Fun times in the town of the Blue Mountains a 4 season recreational area of Ontario, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado   Última hora

643 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    41  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello Workawayers
    We are a family of four that really enjoy hosting friendly, fun, outgoing travellers :)
    For now we are happy to host travellers that are already in Canada , we are not able to offer letters of employment. We are very limited with space so please read full description to see if this will work for you.
    We live in a lovely small tourist town located on the shores of Georgian Bay, close to beaches and ski hills. We are located 2 hours north west of Toronto in the Town of the Blue Mountains. Our house is beside a conservation area with the Beaver river running by and plenty of hiking and biking trails and nature out the back door. We are a short walk to the Artistic town of Clarksburg affectionately known as "Artsburg" with several art galleries to meander thru. We are a 20 minute walk to the quaint town of Thornbury with several tourist boutiques a few coffee shops, plenty of restaurants with great patios over looking the river and the bay, a few pubs a winery, a cidery, a cheese gallery and a beautiful harbour.
    We have two lovely, lively boys 16 (Findlay) and 13 (Spencer) that we sometimes may need help with, at this point it may be more helping them to prepare a meal or help with school studies and helping to keep them organized and tidy. We also have recently adopted a rescue dog (Chubbs) and 2 young cats. Chubbs is a huge fan of Spencer and is pretty shy with new people.

    We are a short drive to Blue Mountain Resort, Scenic Caves, Wasaga Beach and everything they have to offer. With so many year round activities we are considered the play ground of Toronto . Some of the activities in the area include hiking, swimming, fishing, rock climbing, canoeing, kayaking, windsurfing, kiteboarding, snowshoeing, ice fishing, x-country skiing, skiing, snowboarding, skating and much much more.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️The Greyhound bus does come to Thornbury, *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️however there is no public transportation in and around our area. (not sure if bus is running during covid)

    Our philosophy is that you have come to discover this amazing place that we call home
    and experience as much as it and we have to offer
    So please put down your phone and look out the window, or better yet go outside and play :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    there are lots of opportunities to experience many different activities in our area
    from skiing in the winter to rock climbing in the summer, there are many great companies that will take you out and provide you with the equipment and lessons, however there is a cost to some of these activities and transportation will need to be considered.
    At our home you will have access to snowshoes and bikes, depending on size we may have ski or snowboard equipment that could be used. There are many seasonal events that we attend , often you are able to join us, again some of these may have a cost
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️This experience is like life, the more that you put into it, the more you will get out of it.*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    FOR THE SUMMER OF 2022 PLEASE FIND THE LIST OF HELP NEEDED AS WE ARE A BIT LIMITED WITH HOSTING

    Please know that while all applicants will be considered

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We are always looking for *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    People that enjoy spending time doing things with kids, has the initiative to plan and execute fun and interesting activities with the boys (this means you are able to do this without mom always making the plans for you) or AN ACTION HERO !! At this point it is mostly Spencer that may need someone to help him organize his day.
    Both boys are excited about sports, adventures and enjoy arts and crafts. During the winter they love to toboggan out the front door and participate in ski lessons. But they sometimes get stuck in front of the video games :(
    If this is the role that you are interested in, then you need to understand that it is not baby sitting that we are looking for but more of a camp councillor or activity guide. Our expectation is that you will be able to come up with activities to do with the kids from playing a game together to biking the trails to tennis or golf or craft activities, painting or going on adventures ( we don't want someone sitting around watching the kids play video games all day). The kids will also need to be fed and watered through out the day, its not hard it just needs to happen preferably without a mess left behind)
    ***We also always need ****
    Someone that can help with household tasks to help us keep it clean (Chubbs is a spitz dog so leaves a lot of hair everywhere he goes even with a lot of brushing) also Chubbs would love a walking buddy while kids are at school. In winter we may need some snow shovelling.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️SPRING 2022 . ONE position available
    looking for someone who loves hanging with kids and walking dogs, can cook a variety of meals and is willing to clean.
    someone with a drivers licence who is willing to ride with a new driver ;)

    ******SPRING 2022 possibly 2 positions
    -gardening, digging
    -cutting trees and cleaning up debris
    -painting

    SUMMER 2022
    -more gardening and cleaning
    -possibly some painting and building

    FALL 2022
    more of the same

    WINTER
    throw in some snow shovelling


    Please understand we are welcoming you into our home and into our family, keeping your room and the bathroom you use clean makes for good roommates and that if it has not been specified as one of your tasks we would expect that help in preparing meals and tiding up after would be a part of being a family :). These are things that happen 7 days a week.

    And while we are generally flexible with our tasks and timelines it is preferred that things be done in the mornings, as this has the potential to allow us to have you join us in afternoon activities. We generally don't run on a Monday to Friday schedule (mon-fri work week with Sat, Sun off) so you will need to be flexible, however like already mentioned we are flexible so If you have a preferred day to try to see or do something please let us know in advance and we will accommodate to the best of our ability.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Your accommodation will be staying in one of our little trailers during the summer (just for sleeping and quiet time the rest of the time will be with us in the house, bathroom for workawayers is inside downstairs,(we do use the shower). We do have laundry facilities that can be used but we ask that you respect the hours of preferred use (hydro is cheaper from 7pm-7am).
    We provide 3 meals a day, usually you organize your own breakfast and lunch, dinners we often have together and help with preparing dinners or setting/clearing the table is expected.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️please note that while we are happy to host different diets we will not be changing our shopping list to accommodate specifics , but we are always happy to have you join us at the grocery store for any items you may need to purchase :) while we sometimes enjoy and evening drink, you will be responsible to purchase your own if you wish to drink.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ while we do have unlimited wifi it is our expectation that you are here for the experience and not to disappear into cyber worlds, *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️IF YOU NEED TO CHECK YOUR PHONE EVERY 10 MINUTES PLEASE DO NOT CONTACT US!.*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a ton of stuff to do, especially for the outdoor enthusiast, you can go it alone or with one of the tour companies to help you along the way. With a thriving artist community at our doorstep, several galleries and shops to meander through, we are referred to as the gallery district. On the shores of Georgian Bay provides many beach areas close by with lots of water activities and of course we live in ski country with several small ski areas a short distance away.
    Some of our time during the summers will be spent camping and cottaging so there is plenty of water activities and fun to be had. Our property backs on to a conservation area that has several hiking and biking trails or snowshoe x-country ski trails depending on which season you arrive. We have bikes and snowshoes that can be used on the trails out the back door or to head into town. During winter if anyone is looking for a ski or snowboard workaway, the times we need help with would be perfect and you can check out Blue Mountain for pass options.(please note that while Blue Mountain is called Mountain it is really a hill, on an escarpment)
    Things you may wish to look up ahead of time , Thornbury, Clarksburg, Blue Mountain, Scenic Caves, Freespirit Tours. (One thing to note although there is plenty to do that is free, there are also a lot of activities mentioned that can be done but do have a cost associated, also there is limited public transportation)

    P.s. Backpackers welcome ;)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    let us know what you are looking for and we will see if this works for all

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    contact us and we can discuss

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 176992562942