Eco-village life, forest maintenance and building with natural and recycled materials in Romãs, Sátão, Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

128 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    ONLY RECEIVING VOLUNTEERS IN THEIR OWN VAN IN WINTER TIME.

    Do you love to stay in wild nature?
    Are you passionate about organic farming and forestry?
    Do you like to build with roots materials?
    Welcome to the Portuguese mountains...

    We are a bunch of families of many different nationalities living together in a farm of appr. 42 ha in the north of rural central portugal, a valley in the mountains with forest around and a river passing through.

    I am a Danish Women living here part of the year, and working as a gardener in freetown Christiania, in Copenhagen, Denmark the rest of the year. I have a long history of working with arts, culture, circus and intentional communities around the world. I have also worked for a number of years in creating short documentaries in cooporation with human rights NGOs in Cambodia.
    Now I am spending most of my energy on creating my dream of living off-grid in the most beautiful nature imaginable...

    My part of the farm is partly in the rocky hills, and partly in a forest of oaks, hazel, chestnuts, wild wine, bushes and brumbles, with a five min walk to the riverbank.
    Here I have a small wooden cabin, and am in the process of building a bigger house with natural and recycled materials.

    I have a young dog in my household, and there are many other animals around in my neighbours houses – horses, cow, goats, sheep, dogs, cats, chickens.

    The nature around us is amazing, diverse, beautiful and serene, and it is important for us all to keep it like this.

    At the moment I need help with:
    1. Cleaning the forest and rocky hills for all bushes and dead trees in order to keep fires out of the land. Cutting back old hazels, lifting crowns of oaks and replanting new trees and wild wine.
    2. Building more facilities for guests in the forest – a compost toilet and a manual shower.
    3. Building my house: renovate recycled windows, closing walls around with wood and insulating roof and walls with cork and clay.
    4. Preparing for irrigation of rainwater and construction of stone watertanks.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you wish to try living in the nature, working with the elements around, building up dreams with hard labor,
    and meeting a group of many different people, talents and passions – this could be your next adventure.
    You can learn about life in an eco-village and the 10 year process we have had until now, building up from scratch.
    You can learn about perma-culture and biodynamic farming, tending to the different trees and cleaning forestlands, constructing with recycled materials and materials from the surrounding nature.
    Beside all the hard work, we thrive to have a rich cultural life in the farm, with often sessions of music, singing, arts, acrobatics, theatre and gatherings.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Constructions for us all in the forest, is mostly done with the materials from just around us.
    DIY solutions are always welcome!
    The kitchen construction has been build, and the kitchen is cooking already. We are now in the process of closing it up and installing an oven.

    My house construction is on the way. Next projects are closing walls with wood around windows and doors on the front, insulating roofs and preparing to put in more windows on the back.

    We clean the land with hand tools, branch-cutters, strimmers and chainsaws.
    We need to cut a lot of dead pines, clean around healthy trees, make firewood for the winter and replant new trees.

    Any experience in working in the forest, working with tools or construction is welcome, but not necessary. We have lots of skills around, just need more hands, arms and strong backs!

    I have one long term volunteer with me at the moment.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Danish: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Portugués: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    In winter times I can only accommodate you if you come in your own van.

    Camping season is over in October, and I cannot offer you shelter at the moment, outside of the common constructions that we share.
    We have a kitchen space in the forest, that we are in the process of closing up and installing an oven, so it is a comfortable place to hang out in cold evenings.
    We will share in making the meals and eat together.
    Basic vegetarian diet: fresh greens, vegetables, beans, lenthils, pasta, rice. I eat a little meat on occasion, but not very often. We will consider any dietary needs or allergies you might have.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are in the middle of wild, rural nature, so there are many possibilities of walking, hiking and exploring in every direction you choose.
    You can follow rivers or streams, climb the rocks or go explore the quartz mine just up the hill.
    There are many small villages around with restored or maintained stone houses and ruins, door by door.
    Our surroundings are perfect for any creative outlet you might have!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    In the winter time from November until April, it can get very cold in the night and we also have long periods of rain. In this time it is important to have a heating source in your van. I can accommodate large vans, but nothing bigger.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 218141482557