Food and wildlife wonderland in a quiet valley in the beautiful Castlemaine Diggings National Park, Australia

Country

Australia

62 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our Property is situated in a quiet valley in the beautiful Castlemaine Diggings National Park. We are surrounded by Box-Ironbark Forest which has unique plants and animals. The property has an orchard, huge veggie patch, greenhouse for tropical veggies, chickens, a couple of sheep and a dog simba. My husband and I live here and some friends who live in our bungalow.

    As we are surrounded by National Park. During your free time, you can enjoy:
    -great Dividing Range trail is on our doorstep with 400km walking/riding
    -many local markets, galleries and local events
    -Eureka mine is an historical gold mine within walking distance. You can download a podcast and do a tour.
    -The Dingo wildlife park is located 10min walk away.
    - many shorter bike rides/walks throughout the National Park
    - look at rare animals and plants
    -walk our lovely dog simba
    - visit local historical towns of Castlemaine and Maldon which are only 10 and 20min away.

    We keep ourselves busy with trying to produce our own food from our land and trying to be as sustainable as possible, so lots of preserving. We make our own cider, honey mead, bread, preserves, olives, apple juice, apple cider vinegar, beeswax candles, soap, sewing projects etc. we are constantly co-learning new skills.

    We also run our own family ecology consultancy mainly in wetland ecology and restoration and flora and fauna surveys in Nothern Victoria. We are in the process of transforming into a not for profit wetland restoration trust.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Otra
    Ayuda en casa

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Helpers will learn how a sustainable, regional family live. Particularly living a very healthy lifestyle. eating a very healthy diet and growing and eating unprocessed food.

    Lots of practical skills to be shared in organic gardening, composting, preserving, beer making etc.

    Depending on the projects and the person some handyman skills could be learned.

    Most importantly for us we love to share our passion and knowledge for Australian biodiversity, plants and animals. We often go on camping trips with visitors.

    We also love taking visitors on walks and bike rides and being in the outdoors. we do yoga daily and those interested can join us.

    We are new to work away but there are reviews on another page.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Ideally we are looking for hard working couples or individuals who are interested in outside work or sustainable gardening. We always have work in the vegetable patch, orchard or property improvement projects on the go. Its always varied and interesting and generally one of us will work alongside.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    It’s important to us that our Workaways enjoy their time with us and our set up provides the opportunity for both independent living and shared experiences.

    We have a beautiful, sustainable built cabin (the Treehouse), only 20m from main house. Set up for rental it has a split heating/cooling system, cooking facilities. It is under a massive oak tree.

    Depending on numbers of people there is also a spare room in the house.

    We provide all food including home grown fruit and veggies (when in season), eggs from our own chickens. Home made bread, olives, preserves, yogurt etc. Workaways can self cook and/or share meals. We always enjoy a shared meal at least 3-4 nights a week. We cater for vegans and GF. Guests are asked to help with preparation and clean up of meals, this is a community event and not included in hours.

    We have a Telstra phone booster aerial so if you have Telstra you will get good reception. There is no wifi available (we are on a satellite so very limited data and need it to run business)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    How to get here
    There is a train station in Castlemaine which is a ten minute drive. We can meet helper there.

    Once here helpers can borrow bikes or get a lift into town where someone goes every other day.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 1/2 hours a day or 22hours a week

Sugar gliders in our nest box
The family
House deck
Treehouse accomodation
Treehouse
Simba





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 286558192523