Ecological agriculture and community building in Mid-Coast Maine, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

100 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/05/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are in the early stages of reviving a 200+ year old off-grid farm in Midcoast Maine, still largely focused on building up our infrastructure. Current residents of the farm include a dozen goats, 20 sheep, 19 chickens, 4 geese, and three colonies of honeybees. Visitors can practice regenerative farming skills, with a special focus on scythes and haymaking.

    None of the produce of our farm is for sale: it's all for home consumption and sharing with family and friends.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Below is a list of the various skills volunteers can learn. Also happy to help folks learn English. I speak some Spanish, and would also be glad to learn other languages from visitors. Longer term volunteers may have the opportunity to design and maintain their own garden.

    ...how to use and maintain a variety of hand-tools, especially the scythe.
    ...how to make leafy loose hay, far more palatable and nutritious than any hay that can be bought.
    ...how to milk goats and sheep, on a stand or in the field:

    other skills volunteers can learn:
    gardening
    cheesemaking
    pollarding and pruning trees for fruit, fodder, firewood, and lumber
    rationally grazing livestock for maximum animal and pasture health
    slaughtering and butchering birds and mammals
    pruning, propagating, harvesting, and otherwise caring for a variety of fruiting trees and shrubs
    beekeeping
    making hard cider and mead
    trimming hooves

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would love carpentry help on our house and barn. When the ground isn't frozen there is lots to do shaping and planting earthworks (berms and swales on contour). There is haymaking beginning in June, slowly decreasing as the season goes on. Lots of possibilities for gardening between May and October. Apple harvesting September-November. None of the produce of our farm is for sale: it's all for home consumption and sharing with family and friends.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There are sometimes a couple extra beds in the house we are building, but folks are also welcome to camp out.
    We can share milk, meat, and eggs from the farm, as well as seasonal fruits and vegetables from our garden and orchard. We can provide some fruits and vegetables from our local co-op, and staples like flour, rice, oats, butter, etc.
    There will be frequent shared meals and volunteers are also welcome to use the kitchen for cooking.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our farm abuts a 96 acres pond as is surrounded by conservation land. There are wonderful opportunities for swimming and canoeing in the pond, exploring the bog, and hiking the mountain across the pond. We are also only a couple of miles from Penobscot Bay. There are lots of cultural activities nearby in Belfast, Camden, and Rockport, and more great hiking throughout the coastal mountains. We drive to Belfast frequently and are happy to offer rides.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Depends upon what volunteers want for room and board. Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Less for partial board and/or folks who bring their own tent, and less for skilled builders.


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 136649375388