actualizado  

Join our herd of horses at our non-profit equestrian and youth center in Slovenia

  • 169 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 12 abr 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello lovelies! We are Sara (31 - oops - 32 now) and Luka (37) and we own a small farm in a very rural setting in eastern Slovenia. We've hosted our first volunteers this year and loved the experience, so we're looking for volunteers to join us this spring & summer to help us with the horses, farm maintenance and renovations.

    From our initial experience with volunteers we've learned that we prefer volunteers to stay a longer time and we're ideally looking for 1-2 people to spend the whole summer (2 months or more) here. That way we can get to know each other better, work on your horsemanship skills (if interested) and really get immersed in our wonderful local community.

    We have a herd of 4 horses and an old farm that we've been renovating with the vision of turning it into a rural community/youth center. There's an old barn that we're turning into a tiny indoor riding arena & a common space where young people can hang out in their free time, a few guest rooms in the house & a lot of overgrown land that wants to become a permacultural garden, and then some more land that's been waiting to become a track system for the ponies.

    Our family also consists of two cats and two dogs, and there are always super-friendly locals coming for a visit and a cup of coffee - so it's a quiet space, but full of animals and a sense of community.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In exchange, you get your own room, food, access to a car, the possibility to learn horsemanship skills - or just spend time with our wonderful herd - and the chance to be a part of a very rural, welcoming community surrounded by nature (and animals - our animals love to smother volunteers with love 😍). We'd love to eat some meals per week together and we don't mind catering to different food preferences.

    Horsey experience is not necessary as our herd is quite low-maintenance, but we learned from the experience with volunteers so far that we don't always have a lot of time to teach you the basics of riding and working with horses if that's your goal. If you're comfortable around horses, you're welcome to go on rides in the forest on your own or with the local volunteers and to play/train with the horses on a daily basis. For pony nerds, I'm fascinated by approaches such as Centered Riding, Academic Art of Riding, building a paddock paradise, and our horses go barefoot and bitless.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Your main tasks would be taking care of the horses (poop-picking, weekly training if you have experience with horses) and helping out with various renovation & gardening tasks around the farm depending on your skills and wishes (there's guest rooms that need painting, clearing out forest undergrowth, help with barn renovations, natural building, tree planting, fencing, a permacultural garden, etc).

    We've four horses who live freely on about a hectare of land and the poop-picking is max. 1h/day, and the rest of the time is spent on various projects around the farm. It's physical work, but not overly hard.

    We also appreciate you cocreating the living space together with us and sharing cooking and housekeeping duties.

    If you have skills that would be interesting to the local young people and community, we'd be happy to organise events and workshops together as well! :) We've just organised an 'English tea party' with our UK volunteers for the local community and it was a blast.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Slovenian: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante
    Holandés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    The local kids & teens are always happy to practice their English with our volunteers and they'd be happy to teach you Slovenian in exchange!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have three guest rooms and you'd have your own room. We've just renovated them with natural materials (wood, straw, clay) and they're lovely, and we share the common space together (kitchen, living room).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You're welcome to use one of our cars in your free time - we're close to Hungary, Austria and Croatia, and we live in a beautiful wine region full of little charming places to see.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There's optic internet on the farm and volunteers have their own room, which offers enough privacy to work. The working hours are totally flexible and can be adjusted to your other responsibilities.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have two dogs on site and they're part of our family. Dogs are welcome as long as they get along with other dogs, children and strangers.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 131829686673

Comentarios (2)


Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)




Help to entertain our son and occasional pet care in Ljubljana, Slovenia
New wave farming near Lake Bled, Bohinjska Bela, Slovenia