Enjoy French village life in charming Quillan, France

Country

Francia

359 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    55  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/08/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    112

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Micheal and I are a retired couple living both in the fantastic town of Quillan, in SW France, and outside the Austin, Texas area in the lovely old Texas town of Wimberley. Micheal and I have traveled extensively in Europe since 2005. We love the cultures and slower lifestyle of many European countries and seek to incorporate them into our daily lives. We have enjoyed having workawayers from all over the globe both in France and in Texas. We are still friends with most of them, and have even had a reunion with several workawayers who were at our house together. We also have been workawayers so understand what it's like to enter someone's home as a stranger, and to get to know each other. It's been so rewarding! We've learned so much about other cultures and enjoyed the bounty of tales of travel while savoring some delicious dishes from other countries.

    Our household consists of myself (70) and my husband, Micheal (72). We manage to stay busy most of the time, though we also enjoy sitting and talking on our balcony or by the fireplace in the living room. I love to garden and try to grow some my own vegetables. Cooking is another favorite activity of mine, and wine is my favorite beverage. Micheal is an avid reader. He is a former art teacher and sometimes dabbles with 3-dimensional art. We both love music and enjoy dancing at local fetes and venues when in France. We have taken our workawayers to various activities throughout the SW France region and hope you'll find it as interesting and fascinating as we have.

    Currently we need an individual or a couple to help us in Quillan, France. Quillan is in a wonderful area for seeing historical sights, as well as having lots of natural amenities to explore. Our house is right off the main square, so you can enjoy the French village lifestyle - walk to the bakery, have coffee on the square, people watch while enjoying an apero. It doesn't get much better than this.

    We have just moved into our house in Quillan. Help getting settled, arranging furniture, help painting a few interior walls, planting a few flowers in pots on the balcony, are all things with which we need assistance. We also could use help with preparing meals, cleaning, and whatever else occurs as a result of a move.

    Our most successful workaways are not clock-watchers. They are people who want to help us do what we are doing. And this kind of attitude is ALWAYS rewarded. I am flexible about hours to help. I prefer to purchase what you want to eat and you can prepare breakfast and lunch whenever you want to eat them. When we are here, we enjoy evening meals together and convivial conversation. Sometimes I cook and other times our workawayers cook. It's been great to sample foods from other cultures. Our household rule is that those who cook do not have to clean up so we hope you are the kind of person that is willing to pitch in with normal household tasks such as kitchen clean up and taking out the trash when needed. We prefer that workawayers stay two weeks or sometimes more, though I will consider a week minimum on an individual basis.

    In your free time there are loads of places in Quillan to explore. Our house is just across the square from the Aude River, where you can fish or hike. There are rafting companies nearby, as well, if you brave enough for that activity. Ski stations are approximately an hour and a quarter away. The restaurants and bars are all quite close and you can enjoy having an apero while people watching on the square. It's a wonderful life! Of course there are quite a few places to see outside of Quillan, as well, not the least of which is Carcassonne, the most photographed and filmed castle in the world. Toulouse is another amazing city and an easy day trip or great for a weekend away. You will not lack for interesting places to visit.

    If our project sounds appealing to you, please get in touch.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    There are numerous opportunities to explore this area of France. We are in the Aude Department, which has a river for rafting/swimming and large ponds for swimming and fishing, and a vibrant ex-pat community, It is close to the Cathar castles. We have a quaint town center with lots of shops and restaurants, a hike and bike trail, and an amazing natural grotto, which about 45 minutes away. This area has many wineries, distillers, and artisan beer makers to sample, as well. Limoux (20 min. drive) is famous for it's sparkling wine. Since we aren't on the beaten path for most travelers, most sights are not crowded. Throughout the year, there are many festivals in local villages, such as the Mushroom Festival. Usually there's a meal and music with dancing into the late hours. They are usually lots of fun.

    Being close to the mountains, the beach, and 2 hours from Spain, you'll have plenty of sightseeing to do while here. There's a ski station 1 hour from Quillan, and the beach is 1.25 hrs. away. Water rafting, hiking, fishing and swimming opportunities abound. We are 45 minutes from the famous castle of Carcassonne, and 1.25 hrs away from Toulouse, which has an international airport.

    I like to think of workaway as an investment in the future - future understanding of other cultures for both the homeowner and the workawayer. I have hosted approximately 50 workawayers, both in Texas and in France, plus Micheal and I have been workawayers in Germany and Austria. Thus, we can appreciate what it's like to come into someone's home, try to get settled and establish a working relationship in a relatively brief period of time. We have made many friends worldwide through this program. In fact we have had "workaway exchanges" where a workawayer has come to our house and then we have been workawayers at theirs. That was a truly great experience for all parties. We hope you will feel the same about your experience as a workawayer in our home.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We just moved into our house in Quillan in early March. We need help with unpacking, hanging pictures, painting a few walls and some furniture, and getting settled. Help with meal preparation during this time would also be useful. You will stay in a private bedroom with en suite bath with shower.

    Once we get moved and feeling more settled, if you stay long enough we can start planting for spring and summer. Though we do not have a garden, we will have pots on the front of the house and on the large balcony.

    We can decide on your work schedule together, which days, hours, and times to help. If you prefer to help several long days then take several days off, that's okay, too. During your free time, I am happy to help you get to some nearby sights or into Carcassonne, Toulouse or Perpignan.

    It's important to me that you enjoy your time here and get to accomplish some of your goals for traveling. After all, that's why you are traveling.

    I am not a micro-manager so it is important to be a "self-starter" with initiative. Also it's helpful to see the daily tasks that need to be done and do them. We operate like a family: everyone pitches in to make things go smoothly. We treat this property and contents with respect and care. I want insure that future generations can continue to enjoy my home and land. If you have similar values and work ethics, then this may be great fit for you.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    English, French

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    This is a 200 year old house that was once the Epicerie. It has lots of charm as well as modern conveniences. We offer a large, fully furnished bedroom with a double bed and full bath. The bedroom can accommodate a couple or two individuals as long as you are willing to share the bed. Or we can put a single bed in that bedrooom for two individuals. The house has an open living/dining area with wood burning fireplace, and a utility area containing a washing machine and dryer. There's a lovely balcony which overlooks the main square of Quillan. All amenities are within walking distance.

    It's important to have a warm and harmonious atmosphere in our home and in which to work. I strive to make this a most pleasant and welcoming home in which to live and to complete the various projects. Normally we enjoy a discussion around the table during dinner. We love it when our workawayers share in meal preparation or fix a meal from their culture. Our household rule is that whoever cooks does not clean up; so if I cook, normally the workawayer(s) would clean up and vice versa. In the living area, there is a TV with internet capability, and the internet is generally reliable and fast throughout the house. If you want to work another job while you are here, there is a desk available and a WIFI-capable printer, plus high-speed internet.

    Please let me know if you are interested in participating in the activities required, while enjoying this lovely area of France.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This is a fantastic area to explore. It's the Cathar area of SW France which so much history known mostly to locals. Plus there are village festivals with music and dancing. The produce markets are everywhere. It's only 45 minutes to Carcassonne and an hour to Toulouse and Perpignan. It's a great place for relaxing. So, this is an interesting place to spend some time - not touristy. Instead, experience the genuine small town French life. Having a car would be a great benefit, though not required. We do have a car which we allow workawayers to use as long as they have a drivers license.

    If you arrive via air, you can arrive in Toulouse, Carcassonne, or Perpignan. We will pick you up from the airport. If you arrive via bus, there's a station in Quillan and we will pick you up there. If bus connection is too difficult, take one to Carcassonne or Limoux, where we can pick you up.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have high-speed internet, and a work space (small desk). I have a printer/scanner/copier with WIFI connections. The workawayer bedroom is somewhat removed from the common area so it's fairly quiet and private.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours/week-

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 328112917421