Mushroom farming, family life, gardening and other help in our fairytale home by Molde, Norway

  • 2487 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 19 abr 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    Greetings! We are a creative couple in our 30's (Janne and Ruben) living in the fjords of the Norwegian west coast, where we have wonderful nature close at hand. We love to make everything around us beautiful and like a fairytale, and we try to live as sustainable as possible (we love the principles of permaculture). We bought this house and 1 acre garden 7 years ago, our property is located by the fjord with a couple of small beaches close by, as well as the forest and the mountains basically at our doorstep. We have a homestead lifestyle and we grow mushrooms, various fruit trees, berry bushes and vegetable patches. We have various winding woodland footpaths on our property, to balance the tame and the wild. In the summer we like to think of it as a fern sanctuary. We live here with our 2 cats and 4 ducks. We have our own cozy campfire place. And a row boat if you like the sea or fishing.

    We have a little son which is 4 years old :) If you're comfortable with children we're also looking for someone who want to look after him a bit, like taking him for walks in nature, or play with him. (We have a huge collection of gorgeous wooden toys, and we are inpired by Waldorf homeschooling.)

    Update: Our baby girl was born in June 2023. She is a very sweet and calm baby. We won't ask for help with the baby, and besides, she is still so little.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We love to talk and teach about a wide range of topics, like permaculture , ecovillages , self-sufficiency , foraging and edible plants , mushroom farming , sustainable living , homesteading , organic gardening , arts and crafts , music , cooking... as well as myths, stories and old norse culture and so on. We are certified permaculturists and mushroom experts, and our main goal in life is to create a fairytale ecovillage.

    We used to travel a lot and volunteer at interesting projects in the past, so we have some experience and many stories to share.

    We live quite remote and rural, but there is a small museum and art gallery 5 minutes walk from our property and sometimes conserts at the little fjord hotel, where they also have spa and a restaurant. Being here is a nice opportunity to get to know the typical Norwegian countryside/life around the fjords.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Life here requires physical and practical work and therefore we really value hardworking and self-motivated people. It is important to us that you really want to be here and that you are interested in what we do, and if you include that in your message we are more likely to answer.

    We need help for various tasks, here are some of our current projects: Help with growing mushrooms (involves tasks both outdoors and indoors, most of the year), help in the garden making more vegetable beds, herb spiral, collecting seaweed for mulching/manure, mulching around trees and shrubs, cutting trees/forestry, carpentry, fishing, foraging, house renovating, building gables on the roof, housekeeping, cooking and cleaning, taking our child for walks, pruning fruit trees, gathering eggs and feeding the ducks, weeding, converting old wv beetle into an electric vehicle, building a yurt, making rustic fence for garden bridges, making garden portals and other creative projects in the garden etc... We can talk about what you would want to do, and what we most need help for at the moment.

    Carpenters and builders are needed at the moment. Among other things, we want to build a rustic reciprocal roof building in our garden (roundhouse), so if you know something about that you will be instantly welcome. We also want to build a treehouse for the kids.

    If you have some relevant skills, we are also looking for someone who want to create an enchanting playground for our child in the garden. And/or make wooden toys for him ;)

    Do you know how to sew or to mend clothes? Janne would love to have a sewing partner. (Making fairytale/viking/medieval clothes.)

    Sometimes we are away traveling, and if you are a mature, responsible and honest person we will leave you in charge to take care of our cats, ducks, mushrooms and the house. Instructions will be given and it's not that difficult.

    We have 2 cats, the mother Zelda and her kitten Ori which is now twice her size.

    We have 4 ducks which is also an easy job, just let them outside every morning, and close the door to their house in the evening (and at the same time feeding them). They usually give us eggs in return every day. And they bring a lot of happiness.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    The house is a 100 years old log house, which we have renovated and it is now warm and cozy and have modern standards, so everything is quite comfortable. 100 sq.m, 2 storeys, so not a big house. The kitchen is new. While staying here you will be part of our home. We just built a brand new guestroom (with a single/double bed and a desk). If you want to, you can sleep in a tipi in the garden.

    If you are a minimalist you might not thrive here, because we love decorating and everything is quite whimsical, with antique furniture and many treasures all around. (As well as toys!) It is however perfect for you if you are open minded and like it romantic, creative, alternative and unique, especially if you (like us) love Lord of the Rings or good fantasy stories. We are unconventional, but kind-hearted.

    We live in a rural setting with nature all around. But no worries, there is a grocery store 10 minutes walk from here, and also some other houses and farms, a little school and a small fjord hotel. In summer all the leaves on the trees shelter us from the outside world, but in the winter we are a bit more transparent. Please note: this is not a farm, just a house with a big garden.

    As we live in the fjords of western Norway, the nature is green, lush and humid. We advice you to bring some waterproof footwear and clothes. A lot of the work here will be outdoors, regardless of the weather. A Norwegian saying: There is no bad weather, only bad 'leather' (clothes).

    We have a flexitarian diet, consisting mostly of organic produce, wild meat, sheep and fish, we don't mind eating some vegetarian and vegan food as well. We do not eat sugar or drink alcohol. Please note that workawayers are expected to do their share of cooking and cleaning during the week, it is generally not a part of the 5 hour workday, although there can be exceptions.

    We have a good wifi connection, but no tv.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live quite close to some really gorgeous places, especially if you have a car. There are not a lot of buses going here (a few times a day from Molde, no buses in the weekends). Our fjord is called Sunndalsfjorden. We live within one hour of the towns of Molde, Kristiansund and Sunndalsøra. In this area you can find Innerdalen, by some named the most beautiful valley in the world. Eikesdalen with Mardalsfossen and other valleys like Grøvudalen and Sunndalen with some of the highest waterfalls on the planet. The epic Sunnmøre Alps. Romsdalen, the Troll wall, troll road and the Troll church. The Atlantic Road. Even the famous Geiranger fjord is not super far away. In june we also have a beautiful viking market in the area.

    We look forward to hearing from you! :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have good wi-fi and a table on the guestroom.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a nice private spot for a campervan close to the fjord, surrounded by trees.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 289316875127

Comentarios (10)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.9)

Orthodox Christian Monastic Community in Valldal, Norway
Family with a small farm living just 30 minutes north of the city Bergen in Norway