1 / 3
actualizado   Última hora

Help out at my guesthouse at the border of Corcovado park near Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica

  • Costa Rica
  • 972 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 6 dic 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    We are looking for a volunteer for now 4 December to 22 Dec and from to 24 January -20 February 2024.

    In the guesthouse you will be helping with guests, welcoming them, cleaning rooms ,keeping the restaurant area and guest kitchen clean, racking leaves, helping in the kitchen with diner and breakfast, loving my dogs and cat ...and then there is garden work, helping with my magical garden, laying a stone path for a fake river, 'natural' art work, a pool that needs to be re-grouted ...
    You will be getting a list of chores to do for the 5 hour workday, some of which you are expected to do on your own… It is mainly general maintenance, cleaning rooms and restaurant area and gardening: weeding, racking, cleaning walls and painting, art work etc . We are there to help if you need it.
    You will be living in a small cabin, surrounded by jungle, with your own kitchen and bathroom and a small pool for you to use.* Or you can stay in a cabin, your choice.

    * If the pool house is rented you will have to move to an Aframe hut .

    We also have limited wifi now here, so that is a plus.

    The volunteers must be very honest and open minded , completely independent, responsible but fun and be able to cope on her/ his/their own..
    You have to be independent and don’t mind roughing it a bit as we are far from anything.
    You will get a welcome food package but then you will have to provide for your own food, but very often we can share our food.

    You have to love nature, jungle, rivers and time on your own as there is not much else here.There are great hikes around here, lots of beautiful swimming holes in the rivers, nature at its best! Best birdwatching ever....! Watching the monkeys in the morning ...And now a brand new basketball court and we have a small gym here.
    It is a great opportunity to spend some time in the Peninsula de Osa, enjoying nature while working a little bit.
    We are 20 min from the beach and I go once a week to Puerto Jimenez, I can take you with me.

    Now, if this is tempting you, or if you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me.

    You do need to speak some Spanish in order to communicate with Channy , my husband.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This a small village, it has a park entrance and is slowly growing to become a tourist destination. It used to be a gold mining town and our place was the famous ( or infamous ) gold miners bar,brothel and jail....the cabinas with private bathrooms are in,what used to be the brothel and the bathroom for the huts are in the ex jail.
    Right now it is still of the beaten track.
    It has two small shop, a place to buy fresh vegetables ,a cheviche and bread man comes on Thursday, a couple of sodas.
    You can hitch a ride with me when I go to town or get an express (5000 colones ) for getting your food in Jimenez.
    It is one of the best places for birdwatching, jungle/ river walks, swimming... within an hours drive you can go surfing, kayaking, whale watching, zip lining..

    We are a twenty-minute drive from Puerto Jimenez. Puerto Jimenez is a beach town that has a hospital, grocery store, hardware store, fruit/veg shop, meat shop, restaurants, two banks, etc.

    There is a collective bus Mon- Sat,leaving Dos Brazos at 7am and 12 and coming back at 11am and 3pm or you can hitch a ride with me when I go to town.

  • Ayuda


    You need to be very honest and easy going,fun to be around with.You have to be able to work completely on your own, take responsibility , make your own meals , don’t mind living on your own, have to clean rooms and restaurant from departing guests,racking leaves , garden work, helping fix up the place like painting walls , making art work etc .

    In case there are guests :
    Experience in working with tourists is not necessary as long as you can socialize and make guests feel at home.You will have to welcome guests and explain the area and our tours and just to be there for the guests, clean the rooms when they leave etc.
    English a must.

    If there are not many guests you can help make any handicrafts projects; DIY lamps, decorative objects for garden and house, making fun arty things from scratch or things you find in nature, lot of driftwood art. .. natural wood sculptures/ carvings , planting, trimming, path making ....
    Garden work might include moving some heavy rocks, making a path, planting and/or growing moss / ferns species .Looking for wild orchids and 'planting them '....

    We have a probationary period and we will communicate via email or WhatsApp so we should know if we can work together. When you write to us, take a little time to introduce yourself, who you are, why you would like to come.
    Once you commit we expect you to come.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    You will have a room on your own, just that sometimes you might need to change the room if it has been reserved and the guesthouse is full.
    When the Little Pool house is not rented you will stay there and have a paradise living in full nature. It is not rented very often...
    You are getting our best accommodation so we give you a welcome food package ( rice, beans coffee , sugar, milk..,) but then you are on your own for food and have to do your own cooking.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are living 50 m from the Dos Brazos entrance to Corcovado National Park. There are lots of trails and rivers around here.There are waterfalls and natural pools, great hikes, lots of birdwatching etc. We also have three dogs, one cat.
    We live 13km from Puerto Jimenez, so to get here you have to take a collective bus .
    If you take the 12 noon San Jose-Puerto Jimenez bus, it arrives around 7-8 pm ,you will have to take a taxi from there to the hotel, ,around15.000 colones or spend one night in Puerto Jimenez.
    The collective bus ( there are two right now ) schedule is Mon-Sat from PJ- Dos Brazos at 6am, 11am and 3pm. From Dos Brazos- PJ it leaves at 7am, 12noon and 4pm.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    If you camper is independent on water and electricity, you can park it on a piece of land and have your own space.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Your pet should get along fine with our 3 dogs and cat.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours per day 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 162819748433

Comentarios (10)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Dreamy jungle getaway in San Salvador de Baru, Costa Rica Jungle Getaway
Helping in creating Organic architecture in Puntarenas, Costa Rica