Ten la oportunidad de conocer las Islas de Feroe


Islas Feroe

1405 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

  • Descripción


    We are a young married couple. both 31 years old.

    We've been a part of the hosting community for some years now, hosting people and making great friendships. Hearing stories from travelers all over the world has made us wanting to try it out.

    A bit about us. We are both from small villages in The Faroe Islands, born in 1989 and got married in july 2012.

    John is a salesman. He is really into sports especially soccer (BIG Liverpool fan) , but any sport in general is good. Loves to try out beers from all over the world, playing soccer and just hanging out, talking over a good meal. He does most of the work on our house to and we consider him quite the handyman.

    Harriet is passionate about photography and has her own business mostly doing photography and fine art photography posters. But she'll take on any creative actives like: sewing, knitting, crafts and you name it. Harriet is also passionate about blogging with her own blog and sometimes freelance journalism too.

    We are also foster parents through child services, so any workawayers will have to keep that in mind and like children when applying for work at our home.

    UPDATE: We now have 2 children. Our older daughter mostly will need a bit of entertainment and likes to play games, so childcare for her is needed.

    Both love : Specialty coffee, animals, traveling, nature, good food and good company.
    We are both christians and enjoy very much going to church on Sundays.
    We are easy going, calm and friendly.

    We now have two dogs called Lady and Jess both Border collies. Also a barn cat called Zoe and 15 chickens providing eggs for the household.


    We are now in the process of taking over the family farm here in Æðuvík. It's a sheep farm with 75 ews. Also we are in the beginning face of offering "Home hospitality" - serving meals "farm to table" in our home.

    We now also have two Faroese horses


    Two Geese

    HELP NEEDED IN 2020:

    *️We'll mostly need help with renovations upstairs attic.
    *️Animal care - specifically rams, horses and chickens.

    *️Renovation and animal care mostly, we will start to feed the sheep grain this month, so they'll have enough nutrition for lamming.
    *️If the weather permits we'll also start repairing the fences this month.

    *️Gardening season - This year we want to plant potatoes and roots. Also our herb garden needs some new additions. Any skill regarding self sufficiency and gardening welcome.
    *️At the end of April lamming season starts too, so Harriet will be busy taking care and making sure the sheep are all doing well.
    *️We'll still be renovating and dealing with fences in April.

    *️Lamming season is still going on until mid may. Mostly Harriet will be working alot on the farm and help will be needed in the house.
    *️ Also we'll most likely have a few bottle fed lams that need care and milk multiple times a day.
    *️Painting the porch if there is time.

    *Farm work mostly, fencing, cleaning, haying season, animal care and perhaps a bit of gardening.
    * we always have a few building projects going on too.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Æðuvík is a really small village and our house has the perfect ocean view, waking up to the most amazing sunrise every morning is one of the reasons we chose to live here. With only 28 houses, nature is at your feet, great hikes and lots of fun fishing, catching crabs, walking in nature, long nights just sitting outside and looking at the stars or even the northern lights if you are lucky.

    We love good homemade food, hosting dinners, cake and good coffee these are things you'll always find in our home :)

    We are both very easy going and see any guest as a friend.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We have now lived in our house for 4 years and can say that the house is totally livable and almost done. Although there are always things to be done including :

    The last two bedrooms upstairs.
    Building a chicken coop and getting started on raising chicken. - DONE
    Helping Harriet with her business (assistant, prepping, graphic design, photography, packaging)
    Building a photo studio as an extension of our house.

    Outdoor work -
    Painting the porch

    Also our foster daughter is quite an active little kid, so entertaining her and maybe babysitting if needed :)

    Otherwise we appreciate that our workawayers feel at home during their stay and that means also participating in daily chores like cooking, cleaning, tidying, walking the dogs and so on - If we all help each other, things will go way faster and more smoothly :)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Danish: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Faroese: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have one extra bedroom built for guests - with your own door out on the (upcoming) porch a double bed 140 cm and fold out baby/toddler bed if needed. With a beautiful ocean view and the most amazing sunrise.

    Our house is the closest to the ocean and built on farmers land, which means no right next door neighbors, no one blocking our view and lots of free range for our dogs to play on.

    Since the house is now almost completely new we have all facilities needed.
    Washer and dryer
    Two ovens
    Netflix/ viaplay

    Outside hot tub

    The dogs live inside and sleep mostly in the hallway.

    We like taking workawayers for a drive seeing some stunning places and experiencing the Faroes at it's best, when the time is for it. Otherwise John works in Tórshavn and the busses go most places from there.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Generally we don't have any rules but no drugs please and smoking will be enjoyed outside :)

    The Faroe Islands are not tropical islands, so you need to be prepared that it get's cold up here and the weather isn't always nice, especially in the winter. So bring warm clothes, rainproof jacket and some decent shoes. We can't do anything about the weather unfortunately ;)

    Also Electricity and heating(oil) is really expensive, so we try to take short showers and remember to turn of the switches when not used. Environmentally friendly and all :D

    We are looking forward on meeting you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 125636197355