Volunteer in the garden and with our 4 horses in the Portuguese mountains, Portugal




2847 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

  • Descripción


    We are Menno and Jacqueline. In the summer of 2011 we moved to Portugal together with our 3 children, Finn (now 23), Thijm (now 21) and Caitlin (now 17). We wanted to create something special for and by ourselves, where we can both live and share our passions at the same time. Menno´s passion is “cooking” and as a viticulturist he is also passionate about “wine”. “Horses” are Jacqueline´s main passion. Our third passion, which is host/hostess-ship we share in common.

    We were both active in the business sector in the Netherlands. Menno worked as manager in the transportation world, Jacqueline was an independent IT consultant. In 2010 we sold everything we had and moved lock, stock and barrel to Portugal where we now own a small estate of 25 acres with 9 lodges, ecologically designed and equipped as we would like to have it when we go on vacation ourselves. We have created an environment where peace, comfort, friendliness and a good atmosphere meet. Menno will be cooking , Jacqueline now cares for 4 horses which she rides and trains. We were very happy with all volunteers we had untill now and we are sure we will have the same amount of fun, laughter, hard work and good times with our volunteers this year. If helping at an 'eco-glamping' and farm in the mountains of Portugal appeals, then we would be very interested to hear from you. In return we can offer bed (tent) and board with the family, fresh air and sunshine, wildlife galore, great experience and the opportunity to learn some new skills and maybe impart some too.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are located in the Parque Natural Serra Estrela. A beautiful and remote part of Portugal with almost no tourism. The summers are long but not overly hot due to the altitude of 700 meters. The Upper Mondego river is nearby (walking distance) and is amazing for swimming, also the natural park (for outdoor enthusiasts to explore).

    You will mingle here with other volunteers, friends, family and guests, we like to see ourselves as one happy group of people, changes are high that you will meet other interesting and likeminded people. We are happy to teach you new things or show you new ways, whether it be gardening, cooking, building, animal-related things or anything else we will happily share our views or knowledge. The food is usually really good here, volunteers give us thumbs up for the meals which are often made with a great input of volunteers themselves and mainly fresh, out of our own gardens. During high season we offer yoga classes every morning which you are free to join.

  • Ayuda


    Our old Portuguese farm or "quinta" lies just above Faia, a small village on the edge of the "Serra da Estrela Natural Park". We are an organic farm with olive, fruit, and nut trees.
    Spring 2022 we are open again to rent out some canvas lodges which lie within the premises of the farm. The farm then offers a wonderful holidayspot in peace, with space, in a beautiful and authentic part of Portugal.

    We are a Dutch family living here with our 3 children. We will need help from the end of april till the beginning of october.

    We have locally employed staff to cover the business site. We have a chef, two gardeners/builders and three cleaners, all local people. The volunteers we look for are here to help us in projects such as the garden, horses, some maintenance and building projects. These projects are all private. We have the following volunteer opportunities to help us (but feel free to mix it up or bring in your own unique skills):

    General maintenance: For the beginning of the season we will need some help to do some general building and maintenance work on our old Quinta. We can surely use two or three volunteers in April and May. Qualities: love of the outdoor, muscles, generally handy with tools and able to work alone/independent.

    We have 4 horses which we use privately. You can help to take care of the horses, if possible ride and help train the horses.

    We will need help with our biological garden where we grow as much as possible for our own consumption.

    Menno is a professional wine expert and a good cook, if cooking is your thing than you will love it here. We grow of course our own vegetables and fruit for our diners with the volunteers. Jacqueline takes care of the animals of the Quinta: We have 6 cats, 1 dog, 3 goats and 4 horses. Although we cook a lot of vegetable dishes, we are not vegetarian however vegetarians will certainly love it here but we cannot cater for vegans (!).

    Outside the period of May - October we are "hibernating" and do not need any volunteers so it is useless to apply, also we only start responding to mails around March for the next/upcoming season.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    We are still building/renovating the Quinta-mainhouse so at this moment we cannot accomodate you inside. For each volunteer we have a sheltertent (small, but with all amenities including a proper bed/matress). If we have a lodge free we will put you up in one. We have a central shower/toilethouse/washingmachine for you to use. We like good, healthy, biological food (out of our own garden) and allthough we are not vegetarian, meat does not play the mainrole in our diet. This means we welcome vegetarians but cannot cater for vegans. We are a family and would love to welcome you as a part-time member so stay with us, eat with us, share and have fun with us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you enjoy taking walks, hiking nature trails, reading, locating historic sites, listening to music, watching movies on our beamer, exploring the local markets, star gazing, chilling by the campfire at night and experiencing the day to day happenings throughout your surroundings then we have it all. The city of Guarda is 12 km away and we have to go there almost daily for shopping etc. You can always hitch a ride with us into town or we can pick you up later in the day. The mondego river is closeby, about 30 min walk but we can also bring you there, its perfect for hanging out on a riverbeach during a hot day with swimming etc. Offcourse we have plenty of nature all around us for walks. Generally there are more volunteers with us so there is always likeminded company. We strive towards a mixed group of volunteers in the sense of age, gender, experience, nationality, etc. as we have found out that this really works well so dont hesitate to mail us, the common language in which we all communicate is English although you sure will pick up some Dutch words.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    small dog

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours, 5 days max per week, minimum stay three weeks. We are especially interested in long term stay

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 262893636143