Discover our way of life and culture in the heart of Ganges, Canada

Country

Canadá

21 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/11/2021

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our half-acre property is located in the heart of Ganges, within easy walking distance of everything, including forest and beach hikes, bus stops, the library, arts centres, and stores. We have a fenced family garden with a small greenhouse, plus a number of fruit trees. Robin coordinates a nearby school garden project and hopes that a volunteer would help with this big project.

    We are a family of four, with two children ages 6 and 10. Robin is an ecologist (botany & fisheries), a community organizer and an avid gardener, while Brian is a biological statistician who also works from home. We've now hosted a few travelers and enjoy the cultural exchange and also the extra help with home, garden, children and community projects!

    Our house has four bedrooms, a small kitchen, two bathrooms, a large dining/livingroom and a deck. You would stay in the guest room and share our home. In fine weather, our yard has a hammock, a badminton court, and a trampoline for fun.

    In the garden, we actively compost and apply the newly-created soil several times per year, and in this Gulf Islands climate, we grow food year-round. We love to cook using food from the garden or nearby small farms. We all eat dinner together around 6pm, and breakfast and lunch would be on your own (using house food, if you like). 

    In exchange for a comfy room and food, we'd expect around 20 hours per week of assistance with the garden, child-minding, meal clean-up, household chores, and the school garden project. We'd establish a plan for each week ahead of time. 

    In terms of house rules, we'd expect quite from 8:30pm to 6am, and we generally wake up early ~6:30am so you'd need to be okay with early morning noise. Also, we'd appreciate minimal drinking/smoking and expect visitors to be good role models for the kids in terms of language and etiquette. 

    During free time, you can explore the island with nearby hiking, swimming, music and art in town, and more. The pool is just a few blocks away with a nice hot tub.  

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We grow and eat lots of tasty foods, explore natural areas around the island each week (and you're invited along), and have pretty fun lives! We really enjoy learning about other cultures and getting to know people from around the world. We can connect you with all sorts of fun around here.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We're looking for help with the garden, playing with the kids, house chores, cooking, building projects, errands, and maintaining a school garden project.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Guest room on the main floor of our family home, with a shared bathroom (there's another upstairs). It's a comfy queen bed with a nice comforter, bedside tables and lamps for reading, a desk in the room and a closet.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Because we're so centrally located in Ganges, everything is easily walkable, including bus stops and the main harbour.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 121511596971