Help a Family with Large Quinta in rural Portugal

Country

Portugal

61 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    437

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 12 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi,
    We are an English family, Tim and Zoe, Matt (12) and Amy (9) that have moved to Portugal in search of of a more relaxed way of life. We bought a beautiful 9 hectare Quinta near Pennamacor in the Castelo Branco region with a cork oak forest, olive, fruit trees, and a stream 2 years ago. We had a ruin which we have converted into a small house, a 5 berth caravan for guests/workawayers and a large stone barn which we hope to convert to our main house next year. The Quinta has easy access, mains water, electricity, and good internet. We have 2 very friendly family dogs, a cat, 2 pigs, 6 chickens and are looking to get sheep soon.

    We have opened an alternative schooling project in the region which is bringing lots of new families to the area. However with the School to run (Zoe works there during the week) the animals, and all of the work on the Quinta that needs doing we need help!

    We would love to hear from singles/couples/families from anywhere in the world who are able to come and help out on the Quinta. Tim LOVES to cook. We are not vegetarian/vegan, but are more then happy to cater for this. Zoe is also gluten and dairy free, so this diet is also not a problem. We speak English, Portuguese, and a little French - which Tim would be happy to improve! We need to build a car store, repair a splash pool, start work on the large barn, collect wood for the winter, and finish work on the small house. We are looking for general help around the Quinta with things like, feeding animals, gardening, building and construction work, fencing, cleaning, and general tasks around the place. We would ask for five hours of work a day to help with projects in return for accommodation, and a main meal in the evening, and you would be able to store additional food and supplies in the caravan which has electric, a cooker, fridge, and storage space. You would get two days off a week to go and explore the local area. There are many river beaches, lakes, and beautiful places to visit. If you are interested please get in touch.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda con idiomas
    Enseñar

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn skills such as gardening, construction, farming skills, cooking, or to speak Portuguese or English. You could also help out at the school or with our children. We would love to learn more about other cultures and parts of the world too.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We could use some help in several areas - general help around the house, feeding the animals, looking after the small vegetable garden and strimming etc would be very helpful. Help with future building projects would be particularly appreciated, so any basic manual building skills or a willingness to muck in and learn would be particularly appreciated! We also plan to become self sufficient as soon as possible, so any experience in organic farming/growing would be great, as this is very important to us!

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a 5 berth caravan in good order (see pics) with its own electric, fridge/gas cooker/water, and separate shower in the shed (see pics!)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Its a beautiful region of Portugal with many river beaches locally to cool off as it gets hotter. There is also many places to climb/hike/bike (we have bikes and are keen for some time off as well!) The beautiful Serra de Estrella national park and mountains are only 45mins away by car. The nearest village is a 5 minute walk, the nearest town (Penamacor) is 10 minutes by car, the nearest big city Castelo Branco is 40 mins by car or bus. The stunning views and castle of Monsanto are only 15 minutes away. There are buses from our village and from Penamacor to other areas, or trains from Castelo Branco

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day 5 days a week.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 286732993925