Help with home, maintenance, pets and garden projects at our ranch in Buenos Aires Province, Argentina

Country

Argentina

48 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! I have recently taken up the management of my family farm in Argentina, a place that is very dear to me, and am working on its transition to sustainable agricultural and ranching systems. We are at the initial stages so there is a lot of room for improvement! and a helping hand comes in very handy!

    The work and setting will most likely be pleasurable for work-aways who likes the countryside, nature, have environmental concerns, do not mind getting up to work on a chilly morning and are not much freaked out by animals or insects (although we know of none that are dangerous). Our workaways can expect to do some basic home and garden chores, such as chopping and bringing in the firewood, feeding pets, winterizing wood, helping organize and tidy up the barn, pruning a bush, and the like.

    The house and buildings are about 100 years old and we are gradually renovating and fixing them up, so workawayers can expect rustic comfort (clean room and sheets, warm room and bath, hearty meals, wifi) but not luxury :-).

    We are a small family. I have a teenage son (away at school), a husband and many dogs and cats, and horses as well.

    I was born in Argentina and grew up in Canada and a few years in Ecuador. I studied in Toronto (UofT) and in the US (UC Berkeley). I also lived in Paris for a short while. My professional background is in environment and sustainable development and, besides farming, I currently do freelance work advising organizations on issues related to environment/climate change in international cooperation.

    We are fairly close to Buenos Aires, it takes less than two hours to get from Buenos Aires to our farm by car. Being close to the city, the area has a mix of activities besides traditional farms and ranches, which include tourism and polo.

    Because it is a rural area, it is necessary to have your own transportation to do some sightseeing or go into town. We can lend you a bike, which can get you to several places in the local community.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    They could learn about the multiple tasks there are on a farm, about how farming is done in our region and our efforts to transition to more sustainable ways. They could learn "from me" to a certain extent, and also "with me", since it is something we have only recently embarked on and I am still exploring options and possibilities.

    There is gardening and caring for dogs, cats and horses, for those who like such experiences. And my husband may share some of his secrets of how to make a great "asado" (Argentine barbecue).

    If the workawayer has his/her own means of transportation, they can also get to know the area, with its potpourri of sights, peoples and activities: the small town nearby, the local artisans and crafts-people, the natural lake and wetlands with all their wildlife. My husband is into gaucho traditions and we would be happy to take our workawayers to gaucho festivals and rides, when we go.

    They can also learn Spanish or practice English with me.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We could use help with all the activities of the farm and farmhouse, and there is an ample choice! Depending on the needs at particular times and seasonal, and the background and preferences of our helper, that may mean fixing a fence, cutting firewood, gardening, watering plants. doing maintenance in the house or cleaning the pool, feeding our pets and foster dogs. It could particularly involve helping with the foster dogs, if the work-awayer is fond of helping stray and ill-treated dogs recover and find a home.
    We would love to share our experiences with our guest, learn about them and talk about the path to sustainable farming and living.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Italiano: Principiante
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I love languages. I can offer English and Spanish as languages I am fluent in, and would love to practice my French, Italian or Portuguese.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Unit with a bedroom, bath, dining room and kitchen located a few meters from the main house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Since it is a rural area , we have dogs, cats, and there is bee-keeping in our farm, it may not be a suitable setting for people prone to allergies.

    Although we are happy to be reasonably flexible with the work, so that workawayers can hitch a ride with us when we go into town, to move around independently the workawayers need transportation. To enjoy the area, helpers are better off having their own transportation, like a motorcycle or car or even a bike.

    In their time off, helpers that have their own means of transportation can go sight seeing or eat our in the towns nearby, enjoy the night life there or the natural sights. There is also a parachute club and a golf course about 15 kms away.

    Workawayers can also enjoy relaxing after a good day's work in our garden, by our pool or by the fireplace (depending on the season), and reading a good book from our library.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is a good wifi connection but not sufficient for people who need bandwidth and speed to support heavy duty use of data , such as designers, architects or gamers... It is for people who send emails and documents , and do some searching and reading online. Sporadic and usually short power cuts can occur.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We love animals and we can accept workawayers with a dog, as long as he or she (the dog :-) ) is friendly towards other dogs as we have a few of our own, does not chase cats or horses, or cows.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 281878137882