Help me get organised at home in Kinsale, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

284 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    1737

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, my name is Yvonne and after a couple of years of being the workawayer, I am now back to being the host, and I work and live in Kinsale, Co. Cork Ireland. My work is in the arts, and includes theatre and short film, as well as, multi-disciplined, site-specific and community based projects. Whether it be the local parade, a music video, or an international arts project, it is based in the arts, as am I. My Masters is in theatre and drama, though I originally studied computer science for my BA.

    What I am hoping to get help with is in organising my home and garden. The garden has a lot of potential for a veggie patch or maybe just a tidy peaceful sitting area down the end, where it is now home to a fairly out of service shed i.e. collapsing stone walls, debris from a tree cutting, and the remnants of fencing from an old chicken run. The home just needs a homebody who likes to cook, and has no issues with housework, because my issue is I get too busy on planning art projects and have no motivation to clean fridge's, ovens, presses and attics.

    My web profile is pretty extensive, but I'm sure I could do with someone to help make it more accessible, or to exert social media skills in Snapchat, Tik Tok, Insta and anything else that is becoming popular, and there are always volunteers welcome in many capacities for the community projects I am involved with. (Though many of those are now on hold with C-19 restrictions.) I have been very strictly adhering to government H & S protocols, so you would have to continue that practise. I keep busy planning, editing and writing, and as much as I am a fun social being, I tend to be quite happy by myself working on my laptop. I usually have a few parties to point out, but these days the social activity is online more than in person, and I have adapted quite easily to that change of circumstance. This isn't the party house in any case, as my apartment is small, and I work from home, but I'm sure you will have a fun visit. I spend a lot of time organising from my computer screen, so I may be stuck to that for days at a time, and while I can be highly entertaining you do need to be someone that can find their own enjoyment. Life tends to be quiet after Christmas and up until my birthday at the end of April, as this is the annual detox time for me, although most of my workaways have fun with the birthday party planning.

    Kinsale really is the most beautiful town in the world, as far as I'm concerned, and I have been to lots of beautiful places around the world. This town has it all; pubs, music, great food, beautiful scenery, a wonderful community, and arts activities galore. Right now even in lockdown we have a great farmers market on Wednesday, and many take away opportunities at the weekend, and a few during the week (we are a foodie town) There are normally recreational activities like horseriding, sailing, and a whole host of other outdoor activities that you can take part in if you have money. I walk, swim in the sea, or do yoga and meditation, what can I say, its free. Walking around Kinsale offers you to many picturesque moments, and we can plan a kayaking trip if you're up for it.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This will be fun, and I hope at some point to treat you to a night of Irish set dancing, or a traditional music session, fingers crossed on that social gathering ability. If you arrive unable to cook, you will learn to do that. I love to sing, so you will almost certainly be part of a good old fashioned Irish sing song during your time here, even if it is just the two of us doing karaoke.

    You will be involved in some local event, as you really would need to lock yourself away from me to avoid such a thing, so you will learn first hand what it is like to be part of the arts community, even if it takes place online.

    What you could learn is to breath in the love that this universe offers, and be aware of that which needs to be changed, it is not a perfect world, but I invite you to get involved with me at making it better, and seeing it brighter by your part in it.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    My ideal workaway volunteer would be someone interested in the arts, but right now it is more important that you have a good sense of housekeeping skills and/or gardening and maintenance abilities. Whatever your skills I will have some project for you to do, and be warned you will most likely be roped into some arts or community project even if you have no previous experience. I ask at least 25 hours of help per week from each person, and we can make a list of tasks to be done together, so that you are doing something you enjoy. If you have skills in body therapies, or gardening, painting and decorating or carpentry and this is what you enjoy, then that is the help you should share. Common sense is a must ie do not choose to sort through paperwork for me if English is not your first language, do not choose to dig the garden if you have a bad back. Tell me in advance if you have any health or dietary issues. I don't count cooking time as full helping time, as we will share meals together, so think of it as half help time, just like cleaning up after yourself is not help time, so doing your own laundry is not Workaway time, even if you put a couple of towels in with your wash. I like to trust the people I share my home with, to believe in their integrity and work ethic, so I won't be looking over your shoulder. This is a sharing, my generosity and good nature dries up when people take advantage of the easygoing situation, and I for one, do not like that feeling, it makes the atmosphere very heavy, so we will both know pretty early on if it is not working out, and we can part ways. You are required to be self motivated, but to check with me if you have questions, feel free to make suggestions, do treat this like home, get involved, enjoy your time, and have fun in one of the most beautiful places in the world. If we are not involved on a specific event, then let me know if you want particular days to be free for exploring, there is no problem. If we get to be friends as well, then that is the cherry on top, but kindness and politeness work wonders, so remember to be both, as will I, and we will do just fine. Friends are one of the greatest gifts in life, and Workaway here can be magic, so I will enjoy introducing you to the fabulous people I am blessed to know in my life, and I hope you have the best experience of yours. Thanks for reading.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The apartment is only a couple of minutes walk to the town center. Shared bathroom; consisting of shower, sink, toilet. You will have your own room, but it is set up as my office space and spare room. I usually only use the office space for storage and meetings, so while you would need to keep it very tidy, I won't be using it everyday. The first job would be to put together a canvas wardrobe so I can move my clothes out of the heavy wooden wardrobe in the spare room, leaving it to your individual use. This is a 2 bed apartment, with separate living room, kitchen and bathroom. I ask for mindfulness after midnight i.e. turn down the volume, keep your voice down if chatting on the phone. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper, but I find it quite peaceful here.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    COOKING
    I quite like to cook, when I have the time, but more often you will be left to your own devices with the food provided, and I will have a communal cupboard for you to cook for us. If you like to cook great, if you can't cook, then that is something I will be encouraging you to learn. Let's get those recipes going.

    MEALS (I'm a gluten-free, dairy-free carnivore normally.) From February to May I have a full detox vegan diet.
    Let me know in advance what you will and won't eat. The following is a simple indication of habits, but we can adjust to suit ourselves, and the schedule of events.
    8.30am Breakfast is a store of cereal, bread and juice or fruit to help yourself to.
    1.30pm Lunch is a simple affair, salad, soup, sandwich, that sort of thing. Make it yourself whenever you feel hungry.
    8pm Dinner we will have dinner together. How I would love it if you were the chef, you can also choose the shopping so that you get suitable ingredients for what you like to cook. We are on a strict budget, but it is manageable.

    ADDITIONAL INFO

    Alcohol is not part of the meal deal. If I'm drinking I like to share, but if you always drink and never buy then that becomes an issue.

    It's a short walk to Lidl if you're looking for cheap alcohol, sweets or snacks, or extra food items, and there are loads of great restaurants to recommend for take out or delivery in this 'Gourmet Capital of Ireland.'

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I work from home and the wifi connection is pretty decent, but it is from hotspot on my phone, so only available if I am actually at home, which I mostly am, but we would need to be careful to coordinate our time.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    It is not a private parking space, but it is free parking and adjacent to the home.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 232556132329