Experience island life, help with animals and gardening on my farm near Lindås, Norway

  • Noruega
  • 39 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 3 dic 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes



  • Descripción


    My name is Birte, I am 66 years old and I am a dentist. Now I work 60% as an instructor at the dental school in Bergen, Norway. I am also a parttime farmer. I have an idyllic farm on an island outside Bergen .There I have 16 wild sheep,19 lams,4 goats,with 6 baby goats. I also have 30 chickens, ducks ,peacock and rabbits .I have several houses on the island so the accomodation will be good. The Island is 120 squere meter big and and is named Straumsoygard. It will be necessary to learn how to maneuver a boat. I have two boats so that will not be a problem. There are just one other family on the Island in a cabin and that is 900 meter from the farm. I am on the Island as much as I can, but the three days I work I am staying in my apartment downtown Bergen. My husband Rune helps me on the farm when necessary, but it is not his project as he says. I have two children who both living in Bergen, one is dentist and one is a doctor. They are busy with their lives and are just visiting. The workawayers here will have to like the beautiful nature and love my animals and hopefully not be feeling lonely. When I come to the Island in the weekend the workawayer can borrow my apartment in Bergen to get some " big city life ".

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    My workaway worker will learn how they lived in a small farm in Norway. My grandmother was one of nine children born on this farm. They will learn how you can provide a lot of your food from the farm, learn how to fish and to enjoy the beautiful nature and wild birdlife. The workawayer will also be able to learn a lot of the city of Bergen with all the museum etc.etc. From Bergen it will also be possible to take trips to see the fjords etc

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    On the farm a great deal of the help will be to take care of the animals. Feed them, see that they have clean water, clean the barn and the cages. Also help to get the animal food from my car to the boat , into the ATV and into the barn. Transportation and logistics is much more difficult since the farm is on an island. One good thing is that the boat trip is only 5 minutes. I also hope to get some help clearing in the cultural landscape, and grow more grass for the animals. One of my dreams is to get a couple of Mangalica pigs and they will need a fence . I have also two small gardens with flowers and vegetables. I also dream of a big green house for next year

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    The accomodation will be in an seperate little cosy house. We have electricity and cold and hot water . Bathroom with shower and toilet in two other houses. The days I am on the Island I can cook dinner ( I am a pretty good cook :) and otherwise I will provide food. This easter I got a Sauna Barrel heated with wood which has been very popular.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In the free time it is possible to take a hike on the Island, go fishing, take trips to Fedje, Lindås center, Lynghei senteret etc. The Island has TV and very good internet.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 838894381646


Need a carpenter to renovate our house in Lofoten Islands, Norway
Help needed at a small family farm in South-East Norway