Help us renovating a small Algarve farm to make an eco-friendly retreat centre in Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

40 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    297

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My wife (Veronique) and I (Peter) - very recently bought and moved to a small farm in the Algarve, Portugal. It is located about 25 minutes from Faro Airport, in a small village called Amendoeira - just north of the town of Loule. (This is not the Amendoeira golf complex!) We are restoring the buildings and converting them into a home for ourselves and a small guest house. At the moment we are doing simple redecoration inside and clearing the land and repairing outbuildings and fences etc. We have also started a small (certified) organic farm where we grow vegetables of all types and nuts, fruits etc for sale to local friends and neighbors. We are also planting trees and looking after the trees and plants that are already here which include Almonds, Walnuts, Grapes, Plums, Apples, Pears, Lemons, Oranges, Pomegranate, carob and more... We are going to have a small yoga space for small classes.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The location of our farm is the reason we chose to live here. Although we are nestled in a tiny village in a large area of ecological and protected land, with very few buildings and roads etc. we are in fact also very close (about 10 mins drive) to the town of Loule, where there is always something happening - especially in the summer. Since we arrived a few weeks ago there has been a Folk festival, a world music festival, and there is a Jazz festival this weekend. And the town itself is great. It's not too touristy as it is 20 mins from the beach - but it has lots of restaurants and bars - and many of the expats who live around it converge on it daily to get things done. And if that isn't enough , then just 25 mins away you have the beautiful beaches of the Algarve. There are some very touristy areas - Albufeira, Villamoura, but there are also still some beautiful quiet beaches that are unspoiled and very nice to visit. Tavira is about 30 mins away. And we are just 25 mins from Faro airport, with buses running regularly from Faro bus station to Loule. We are dead centre of the Algarve so its perfect to explore the hills and national parks for hiking etc, or the beaches to the east or west.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Any experience organic farming or gardening or building would be great. . We are looking for a person to help us clear and take care of the land, plants, vegetable garden, fences, and outbuildings, patios etc. So I guess we are looking for a 'handy-person builder / organic gardener'.

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    French: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have prepared a double room for guests or volunteer - with access to our kitchen and bathroom.

    We will provide all the food and drink for three meals a day for the volunteer and probably take the volunteer out for a meal with us once or twice a week. We would like the volunteer to take there turn in the kitchen cooking - making simple lunch etc. Salad, Sandwich etc. (We don't eat meat and prefer if a volunteer can do without cooking meat in the house during their stay.)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Veronique is a yoga teacher - so there will be a chance to practice with her if you are into yoga. She doesn't teach here yet but would be happy to have someone to practice with. I am a meditator so if that's your thing you can have company. If you don't have your own car, I can give you lifts into town etc. I go most days for shopping etc so that should be fine Ideally we'd prefer if you take your turn in the kitchen. We eat fish once or twice a week, but no meat. Generally we eat a salad or sandwich for lunch and something a little more hearty for dinner - but no fried food or processed garbage. Only fresh healthy food! We have two dogs and a cat - and the dogs come into the house - so if you allergic or don't like dogs its probably not for you. They are very sweet dogs.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 172538751336