Help with daily life in Salthill, Co. Galway, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

52 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    95.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Old hippie wannabe whose spirit is in his 30s but whose body is in its 70s. My idealism has been worn down, but there is still hope for a better world.

    My "project" will be to recover from 6-7 weeks of radiation treatment for throat cancer. The condition is fully recoverable, but expected to deplete my energy and enthusiasm. I may not need help at all, but having a Workaway person offers confidence that, if I do need help, help is available.

    Over the past year I have hosted about 100 guests through couchsurfing and from there have a few colorful stories and some colorful friends. I have references on my Couchsurfing account.

    Since this is my first time out with Workaway, I'll offer a couple of references who have stayed with me in Couchsurfing. Ask for the link.

    I'm a US expat living in Ireland and fascinated with cultural differences, and a proponent of quality of life. Practical philosophy, if such exists, and psychology are among my interests. My work history ranges from breaking rocks to operating and maintaining a nuclear power plant on submarines, energy management, systems engineering, sailing wooden ships, operations research and management, massage therapy, live radio broadcasting, wild animal rescue/rehab, and most recently I'm working at playwriting. And I volunteer like crazy. Galway International Arts Festival will be happening during your stay, so there will be lots of opportunity for enrichment there.

    If you have interest in juggling, I'm a pretty good teacher and would love to have a juggling partner for passing routines.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Compañía para ancianos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Seeing how others approach and solve problems has benefited me, and cultural exchange has supercharged that. My nature is to question status quo and when appropriate to defy the business-as-usual approach to life. Maybe my guests can take something that benefits them from my stories.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Expecting about eight weeks of being depleted from medical treatment, radiation and chemo. The work that may be needed is cooking, household chores, and shopping, mainly for groceries or pharmaceuticals.

    I am energized by stories and thought provoking conversations. If you can make me think and reconsider thoughts I have accumulated through the years, you will contribute to my healing.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Workaway guest will have a small private guest room, single bed. The apartment faces Galway Bay with a decent view of the prom, Galway Bay and the eastern sky. I fund food. Workaway will cook and shop as needed.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Festivals, music, theatre, nature, day tours. Galway summers offer lots of choices for fun. I have a guest bicycle too. Six beaches within walking distance. I have a guest bicycle. See program for Galway International Arts Festival 2022.

    Oh! And the pubs, and the clubs. Galway is rich in quality of life.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Wifi is through a fiber connection.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. I don't count, so keep me honest.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 284439948665