Escape to the beautiful Sapphire Coast and help on our 7 acres in New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

149 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    27  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    758

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a Christian husband and wife team, in our 50s. In 2016-7, we bought a property which includes several old buildings, one of which is heritage-listed, and 2 cottages, in addition to our House, with local river frontage, and adjoining a local Landcare area.
    We had fun hosting and learning from travellers and enjoy seeing our valley with new eyes, and look forward to the return of international visitors.

    Our accommodation would really suit a couple or 2-3 friends, so you have company in the 3 bedroom cottage, but we are happy to have singles who appreciate some alone time as well as sharing time with us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Stunning NSW Sapphire Coast Rural Area -a true gem. Wonderful whalewatching nearby in late Winter-Spring. Seals, rays and snorkelling year-round.
    We have both travelled and want to pay forward the hospitality we were shown. We want to learn especially about international foods and help with language learning. Fiona loves cooking and sharing new and old recipes. It t is her happy place, and learning new recipes is fun.
    We are happy to share some tourism activities, when it fits with our schedules.
    We like whales, swimming and snorkeling, and local festivals too. Workawayers pay their own admission to attractions, but we provide $10 towards meals, or possibly a picnic.
    We have kangaroos, wallabies, wombats, bandicoots, possums, antechinus, echidnas and platypus in the wild, and in our garden or river, sometime some are either in or under the cottages! There are also many many native birds.
    We are really enjoying our workaway experience so far and love having talks about lands we haven't visited yet.
    .
    WE WILL BE ABIDING BY ALL COVID-19 RULES, there is sufficient outdoor space to exercise, be away from others, and our village is a really great place to be to minimise crowd exposure. The cottage is self-contained, and although we do prefer fully vaccinated, unvaccinated/single jab is ok.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We own a 7 acre property with 3 cottages and 4 other buildings.

    HELP! There are lot of chores to tidy up the estate, indoors and out.
    Lawns need mowing and trees need trimming.
    Fiona also especially needs help with housework, because of disk issues in her back.
    .
    We will also be renovating all the buildings, including building an outdoor BBQ and entertaining area.
    .
    We expect 20-25 hours help for 7 nights accommodation. Generally, it would be no more than 4 hours at a time, but some days could be longer in exchange for extra days off.
    Or less work if you pay a small rent while you have paid work in the area. We are in Postcode 2550, so are in an area of regional Australia for 88 day extensions for plant and animal cultivation and construction jobs.

    It would be great to do 3-ish days of intensive work, leaving you the rest of the week for yourselves, skiing, swimming, other work etc.
    We love taking our visitors to our local beauty points and seeing them through new eyes.

    AUGUST 2022 UPDATE:
    Help relocate and install a verandah
    Painting doors
    Lawnmowing, and whipper-snipping
    Housework - ongoing, as vacuuming and mopping are difficult for me, and we have 6 long-haired cats.
    Cleaning windows
    Tree Trimming - removing cotoneaster and cutting low-hanging branches, stacking offcuts and rubbish in a trailer for rubbish removal
    Weeding - We have had the rain, and exceptional growth. The weeds are growing, and so is the lawn. We need a bank weeded of kikuyu and tree seedlings to allow for growth of the planted natives.

    Making a a stream from the verandah to the pond and paving an outdoor seating area and forming up and concreting some steps.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Fiona is beginner-intermediate French and would like to improve.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation for WHMs is in a separate 3 bedroom holiday cottage on the property. Wood fire, plus heaters and electric blankets to be cosy in winter. Fans for summer. Wifi access.
    We would share several meals together, mostly lunches, plus 2-3 dinners and 1 Brunch each week, but you also have some "you" time and we provide food for you to cook for yourselves when we aren't eating together.
    .
    We follow a Covid-safety guidelines
    Families would be expected to contribute towards additional food costs for children.
    .

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are just 50km (35 minute drive) to stunning beaches and whale watching in season (they start heading north in May-June, and are stunningly good heading south from September to November), and we are 145km (2 hours) to the snow in season, although sometimes you can build a snowman as close as 30km away. There are also a whale museum, Bega Museum, and a native wildlife sanctuary to visit. Coastal and mountain National Parks nearby.
    We are on a highway that has a daily rail bus service to Canberra, which is 200km, with all the attractions of Australia's capital city. The Rail bus goes from Canberra to Eden, through Cooma, Bemboka and Bega. It also has connections to the Melbourne to Batemans Bay Rail Bus route. There are also buses from Sydney down the coast to Bega, which is 32km away. The nearest airport is Merimbula, which is 50km away.
    We have tank water pumped straight from the crystal clear river, and bottled water available on request for drinking and cooking.
    We don't have children, but do have 6 indoor pedigree Ragdoll cats.
    We are an easy 2km walk from the nearest bakery, post office and hotel. The use of bicycles may be arranged. Over 25's may be able to borrow a car for local errands - valid licence needed.
    The village population is about 300 people.


    International Licenses ARE required for driving privileges within NSW at all times. Your home country license is not necessarily sufficient if not in English and will need an English Translation. Translation and/or International Drivers Licence should be arranged prior to travel. We are not able, for insurance reasons, to allow anyone under the age of 25 to drive our vehicles.

    We have a STRICT no illicit drugs or plants policy.

    We are unable to sponsor people who do not have visas in place already.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20-25 hours per week for free accommodation and food

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)




















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 452555881277