Come and help alongside us in the gardens and enjoy nature in Lund, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

129 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live on 10 acres of forest land and have been creating a beautiful garden for vegetables and plenty of plants for the pollinators in the midst of a forest of cedar, alder, pine, hemlock, and arbutus trees. We are interested in sharing our knowledge about the forest, growing and preserving food, building and cooking with solar cookers, propagating plants, seed-saving, and all things nature and wildlife. We live in a beautiful area full of hiking trails and we are just a walk away from the ocean for swimming and kayaking. You will be able to learn so much about plants and experience the peace and quiet of the forest. We would love to meet with people to teach us what they know and share the forest gardening experience. We grow all our own herbs both medicinal and culinary, and grow and harvest and preserve veggies and fruit from the gardens and trees. We grow many native plants and can share the ways the original peoples here used these plants. We live close to the Klah'ah'men community and are learning their ways with plants and nature. We are practicing a mostly plant-based diet, as much as possible from our gardens. We have studied permaculture and put those principles into practice here. We would like to work with you to create and learn new processes for how to live gently on the earth in harmony with nature as much as is possible. In short, we are very nature-based and would like to learn your ideas of the same to share this beautiful place on the earth.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Many possibilities to learn and visit- with local people who have farms and sell at the farmer's markets, with people who live in the Klah'ah'men community and learn about their canoe journeys and customs, the marine environment and visits to the local islands, visits with local musicians, artisans, fellow forest gardeners, visits to the local art center and gallery. Also meeting others who are practicing a low-carbon lifestyle, living close to nature and tour their systems and learn from them.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would love to share knowledge of the land and receive help to plant, harvest, and cook with garden bounty. Carpentry skills would be helpful to assist on outbuildings and various homestead projects. Keeping the garden areas cleared from brush and working garden beds. Planting berry bushes and fruit trees. Building rock walls. Harvesting and preserving. Land maintenance. Tree pruning. All things forest gardening and permaculture projects. Our land is mostly forest and we would like help building trails and in the gardens. Harvesting produce would be a great help. Prepping and cooking meals and kitchen cleanup. Helping to keep the communal space neat, clean, and tidy. Various home maintenance projects. Hauling and stacking firewood. Garden planting, weeding, and clean up.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Haitian Creole: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a comfortable, cozy little guest suite above our woodworking shop which has a small kitchen, bedroom, shower and bucket composting style toilet. We cook meals together in our kitchen at the main house. Our space can accommodate one Workawayer at a time instead of couples or families. Since our grandchildren are here in and out often, we feel it best not to accommodate travellers with pets at this time. We love pets and dogs and the grandchildren come here with their dog, but we feel better about not including animals who are not familiar with the kids and their dog and our cat.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are a very rural and relatively quiet, remote community of about 500 people all scattered out into the forest. Lund coordinates are 49.9817° N, 124.7591° W. We are 2 ferry rides away from Vancouver and 1 ferry ride away from Vancouver Island. So we are a small community with very little night life going on! In the summer Powell River holds a Blackberry Festival, and several international musical festivals. Lots of boating opportunities here although we ourselves do not own one. There is a daily water taxi over to Savary Island where there are sandy beaches and lovely 'warmer' water for swimming. From Powell River there is a ferry to Texada Island to explore. We are 35 minutes away from the town of Powell River where we do our shopping. Powell River is small, I think we have only 5 or 6 traffic lights! So really little night life there. We use the electric car to go to the stores, shop, and go to the weekend farmer's market. There is a bus 2 days a week from Lund to Powell River and you will be able to ride with us to town to sightsee and shop. The person who shares a visit with us would be a self-sufficient person with time to read or do hobbies, walk in the forest, and commune with nature. Lund has a hotel, marina, small store, bakery, community park, and 2 eateries within walking distance. The Tidal Art Center is within walking distance and offers gallery showings and various art workshops. You will be welcome to work on your own projects in the woodworking shop or art projects as you prefer.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have satellite internet with decent speed and wifi access at the house and in the guest suite. We do get occasional power outages so internet is down at those times. Our data plan does not accommodate as much streaming as some people would like or need. Overuse on data plan causes the whole system to slow. We can track data usage and if more is needed can buy a bigger plan while you are here if need be. Our local bakery also has free wifi. The cell tower service here in Lund is new and working really well so far!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 264381428583