Near a small town of Eudlo, nestled in the Sunshine Coast hinterland is a beautiful bush property that needs some help.

Country

Australia

35 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/03/2020

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of three, a couple and our daughter who is thirteen. Recently moved from the suburbs of Brisbane to the rural acreage near a small village, Eudlo, on the Sunshine Coast. We have a 18month Meremma dog, a cat, and several chickens. Organic eating and sustainable living are our goals. The house is on 10 acres which have been neglected for many years.

    Ideally we need some helpers for the school holidays because we are on holidays from work. This is flexible.

    As an exchange for the gardening, building, painting, house work or weed clearing, we can educate and instruct you about organic gardening and sustainable living. Collaboration is encouraged.
    We are happy to focus on any area of interest or expertise, such as:

    Composting, no dig gardens, worm farms,
    Food forest planting, companion planting, guilds
    Syntropic gardening
    Propagation of unusual plants
    Banana circle construction
    Swale building for fruit orchard
    Permaculture principles and design
    Chicken breeding and chicks
    Landscaping
    Composting toilet, grey water recycling,
    Biochar
    Building a bird hide

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We enjoy travelling and cultural exchange. We have hosted Japanese exchange students for a nearby school and Yoga teachers in training. We have our own experience of volunteering overseas and hosting workawayers. Anyone from overseas or even interstate will enjoy our subtropical lifestyle and rural landscape. Although we will on a rural bush property, Eudlo is only 25mins from world famous surf beaches and national parks.

    2 km up the road is the Tibetan Buddhist Institute known as Chenrezig. As the website says, Chenrezig Institute is a centre for Buddhist study, meditation, retreat, and practice nestled in the foothills of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland in Queensland, Australia. Established in 1974 Chenrezig Institute was one of the first Tibetan Buddhist centre in the Western World and remains one of the largest. Today, the Institute is home to a Tibetan Lama, a large community of Sangha (monks and nuns), students, residents, volunteers and guests. Apart from the formal study programmes, Chenrezig Institute is a peaceful, calm and relaxing place to spend a few hours, days or weeks. Stroll along the bush paths, wander in the formal garden, sip espresso in the café, have a vegetarian meal, drop in for yoga, a meditation class or teaching, or just sit and listen to life.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Workawayers need to be fit and able. Any skills of a practical nature are welcomed. Gardeners, landscapers, builders, carpenters, ecologists and cooks. All you really need is to be keen to get up early and do some manual work before the sun gets too hot. An interest in the outdoors and wildlife. Helpers who enjoy this and have an interest in developing their skills will find a rewarding experience. You need not to be afraid of hard work.

    All accommodation, laundry, meals and WiFi are provided in exchange for work. Non smokers please.

    We will work for 5 hours a day for 5 days . Starting at 7am and working til 11am because of the sun. Then complete the extra hours in the afternoon when it is cooler. Of course winter is cooler so you can sleep in. This is flexible.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our family has a focus on a healthy lifestyle eating mainly organic vegetarian meals. Non vegetarians and vegans can be catered for. We welcome our workaways to engage with our daily activities and eat with our family. We are more than happy if you wish to cook meals or bake for everyone.

    The house is a renovated Queenslander cottage, originally built in 1905. Our family bedrooms are upstairs with the kitchen, dining room, lounge room, verandahs and a composting toilet. Downstairs is a large TV lounge room, laundry, bathroom and toilet. For workaways, two rooms are available in the downstairs of the house. One room has a double bed and the other has two singles. We can accommodate one or two workaways at a time, depending on the water situation. The house is supplied by rain water. There is a kitchenette with kettle, toaster and small fridge for convenience downstairs.

    Plenty of room to park cars. It is better if you have your own transport so you can explore the area and be independent.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    It would be ideal to have your own transport, so you can be independent and enjoy your time off. Our property is 3km from any public transport, which is the Eudlo train station. This is on the Brisbane-Gympie line and takes 1.5hrs by train. It does link to buses for the beaches and shopping centres.

    Plenty of places of interest for those with their own transport, although lifts can be arranged.

    The Big Pineapple
    Eumundi markets
    Surf beaches
    Day trip to Brisbane
    Chenrezig Institute
    Maroochy Botanical Gardens
    Maroochydore for bands/clubs/restaurants
    Mooloolaba beachside cafes
    Noosa National Park
    Kondalilla Falls National Park
    Maleny township in the hinterland-wineries/galleries
    Maleny dairies
    Mary Cairncross Nature Reserve
    View from Montville
    Local Markets
    Yandina community garden
    Ginger factory
    Maroochy river for fishing

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 271727489289