Help Needed with Traditional Irish Cottage/Sustainable Living and Timber Frame Building in Donegal

Country

Irlanda

118 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    12  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/11/2021

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *** URGENT *** At the moment we would really appreciate help from anyone with building and DIY experience. ***

    We are Pete and Anna, living in a traditional Irish cottage with two young children in a very scenic and peaceful part of Donegal overlooking a valley and the Glendowan mountains.
    We are an easy going family who enjoy travelling and meeting people from other cultures.
    Pete is a chef and Anna works with Crafts and Design.

    We have restored the cottage ourselves to a very comfortable standard using traditional methods. The house and barn are heated with wood stoves and we also use a wood-pellet boiler. We intend to install solar panels for water and/or electricity and a wind-turbine sometime in the future. We grow a lot of our own food in the garden and polytunnel.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    *** For the period of Summer 2015 we would really appreciate help from anyone with extensive building experience,
    particularly in the area of timber frame construction. ***

    We have restored the cottage ourselves to a very comfortable standard using traditional methods but there are a few jobs that still need to be done as well as maintenance. With two young children and work/other commitments we thought we could do with some help with this. Work is needed with lime-plaster and lime-wash, some drains and paths completed, as well as work with the garden.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Currently, the little cottage in the pictures is not available so our workaway guests are staying in the house with us.
    Accommodation consists of a small bedroom with a sleeping loft and a shared bathroom.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are centrally located in Donegal, close to most of its attractions.
    There is great walking and cycling in the area and we can provide bikes .
    Many stunning beaches are within a 30 minute drive.
    The area is known for traditional Irish culture (Language, music etc)
    We live 3 km from a shop and pub.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20-25 hours per week









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 284453984992