Help with childminding in the Highlands and Islands of Scotland



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción



    HIGHLANDS (near Aviemore): July 15 - July 22
    ISLANDS (ISLE OF ISLAY): July 22 - August 14th
    **We've been living in the Cairngorms, but we move to the Isle of Islay at the end of July. So it could be one extended help exchange or two separate ones with two different people.

    NOTE: my profile was used previously for when we lived in Mexico, so you may see comments and photos related to that from others on here).

    I'm Rachel - a 43 year old British American writer working as a content manager for a whisky distillery. I traveled all over in my 20s and 30s. My last 10 years before moving to Scotland were in Mexico where I opened a mezcal bar and wrote a Mexican cookbook (the story/philosophy/travel bit - not the recipes). I love meeting new people, deep-diving into philosophical subjects, and walking in nature. I'm easy-going, welcoming, and a bit goofy when in a good mood. I like to take my time in the morning with a cup of tea and a meditation or stretch - when I manage to get out of bed early enough to fit it in. We eat healthy, no real dietary restrictions, but happy to accommodate - and learn from you!

    Lila is nearly 7, very creative, happy, loves to dance and make art, play outside, swim...all the usual kid stuff. She's pretty independent, very strong and intelligent, but also very sweet and loves to play with others. Our house is a simple home with a good vibe. We don't have a TV but we do have good wifi.

    Read below for the 2 different places we need help.

    The Aviemore area is stunning, with loads of hikes, nearby lochs, and bike and walking paths. It's amazing for outdoor enthusiasts, but not for people who like urban life, bars, and partying (We're a 40-minute train ride from Inverness, though, if you want that on your days off). It's doable without a car, but more enjoyable with one as you can get further afield to explore.

    We have a 2 bed/2 bath apartment that we share with our ridiculously friendly dog and madcap, cuddly cat. Lila shares my bed so your accommodation would be in her room (in a bunk bed - but you'd have an ensuite bathroom). The apartment is first floor, brand new build, so quite nice. We're walking distance to the local pub and 1 local cafe. Otherwise, 10 minutes to Aviemore. There's a bus, but it's not super regular.

    We'll be moving to Bruichladdich on Islay the third week of July. We'll be in a two-bedroom, one-bath cottage with a garden. Here, you'd have your own room with a double bed and shared bath. Islay is a gorgeous island in the Inner Hebrides famous for its peated whiskies. We'll be a 2-minute walk from the shore and there's a mini market 5 minutes walk. Otherwise, it's a 5-minute drive to the nearest town with a pub and 15 minutes to Bowmore, the main town with a grocery store.

    I'll be starting my job full-time on Islay on August 1st, so will need help from 9 or 10 til 3, 4 to 5 days a week. (I can work from home some of the time and we can figure out the exact schedule, but it will be something like this). Lila starts school August 14th, so the exchange would end then, but if you're keen to add on another couple days, no problem.

    Islay is definitely for nature lovers (you can read into this that there's little else to do - except visit the numerous distilleries!!). Plenty of walks, birdlife, tide pooling, and extremely friendly people. It's a 2-hour ferry ride to the mainland of Scotland, then another 2.5 hour drive to Glasgow, or 1 hour(ish) drive to Oban. There is a foot passenger ferry that takes people to Ballycastle, N Ireland in an hour and a half if you're dying to escape, but really - if 2 weeks sounds like too much time without urban entertainment, this isn't the gig for you.

    I'd prefer an individual, or possibly someone with a child Lila's age. As the main need right now is for childcare, I'm looking for someone with experience and references. I DON'T want someone who is constantly on their phone or is quick to put videos on for kids. I'm excited to host other travellers who like to engage in conversation over a coffee or a meal and share ideas. Any questions - fire away!

    Please include the word RAINBOW in the title of your message to let me know you've read all of this. (It's the name of our cat, btw).

    Happy travels!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I've spent years moving and working around the world, and have loads of stories to share. I loves to talk about philosophy, travel, our growth as humans, potentials for living in community, how we might fix a broken system(s)...

    I was raised in the US, spent years moving around the world; my last 10 years were in Mexico where I ran a restaurant and mezcal bar before moving to Scotland last year. I now work for a whisky distillery!

    Lila is Mexican-born, super fun and witty, and pretty well-travelled herself!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    I'd like someone who is very engaged, playful, active (no screen time), and confident with children. Someone who has experience with this age. Your hours would most likely be 9 or 10am to 3 or 4pm, 4 - 5 days/week. A parent with a young child would be welcome also!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are fluent in English and Spanish. I'd be happy if someone was a fluent Spanish speaker and could practice with Lila, as I sadly, rarely do. (As a single mum, I can't tick all the boxes!).

  • Alojamiento


    2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment in a new build (in Highlands). 2 bed, 1 bath cottage (in Islay).
    We have 1 very friendly dog and a super affectionate cat.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Hiking, kayaking on nearby lochs, canoeing the Spey, cycling, hiking, bird watching, historic sites, hiking, puddle jumping, do you feel about hiking?

    In Highlands: Bus available every couple of hours to/from Aviemore. Train from Aviemore to Inverness (40 minutes), Edinburgh and Glasgow (3 hours). Beach towns are about 1 hour drive. Stunning Glencoe is 2 hours from us.

    In Islay: Refer to first line. Very little public transport, but taxis will take you around the island.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a good wifi connection. I also work from home.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 328938678943

Comentarios (1)



Family looking for help around the house in the Scottish Highlands, UK
Join us at the most isolated inn in Scotland, UK