Help our family with an interesting renovation project in Elst, in the flemish Ardenne, Belgium

Country

Bélgica

new host   Última hora

8 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

    Aún no ha sido calificado
  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! Our names are Stein and Thamy. Together with our little daughter Otte we live in a little village called Elst, in the flemish ardennes. We are located in a beautiful area, with lots of nature to go for walks (or bike! Our regions quite known for a big racing bike competition, de ronde van Vlaanderen).

    In september we bought a little house with big yard. The house was run down, with no running water or kitchen and a big yard full of nettles and brambles higher then Stein (and he is 1m95!), but we fell in love with the view and the possibilities of one day making a food forest!
    The first few months we emptied the house and the shed, cut down a lot of trees (too old, too high and close to the house or sick), made fire wood, put a roof back on the shed and made a playhouse for the little one.

    This summer we live in a caravan we put on the property while we work on the house, we hope to make it livable by autumn/winter. We like to do everything as sustainable as possible, we try to build everything with second hand stuff. If second hand is not an option we build biological, we even dream to make paster and earth floor form our own ground. We try to experiment and move self builder boundaries.

    A little bit more about us:
    Stein works in Kortrijk and is a property en realty manager of the city, is a taught Architect and helped building his parents houses. You can say he knows a lot about building houses! He has a great passion for bio ecological building and other forms of housing,.. so he's definitely going to try out some techniques over the years at our project. In his spare time he loves to work with wood, spoon carving, making furniture,...
    Thamy works in Gent at a shoe shop but studied as a kindergarden teacher. In her spare time she likes to draw and make music. Oh, and loves cooking! She loves to garden and make things with the produce or can them for later in the year. She loves to try out new fermenting techniques like sourdough, kombucha or ginger beer. She hopes that in a few years they can produce a lot more food for themselves in the garden.
    Otte is a sweet little toddler of 2 that is going to school in the fall, she is quite shy in the beginning but once she gets to know you a little better she is probably gonna smother you with attention (oh and if it would be your birthday when are here. She can sing happy birthday very cute!)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We definitely see WorkAway as learning from one another and broadening our horizon. Learning from other cultures and expanding our friend circle.

    You can surely learn a thing our two about sustainable building and living with us.
    We are still learning about permaculture and food forestation, but you can definitely learn with us!
    In the summer we always partake in some preserving and fermenting activities and would love for you to join them.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    You will mainly help Stein with building and yard help.
    We're gonna start renovating the main house. The help will be versatile, woodworking, plastering and painting, facial finishing, plumming…etc
    You can learn building in every step of the proces from the ground and sewage to painting.
    At the end of the summer we will prepare the yard for the planting of new trees and we will build the water purification system.
    Sometimes there will be room for fun project/ experiments, geodesic chicken coop, pizza oven, hot tub, sauna
    You can also help with the normal house help: helping to cook, playing with Otte, cleaning,.. etc

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We provide a big Bell tent with beds for you and the other WorkAwayers to sleep in.
    We have a shed with a kitchen and a shelter for cooking and hanging out. The garden is in a rough chape bet you can retreat and find some privacy between the birds.
    Lunches and dinners will mostly be shared, but to allow us a family life breakfast will be separate.
    We eat vegetarian meals but are open to buy you meat if you prefer that.
    If you want to take a trip we can drive you to the bus or trainstation to get to your destination.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Vlaamse Ardennes are know for their beautiful landscapes. We are surrounded with nature parks, for beautiful waking trips or you can partake on scenic bike rides. Gent, Brussel en Brugge are within 1 hour train ride.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    You can work from the shelter or the shed. Time to socialise with us and the other volunteers present is really important to us, so we only accept part-time digital nomads, no more than 2 hours/day or 1 day/week.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 222271241179