania.

    We are also the co-founding members of a initiative group in the village aiming for community development projects and are currently preparing a local heritage awareness project, in which you could also get involved.

    If you are interested to travel and explore beyond our village, Bucharest is 2-hour drive away and we can also help with accommodation in the city for a few days. The nearby town of Turnu Magurele, a 30-min drive away, hosts remnants of the Frontier of the Roman Empire, part of the long empire's frontier along the Danube, currently in review for UNESCO World Heritage listing.

    If interested, we can also guide you more in the Romanian arts and culture, including contemporary arts (Oana is a cultural manager developing various international cultural projects in the fields of cinema, visual arts and more).

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for help starting May/June through September 2023 mainly with the construction of the cob walls, but also other work related to the construction (cleaning older wooden doors and furniture for reuse, dismounting older animal sheds, building a terrace etc.).

    The cob building technique involves thoroughly mixing clay, sand, straw and water either by foot or with a small machine (we plan to do both), making cob balls and compacting them in the wall forms. Finished wall thickness will be 60cm, height of approx. 275cm. Doors and windows will be incorporated as the wall is getting up from the ground, and small details (alcoves, window borders and benches) will also be constructed as the wall goes up or at the end. The technique is not difficult and is forgiving (as eventual mistakes can be rather easily corrected), but it requires a lot of manual help and attention (particularly keeping the wall thickness even as the wall goes up). It is also very satisfying working with earth and seeing the walls growing and moulding the various elements.

    Plastering indoors and outdoors will be done with lime, most probably in 2024.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Bulgarian: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Romanian: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    We offer accommodation in the village in an older family house waiting to be renovated (which belonged to Adrian's great aunts), on the main street of the village, 10-minute walk from the new construction lot (two bedrooms and one large closed veranda functioning as a living area). Conditions are basic, with a sofa bed, table and chairs inside, and outside compost toilet and shower.

    My brother and his family live next door and can help with necessities.

    Wireless internet is available in the accommodation as well.

    We will offer three meals per day, using mostly home-grown vegetables and poultry. We like to prepare local dishes and our favourite meals, so that you can sample a variety of local food. We are also providing a fridge, electric kettle and induction cooktop top in the accommodation.

    We can also accommodate campervans in the courtyard of the construction lot.

    Accommodation in tents in the two lots is also an option.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have good internet connection at the construction site as well as in the accommodation house.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Depending on their size, we can accommodate campervans in the courtyard of the construction lot, which is larger, or in the courtyard of the old house where indoor accommodation is provided (for smaller campervans). Access to water and outdoor toilet/shower is available in both locations, as is internet.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes. Please note we have dogs, but they are leashed.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 333775669899

Comentarios (5)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help me to fix up my garden in Nucsoara, Romania
Join us and help with improving a wooden mountain cabin in the Carpathians while exploring Romania