Help students with practicing English and experience the local culture in Klaten, Indonesia

Country

Indonesia

29 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Murni, I manage a Hotel/ Cruise Ship and Culinary school. Currently, I live with my husband, Riyanto and two kids.They are Kenzie (4 years old) and Kinza (3 years old) also with my mother in a small village nearby Merapi Mountain.

    My school is for teenager aged between 18 to 35 years old in a small city in the border of Yogyakarta dan Central Java. My goal as the principal of the school is to provide youth from my region with the English skills required to communicate better in the modern world, especually in Tourism/ Hospitality field and therefore provide them with better opportunities in their lives.


    I would like to welcome any fluent English speakers to come assist my teachers in the classroom or outdoor learning. You would help immensely by having simple conversations with the students and give them a real English speaking experience inside or outside the classroom.

    All the students are very welcoming and curious about my visitors and I am certain that you will have a great experience while interacting with them. You can expect answering all their curious questions, pose for pictures and be invited for lunches, snacks and dinners.

    Classes in my school run from 9am to 1pm (morning session) and 4pm to 7pm (evening session) mostly consist of two lessons/classrooms per day. I would also like to invite you to visit government schools in the mornings, where you can help me by talking with students there and promoting my Cruise Ship and Culinary program.
    In return for your efforts, We will provide you with accommodation in a private room in my house with views of the Merapi mountain which is so beautiful. Apart from that During the working days We will provide you with breakfast,and dinner. During the non - working days Volunteers are expected to obtain their own meals in the cafe (warung makan). There are some cafes near my house.

    No credentials are required. Do not worry if you don’t have previous experience in teaching. Your presence in the classroom and your efforts in encouraging students to have simple conversations is still very valuable.
    I hope to host you at my place and MY TEACHING STAFF 's village and introduce you to my family, friends and unique culture of Javanese.

    Please note that we are unable to host couples that are not married, as my family and I are Muslim and it conflicts with our beliefs. Thank you for your understanding.

    Please note that I do not have WiFi at my home but there is WiFi at the school. You can purchase any Indosat SIM card for cheap at the airport or in Yogyakarta. The cost is less than $5 for one month of service.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Hostelería/turismo

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have a chance to learn the language, to see the traditional wedding party, Gamelan, the traditional music of Central Java, the culture of Javanese and experience the real life of people from Indonesia in general.

    You can also get friendship with the local teachers and students, sharing cultural with the local people, visiting tourism places in town, opportunity to practice and get feedback on your bahasa Indonesia.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The volunteer will help for 3 hours a day ( 4 pm - 7 pm) or (10 am - 1 pm) as an assistant with the class teacher, in the classroom. The volunteer will never be asked to teach the class. The help will involve lots of conversations with students before and during class. The volunteers may stay as long as they like.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Indonesian: Fluido
    Javanese: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Hello... I am Murni from Indonesia, I live in a small city between Yogyakarta and Solo, called as Klaten. I manage a Hospitality School, whom my students need to practice with Native Speaker especially in English. Some of us, can speak in English but some of students is still shy to speak out.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Room provided by owner or you may choose to stay at our school, we have the room for student's practice. The room can accomodate two volunters in the same time. When They are not married couple. One of them will be accommodated by my teaching staff in the village. Here you will be the center of attention, because they seldom see the white people or BULE, but The people in the village are very friendly and generous.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    After doing a volunteer project a few hours in a day, normally we usually take our guest to the tourist attraction, such as:
    a. Deles Indah, located on the slope of Merapi mountain. You can enjoy the view of the top of Merapi from Deles.
    b. Girpasang, is a village on the slope of Merapi Volcano, you need to walk down and up about 1000 staircase to get there. It's a memorable experience by visiting there.
    c. Plaosan temple. It is the combination between hindhu and budha culture temple.
    d. Prambanan Temple, It is the highest Hindhu temple in Indonesia.
    e. Floating restaurant, you can enjoy a great view while you have fishing and eat there.
    f. Umbul Ponggok swimming pool, you can both swim and do snorkeling with fish inside the pool
    g. Cokro river and swimming pool. It has a good view and it's located about 14 km from our school.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have well Internet connection using Wireless.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have wide parking space and it's safe

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We used to have cat, so... workawayers are welcome to bring their cats

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 156664553371