Get involved in a self sustainable eco project in Figueiró dos Vinhos, Portugal

Country

Portugal

40 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, Olá , my name is Peter, I moved to Portugal in 2012 in a converted van, then 3 years ago, I got a opportunity to buy a small piece of land in the mountains near Castanheira de Pêra. Ive built a cabin and started a vegetable garden. My electricity needs are met by the sun and solar panels and the river provides water all year long via a ram-pump I built myself. It pumps the water from the river, 6m vertically, up to the house without any fuel or electricity. There is a vast diversity of wild life ranging from Javali (wild boar) to deer, Mongooses/mongeese?, Genets, Foxes, Owls(various types), Eagles, wood pigeons, and also Hoopoes. Colourful birds with Mohicans.
    The cabin still needs some finishing touches and some re-organization, because it has become my workshop as well as my home. At some point in the near future I would like to build a outside work space and a bread/pizza oven. I also keep bees, im not professional, but I can teach a little about their way of life and how to look after them.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    My nationality is Irish, and I am a car mechanic and metal fabricator by trade, but since I left Ireland I've learned carpentry, stone masonry, electric circuits, plumbing and tree surgery, which were all skills i needed to be able to build my cabin. I work locally as a tree surgeon and with land maintenance and in my spare time I make copper jewelry, crystal jewelry and study psychology, alternative medicine and sacred geometry because I feel those subjects are the least understood in our modern society and I would like to share my knowledge and experiences, with like minded travelers. As I mentioned above, I can teach a little about beekeeping, and also how to plant and cut trees according to the lunar cycle, the do's and don'ts about how to promote growth of trees and shrubs, and times of year to plant and harvest.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Volunteers will help with keeping the garden maintained, mainly weeding and planting. For the summer months work will be focused on keeping the river tidy and clear. All the work is physically non strenuous. The days I am away working will be days off. After the fire here in 2017, the landscape and wild life suffered considerably, so I've been trying to nurse the trees and flora back to life as best I can, which in turn, promotes a great habitat for the local fauna. Also planting fruit trees and as many native hardwood trees as possible here in the valley and let the river carry and spread their seeds every year to help reforestation. I have started to build a covered platform as a communal space to chill or practice yoga/tai-chi, share stories and feel cosy so that needs to be finished also. All going to plan, I intend to build one more pagoda or a tipi so I can accommodate more guests. Also if you like to cook, that can be part of the work hours.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Irish: Intermedio
    Portugués: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I need some practice/help with speaking Portuguese.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The accommodation, is a 2 berth caravan, with log burner and gas hob for cooking/making tea. The caravan sits under a large cork oak tree which keeps it cool. The land is situated deep in a valley in oak woodland. I would like to provide food for light lunch and dinner. Toilet is compost type, and there is a hot shower in the cabin which runs off the solar panels. There is also a 200l solar shower, but is only hot in summer.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The local town has a vast selection of cafe's and pastelerias, 2 supermarkets and a local open market on Saturday mornings. There is lake and river beaches within ten mins drive and many public walks through the nature. It's also possible to rent canoes at the local campsite which on the edge the lake. Pria do rochas in castanheira de pêra is about 15 mins away which has the largest wave machine in Europe.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    If you are a good driver, it's no problem, but the entrance is narrow, and the 2nd option to access my land is on dirt track which is steep. Front wheel drive vans have trouble on it usually.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I have a female Rottweiler/German shepard, very friendly. She has more interest in playing fetch than anything else. Very animal compatible. She is uneasy at first with other female dogs but it's natural.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.5)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.5)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 264439763991